Tested a 1930s Medium format box camera - Zeiss Ikon Box Tengor Type 54

So I found this Camera from some box and wanted to know if it actually works. This is what one in a good condition would look like.

1.jpg

Mine was not in that good shape. The camera was produced between 1933-1939, so crazy to think how old it is - over 80 years old camera. Mine was missing some red covers from the back. So had to fix it.
But the shutter seemed to work, and I bought this film -
that was the cheapest one - Fomapan classic 100 - 5€.

5.jpg

2.jpg

Red plastic from a bottle. 😁

3.jpg

Put on the camera with hot glue 😁

4.jpg

Now ready to load the film.

6.jpg

Ok, all the photos were taken in January, and I don't remember taking most of them, quite some surprises. I actually forgot about the film for a while and now finally took it to a place to develop it, since I haven't yet learned how to do it myself. This cost 5.5€. Not bad. So total of 10.5€ for how many photos? Did the camera work?

Guess what, it did. See for yourself, what came out of this old ass camera. 11 photos came out of 16 that were possible to take. I messed up some probably, since the camera is not the easiest to use.

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

Slowly remembering some things. But have no idea, where or when this one below was taken. 😀

10.jpg

11.jpg

When taking the photos I had also no idea how much exactly would fit in the frame, since the viewfinder was kinda hard to use and probably not very accurate, but this chimney almost fits in.

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

I remember this one, in the middle there was nice golden sun,
too bad the film was black and white 😀

17.jpg

And some extra space on the film or I just didn't take enough photos, who knows. Much dust since not perfect conditions for scanning and I rushed.

18.jpg

19.jpg

Also for scanning the film I used some weird DIY method with a camera, smartphone white screen and glass sheet and boxes. Can you get more ghetto? but it worked, so all good 😃.

20.JPG

Thanks for your attention and time! 🙂

Sort:  

wow, so great results you got with this very old and looks super simple camera.
I know how difficult to photographs the white snow scenes and you did this perfectly.

Thanks, I think I was a bit lucky also, but i tried to do my best with that camera since it has only 2 different apertures and one shutterspeed.

i see same like plastic Holga camera.
and the focusing system ?

Also 2 options, (1-3 meters) or (3m-infinity). 😅

i see very simple

Thank you for your contribution to the Analog (FILM) Photog community.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Ossaraks, täiega äge!
I have a thing for photos with a bit of that grain going on. 😍

The camera looks so dirty / rusty from that one photo where you had glued the red plastic to the holes. Which part of the camera is that, really? Don't tell me you stick your face in all that rust 😬

I think the black and white film was just perfect for those snowy trees photos - it's kind of black metal! 🤘🏼

Its actually not rusty, just some brown type of metal, the leather cover has worn off from it. It's the back of the camera but the viewfinders are on the top and side and you have to hold it about 30cm from your eyes to see through it correctly 😃 it's so different from modern cameras. Thanks.

Posted using Dapplr