Eat Mamey! (ESP-ENG)

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Hello, Hello friends of @naturalmedicine, I want to share with you my experience getting to know this rare, tropical and spectacular fruit!

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623093862852.jpg

Since I was little I love fruits, more than any preparation made with it, I like to feel its refreshing and natural taste when eating it in pieces, this particular fruit, Mamey, known like this in my country, in other places they call it Zapote. There are also a variety of them, I tried this type, scientifically called Mammea americana . I found a page on the web that provides accurate information, Click here so you can document yourself too

It turns out, like many tropical fruits, it is a good source of vitamin C, minerals and other health benefits. Some time ago in a certain TV commercial, one of the comments said "Eat Mamey" and I didn't understand why, then I found out that there was a fruit called like that and that's when curiosity got the better of me.

I asked my mom and she told me that yes, it was a pulpy fruit with a texture and flavor similar to mango, after further questioning I learned that she had not tried it either, it was just what a friend had told her hahahahahahaha.

IMG_20210604_095003.jpg

I've been hunting for this fruit in the vegetable fairs and nothing.... It seems that it is not so common to market it that way. Then it so happens that my boyfriend went to a town recently and as I am a spoiled brat I asked him to bring me a souvenir from there and he showed up with this fruit... the universe took care of sending me this opportunity without me having to make an effort!

Description

  • Appearance: It looks similar in size to a melon, the texture of its rind is rustic, cracked and dry, it doesn't give the impression of being juicy... And it turns out that a super fact is that it is 80% water, quite paradoxical with respect to its appearance. The color is light brown, almost beige and it is round, a little oval.

IMG_20210604_094838.jpg

  • Shell: it is thick, more or less 5 cm thick, and just below it has a lighter fibrous layer that must be removed to get to the real pulp.

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623094075775.jpg

  • Pulp: it has a beautiful mustard yellow color, similar to that of a ripe mango, but its consistency is like that of a peach, a little fibrous, juicy and soft.

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623093985842.jpg

  • Seed: it is brown, usually has two central seeds as I had been told, but in this case I got one with a single seed, its size is approximately 10 x 6 cm. The surface of the seed is totally irregular, it emits fibers similar to roots that partially melt with the pulp that surrounds it.

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623094233918.jpg

  • Flavor: simply DELICIOUS! I couldn't say that it resembles one thing or another, as it is quite suis generis. What I can say is that it is partially acidic at first, then you feel a soft flavor particular to this fruit and finally it leaves a quite sweet taste, if I had to necessarily compare it I could say it would taste similar to a cocktail between peach, ripe mango and tamarind culi.

Initially I ate it in pieces, then I made a juice only with water, because I don't like sweet juices, and it was perfect. The texture of the juice is quite dense and it comes out with a beautiful deep yellow color.I also gave Caraota and he loved it!

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623093949624.jpg

I was able to see that another Hiver user @nayromero, also tried it at the time and provided good information about this fruit here in the @naturalmedicine community. I invite you to see both publications so you can live through our letters this taste experience with us! Here the link .

Thanks for reading my post, I hope you are encouraged to try all the wonders that nature has as a gift for us! Greetings 🤗✨
Photos of my authorship, edited in PhotoGrid. Translated with deepl.com

ESPAÑOL

Hola, Hola amigos de @naturalmedicine, quiero compartir con ustedes mi experiencia conociendo esta rara, tropical y espectacular fruta!

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623093862852.jpg

Desde pequeña me encantan las frutas, más que cualquier preparación elaborada con ella, me gusta sentir su sabor refrescante y natural al comerla en trozos, ésta fruta particular, Mamey, conocida así en mi país, en otros lugares la llaman Zapote. También existen una variedad de ellos, yo probé este tipo, llamado científicamente Mammea americana . Encontré una página en la web que aporta información de manera precisa, haz Click aquí para que puedas documentarte también

Resulta ser, que al igual que muchas frutas tropicales, es una buena fuente de vitamina C, minerales y otros elementos beneficiosos para la salud. Hace un tiempo en cierto comercial de tv, uno de los comentarios decía "Coman Mamey" y yo no entendía el por qué, luego me entero que existía una fruta llamada así y es allí cuando la curiosidad me invadió por completo.

Le pregunté a mi mamá y me dijo que sí, que era una fruta pulposa con una textura y sabor parecida al mango, luego de interrogarla más a fondo supe que ella tampoco la había probado, que solo era lo que le había dicho una amiga jajajajaja

IMG_20210604_095003.jpg

Estuve cazando está fruta en las ferias de hortalizas y nada... Parece que no es tan común comercializarla de ese modo. Entonces da la casualidad que mi novio fue a un pueblo recientemente y como soy una consentida le pedí que me trajera un recuerdo de allá y se ha aparecido con esa fruta... el universo solito se encargó de enviarme esa oportunidad sin yo esforzarme!

Descripción

  • Aspecto: Luce del tamaño similar a un melón, la textura de su corteza es rústica, resquebrajada y seca, no da la impresión de ser jugosa... Y resulta que un super dato es que es 80% agua, bastante paradójico con respecto a su apariencia. El color es marrón claro, casi beige y es redonda, un poco ovalada.

IMG_20210604_094838.jpg

  • Concha: es gruesa, de más o menos 5 cm de espesor, y justo debajo de ella tiene una capa fibrosa más clara que hay que retirar para llegar a la verdadera pulpa.

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623094075775.jpg

  • Pulpa: tiene un hermoso color amarillo mostaza, similar a la de un mango maduro, pero si consistencia es como la de un melocotón, un poco fibrosa, jugosa y suave.

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623093985842.jpg

  • Semilla: es marrón, normalmente tiene dos semillas centrales según me habían comentado, pero en este caso me tocó una con una semilla única, su tamaño es aproximadamente de 10 x 6 cm. La superficie de la misma es totalmente irregular, emite fibras similares a raíces que se funden parcialmente con la pulpa que la rodea.

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623094233918.jpg

  • Sabor: simplemente DELICIOSO! No podría decir que se parece a una cosa u otra, ya que es bastante suis generis. Lo que si puedo acotar es que es parcialmente ácida de entrada, luego se siente un sabor suave particular de esta fruta y finalmente deja un sabor bastante dulce, si tuviera que necesariamente compararla podría decir que sabría similar a un cóctel entre melocotón, mango maduro y tamarindo culí.

Inicialmente me la comí en pedazos, luego hice un jugo solamente con agua, porque no me gustan los jugos dulces, y quedó perfecto. La textura del jugo es bastante densa y queda con un color precioso amarillo intenso. También le di a Caraota y le encantó!

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623093949624.jpg

Pude ver que otra Hiver de usuario @nayromero, también la probó en su momento y aportó una buena información sobre ésta fruta aquí en la comunidad de @naturalmedicine. Les invito a que veas ambas publicaciones para que puedas vivir a través de nuestras letras esta experiencia de sabor con nosotras! Aquí el link .

Gracias por leer mi publicación, espero te animes a probar todas las maravillas que la naturaleza nos tiene de regalo! Saludos 🤗✨

Fotos de mi autoría, editadas en PhotoGrid. Traducido con deepl.com

Sort:  

I never saw it before. It looks like mango flesh. But from outside so weird. Thanks for sharing :)

Hola amiga! Totally agree, its outer appearance does not attract so much attention, when you open it is that comes the exciting and curious part 🤗✨ greetings? Thanks for reading my post 🙏

Congratulations @anakmf10! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP