"Oen Serapoh"- Chromolaena Odorata: Medicinal Leaves For Healing Wound and Cut

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

It has been known as natural medicine from generation to generation. In scientific name is called Chromolaena Odorata regarded as a wild plant that grows in a tropical, and subtropical forest. Luckily, I found this wild plant growing in the bushes, in front of house which I used to pick them up when I got wounded. It worked like magic, the liquid that is produced after kneading will make a quick heal for cut and wound.

seureupoh2-01.jpeg

Indonesian people call Krinyu while the Achnesse name it with Oen Serapoh, Sikhoh-khoh depends on region. Like in a tropical country, this plant grows in every warm area which a few know that this plant contains a huge benefit for wound and cut. Since I was a kid, my grandpa once told me that the leaf of Odorata can cure internal disease and also good to treat the eyes pain and wound. It has been acknowledged by the elders that the liquid of the leaves contains antibiotics and the essential substances.

seureupoh-01.jpeg

I let them grow wildly in case I suffered severely injured I can use them for medicinal purposes. The leaves and petioles have glandular dots emitting a strong pungent smell when crushed - phenols and alkaloids in the plant, in particular in the leaves, have an allelopathic effect, inhibiting the germination of its own seeds and seedling development of other plants.

seureupoh1-01.jpeg


abduhawab

I got a bike accident which resulted my palm injured. As I believe these leaves could heal the wound and cut, I picked some of them and kneaded them to get the liquid. The ways to apply are quite simple, here are the steps that I did.

  1. Pick some leaves, knead them
  2. Wait until the kneaded leaves produce liquid
  3. Apply to the wound, and plaster it with a bandage

IMG20171118151920-01-01-01.jpeg
abduhawab

In order to produce the liquid. Some would use the water to make the elastic leaves, but some would not mind using spittle, for a reason that is a good combination of natural medicine.

Nature Always Gives Us the Best
Sort:  

I THINK I have this plant in my Thai garden!! ?? Tomorrow morning I will be out to have a look.

My daughter and I always joke that mama spit is magic medicine - when in doubt and there's nothing else handy, we LICK it. 🤣

Really interesting post. Thank you.

Gosh, I think you've commented on just about every NM post as I try to catch up with the account!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very useful to have this in your garden and being aware of its healing properties! The world of plants is amazing and I value those who take their time to learn more about plants and the way we could use them in our day to day life. Thanks for sharing!

Yep. It also lives in the wild where I used to used them for healing wound. Thank a lot for rating my work.

Always good to know which plants to go to with injuries. There is usually something in every country, if we only know where to look.

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @minismallholding) - join our community here.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!