Why I chose the Life I'm Living - My Journey of becoming an Artist

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

I wanted to make this post for a while now.
To write down what happend during the last two years, since this new chapter of my life began. Mostly for myself, but maybe this could inspire others as well, like I got inspired by the people I met on my journey.

For those of you who don't know: At the beginning of last year (2020) I quit my job back home and moved into a van, together with my man, to lower my costs of living and be able to dedicate my life fully to what I love doing: Art! :-)

IMG_20200308_090538copy.jpg

When I was a child and someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, my immediate answer was: Artist!

I always had the urge to create things, build and imagine. I started writing little stories before I even knew the alphabet, built a remote-controlled airplane out of paper, glue and wire (my friends were fairly impressed), and learned to play music on different instruments since I was about eight. I took drawing lessons, and painting was also something that accompanied me ever since.

But of course, like many others I guess, I lost track of that plan. I was told, being an artist is not a real job, no one can really make a living on art (unless one is unbelievably lucky), it's only supposed to be a hobby.
I didn't know any "real" artists back then, so I believed it.

And I tried some "real" jobs. Many of them ^^

During the years I worked in an upholsterer's workshop, in a library, at different shops and supermarkets and as a waitress in various restaurants.

I even applied for the most boring office jobs, thinking if I had a job which doesn't drain all my energy, I could still do my art in my freetime. Fortunately I didn't get accepted in any of them, I take it as a sign ^^

1.jpg

At last I worked in children's care, like Kindergartens and Primary Schools, for about four years, which was quite nice. Being around children is fun and I was able to give art and pottery classes :-)

But that was maybe the most draining job I'd ever had ^^
I was so exhausted every day! Not able at all to do a lot of art or music. And somehow I felt that this was not the right path for me either.
But what was my path? I still wanted to make art, but I didn't know how!

Every day I felt the strong urge to create, but I rarely allowed myself to act on it, because I needed all my energy to do my job.
I felt a bit lost. I really didn't know what to do. I wanted to be happy, but couldn't see, how this all could work.

So I figured, that I must leave for a while. I needed to get away from everything in order to find out what I want, where I want to go in my life and how it works to be happy!

(Ai, this all seems so easy when I write it, but actually it was not at all an easy decision to leave my safe comfort zone. I had quite a few nights where I couldn't sleep because I was so afraid ^^)

So I prepared everything for a three months backpacking trip.
I got rid of most of my stuff and saved up a bit of money, and eventually quit my job and apartment. I was ready to leave for my first big journey! All on my own, with nothing planned except my first stop in Portugal.

And in Portugal, so much earlier than I had expected, it happened that I found the answer to my questions ^^
I met someone who lived in a van!

IMG_20200314_144426.jpg

I immediately got attracted by that lifestyle.
And during the next three months of travelling I met a bunch of other people living like that. Mostly artists and musicians, who play their music in the streets of all the countries they're travelling! And it seemed to work!

It suddenly felt so obvious! I could lower my costs of living immensely by living in a car! I wouldn't need that much money, which meant I wouldn't have to work all the time, and I could travel and play music for tourists, maybe even try to sell my paintings!
I could finally do what I love doing, could finally work seriously on becoming an artist!

So the plan was set and I couldn't be happier! It felt so right!

And suddenly, as soon as I had made that decision, the most magical things happened to me. Maybe it sounds weird but it felt like the universe had just waited for me to set foot on this path ^^ Things went really smoothly after I returned from my backpacking journey.

I immediately found a job as a waitress on the campsite, where I was living. Almost every weekend I played gigs as a singer or had a job as a stilt walker or fire spinner (things that I had learned for fun during the last few years).

I also still had some savings left, so I could affort my lovely Penny when she miracously showed up! (Penny is my van ^^) It was one of those situations, where a friend has a friend who knows someone who wants to sell his car ^^

IMG_20200204_154232-01.jpg

At about the same time I also met my man, who had kind of the same plan as me and after a few months of getting to know each other we decided to move on together <3
(and we still do, if a relationship survives van-life, it can survive anything ^^)

It was a lot of work and I had a lot of help (mostly from my Dad) with converting my Penny into a living space. But at the beginning of last year all was done and we were ready to go.
Then on the 1st of February 2020 we waved family and friends goodbye and drove Penny southwards.

Unfortunately because of last years world trouble we weren't able to pursue our busking plan (no tourists anywhere ^^). But this way I could focus more on digital art, photography and blogging.

A funny thing is that shortly before we left, a friend gifted me his old laptop, and another one his old wacom graphic tablet ^^
You can imagine how grateful I am now for these gifts for they are my most important tools right now! I cherish them every day (and sometimes I even speak to them), because I wouldn't be able to paint and create NFT's or blog posts without them! <3

Three_Little_Birds_Hive_klein.jpg

I think the most important thing for me was to see and experience other ways of living. That is why my backpacking journey was so important. I got so inspired by the people I met and I understood that I don't have to live like everybody else, that there are different ways and I can choose the one that suits me best in my situation.

Of course the van-life is not the easiest way of living. It may even sound a bit crazy to move into a van and start a journey to become an artist with only about 1000€ in my pocket ^^

We are living on a low (very low) budget, but somehow everytime we are about to run out of money, a new opportunity shows up.
Like I said, as soon as I made the decision of seriously pursuing my dream, magical things started happening. I feel somehow protected on this path! It's not an easy one, but I know for sure it's the right one. And I'm a thousand times happier now than I was before :-)

And I slowly get the feeling that I'm getting closer and closer to where I want to be!

Last week (March 2021) I was able to pay for our monthly supplies with money I had earned from my art! That was such a big thing for me, a huge step forward and I'm so happy and proud!

I try to take every step in the direction I want to go, make every decision with my focus on what I want to achieve.

May this path be a unusual, weird or difficult one, it's still the right one for me, and I'm gonna pursue it as far as I can!
:-)

IMG_20200314_162612.jpg


Find all my art on my website: www.anafae.art


all images by me

Sort:  

Amazing story! I totally missed this one, so I had to reply now I read it.
It's so cool to see people like you share their stories, one should not give up and belief in themselves to make it happen. Sometimes it takes longer than you may expect, but keep believing in yourself otherwise nobody will.

You rock girl! I hope you will have many more months to be able to pay the bills from your cool art! <3

Now that you mention it, we actually lived exclusively from my art money since I wrote this post! And I sold another work in an auction on the weekend for some Eth, so our next months is save as well!
Couldn't be happier, really. This is what I always dreamed of and I'm gonna go this way as far as I can.

Thank you so much for reading this, it's really my most important post so far. Writing down my story as an inspiration for others as well as for me in times when I'm struggling <3

 3 years ago  

I was told, being an artist is not a real job, no one can really make a living on art (unless one is unbelievably lucky), it's only supposed to be a hobby.

Yup, I hear ya! Art was one of the few things I enjoyed and even geeky reasonably good at. Creating and making things with my hands is what I love and if I'm honest I'm not much good at the things society currently finds valuable. So you be told the one thing I thought I could do wasn't anything I could make a living on was like having the light taken out of my world. Every job I've had I've always been masse to feel like I was barely worth paying for. Everyone was always faster and more capable.

You are braver than I to take this step. Mind you, I met my husband to be at 17 and there was no way he'd have taken on this lifestyle, so my choice was made and I'll live with that. My creating goes into my sewing, these days, although I still have that pang now and again that I can't contribute financially with any of my skills.

Ah, I don't feel so brave actually, it just felt like the right thing to do and the next logical step ^^ I felt the same as you, never really good at the "real" jobs, never felt like I fit in there.

We all have different paths and different priorities. I just think it's important to not loose sight of our well-being, to not let fear lead us or hold us back from the things we feel are right, to allow ourselves to be happy.

I can't explain it properly, but it's that magic that happens as soon as we take a step on the right path. I truly believe in that, because it happened to me. It's like the universe supports us when we start doing what we are here for.

I wish you all the best, and thank you so much for your kind words <3

 3 years ago  

It's like the universe supports us when we start doing what we are here for.

How beautifully put. I feel like I'm currently reading words that I need to hear right now. This is the second thing that's resonated with me recently. 💚

!ENGAGE 30

Ai, glad to be of help! It's funny, sometimes it feels that the people we meet are just tools for our own development <3

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

This is such an amazing, open and sincere post! Love everything about your experience, and don't worry, magical stuff is part of my everyday life, so I can totally understand what you say about being protected while walking that path and all of that. You've found your Star, your Purpose, and there's nothing that can now misdirect you or stop you as long as you keep loyal to your heart, which evidently is quite a big part of your plan anyway, hahahaha. Highest blessings of success and wonder in your quest!

Thank you so much for your beautiful words! <3
I always believed in magic, but the last two years were the proof for me :-) I'm so grateful for the decisions I made, now I really feel that I'm doing what I'm here for, that I'm on the way to fulfill my purpose.
All the best to you, too! <3 <3

What a beautiful and inspiring story. Your work and your kindness are always refreshing. We should definitely do some collabs if you're up for it.

Hey, wow, I didn't know you're on Hive! Awesome!
Thank you so much for your kind words <3 I'm so happy to have made that decision a year ago, I'm so much happier now.

Of course! I'm totally up for collabs! Sounds exciting!

 3 years ago  

if a relationship survives van-life, it can survive anything

Yep, sure can! I'm happy with my man in a van or a truck or a caravan or whatever small space we find ourselves in. We may live in a house now, but when we met, he lived in a mobile library. We lived in a horse lorry for some time too, and a bus, and a tiny caravan in Wales. We still have a bus in the garden in Australia, adn we're doing up a Landrover 130 with a camper on the back with dreams of travelling again soon. I'm done with teaching, that's for sure - it's so stressful. I'm so glad you decided to do what you did.

I always feel happy when I meet people living this life - not 'hashtag' van life, but actual van life, warts and all. As long as you dont have a macrame trapeze and a cactus I'm all good.

Haha, I actually had a little mint plant, but she didn't survive the winter, poor thing :/

Sounds like you two had a lot of adventures! Really cool! I hope you'll be able to travel again soon. We probably will too. Our house-sitting job is coming to an end eventually.

So you decided to quit teaching? I was a teacher's assistant for a while. Working with children can be very rewarding, but it's so stressful! I was definitely not made for it ^^

OH MY GOD! This is the best i've read this week! You inspired me so much...I want that lifestyle too! I really admire you... You gave me a few ideas to start building my future.

I love when you said:

if a relationship survives van-life, it can survive anything

Hahahaha, i'm sure that i want to put my relationship into that challenge.

I Really wish you the best!

Oh, that's beautiful, thank you so much! So happy to be able to inspire you a bit!

Yeah, if you still get along living on four square metres, the chance is high that you get along anywhere ^^

I wish you all the best for your future! If you really want the van life, it's gonna be exciting! :-)
<3

 3 years ago  

I love your publication and your will to live. It really is admirable that you have been able to turn your dream into a tangible, livable and happy reality. I wish you the best, that the universe opens all its doors for your well-being. A hug, and how brave you are! Greetings and blessings.

P.D.: Your art is very beautiful.

Thank you so so much! <3
So much love and good wishes!
I always knew there's a way to be happy and that I'm gonna find it one day. I'm so grateful every day for having finally made the right decisions that lead to that path.
A big hug back! All the best to you <3

 3 years ago  

Ohhh dear, thanks. Blessings.

Good luck with your travels and your art journey :-)

Thank you so much! <3
Yeah, I guess the travels will start again soon. The winter was quite with that house-sitting job, but the world keeps knocking at the door again ^^
All the best to you, too!

 3 years ago  

It is amazing what happens when we let go and trust that the universe will provide for us. I also live in a truck and am living with my girls on a very low income, but I have never gone without.
So happy to read about people choosing to live like this, I love truck life and couldn't imagine living any other way. Thank you for sharing your story with us xxx

Uh, a truck sounds amazing! Our Penny is quite small actually and it gets a bit narrow sometimes ^^ For the winter we found a nice house-sitting job, which showed up just at the right time (we don't have a heater in the van). It somehow always works, also financially, it's truly magical!
Actually I'm dreaming to have a house and a garden on my own one day, but until I know where this would be (and how to afford it) I'm enjoying being as free as I can :-)

Thanks a lot for your kind words <3

looks like adventure :)

@tipu curate

Life is the greatest adventure! :-)
Thanks so much for your support! <3

Never stop and try every day find something what can give good art idea 😋👌👌👌👌👌🌼

Yep, inspiration waits everywhere! :-)

That is an amazing story. Thanks for the he read and the inspiration.

Uh, thanks a lot! <3 I'm glad to be able to inspire a bit :-)

Congratulations @anafae! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations @anafae! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Ohhh wow! Your an adventurous one! This is great! I’m looking forward to reading this post (and others you’ve composed!) and following along with your adventures @anafae! LOVE IT! ❤️

Oh, no, it seems I missed some comments here! Didn't see the notification probably! I'm sorry!
Thank you for your comment and your kind words, Wil! <3

It’s super nice that you made the effort to do a double back! 🙌

Yes, of course! I'm glad that I did! I really appreciate every comment, comments are the most important thing in making connections. So I want to answer every one, and I'm sorry that I haven't seen yours before <3

I feel the exact same way about comments! I don’t always have time to respond to them in real time... but because someone went out of their way and made an effort to connect... well I just have to appreciate that! It speaks volumes about just being human. Authentic genuine connection brings meaning to content and you just can’t put a value on that!

Thank you, in particular, for making a point to care and connect! 🙌

Beautiful art, beautiful words, beautiful woman, I got goosebumps reading this :)

I'm so sorry, I must have missed the notification for your comment! I didn't mean to neglect it!
Thank you so much for your kind words, you're so lovely <3<3

Life got so much more exciting since I started travelling, and I really like it that way! :)

As for a job: the same situation with me. I left my job in October 2020. Because of everyday mental exhausting. Yep, one of the most important things we can do in our life is to follow inner feelings. And, I agree, it's more then difficult. But always worth it.

Ah, I'm so sorry, seems like I missed some notifications about comments here! Sorry, I didn't mean to!
Thank you so much for your comment <3

Good to hear that you're happy with your decision as well! Actually I haven't met anyone who regrets the decision to quit a job ^^
Life got so much more exiting and much happier.I'm excited what the future holds for us, I'm up for everything! <3

I love your story.

Sometimes I wish I had been focused on my art when I was a young adult and not let the world cover up that art was what I should have been doing all along. I enjoy it now when I am not working, but I'm sure I would have learned so much more and would have grown in my art so much more by now if I had let it be my focus.

I'm glad it is working out for you.

This is amazing! I've been eager to live like this for years, but like you said it's not that easy, especially for me, I don't have much experience in traveling. Your posts are really helpful, please share more.

If it brings you closer to where you wanna be and feels good then it is. I hope you still feel that magic in your life, I know it comes and goes for me but even though recently I haven’t felt a high for a while, my default mode is getting impressively chill and peaced out, I never imagined I’d wake up every day enjoying even a semi regular grind (lol who am I kidding, I “work” 20% the hours as anyone else I know and everything else feels like play even if it’s work).

I wanna hear your music? Did I? Wait…did I?