BEE POLLEN - Another 'SUPERFOOD'...From the HIVE...???

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

Most of us, seem to be quite familiar with honey (Nectar of the Gods) and this wonderful bee products many uses; yet few, in comparison, are familiar with the honey bee's other natural health promoting gifts to humanity.

One of these not widely known substances, produced by the humble, honey bee is 'Bee Pollen'. Although the busy little bee miraculously formulates at least three other substances, prized by health aficionados, for this article, I'll be focusing upon supplementing the diet with bee pollen (Something of which I'm quite familiar with)🤗


Though I've been personally using this highly nutritious substance for over forty years, I'd be hard-pressed trying to recall, how I first heard of it. It probably was within a book or the many health articles I read in magazines years ago.

Fortunately, there were two old-time health food stores in my New York City neighborhood at the time and they both carried every single natural bee product available upon their shelves. So, finding it to try out at the time was easy and believe me... I've been a fan of those golden little nuggets, ever since.

As a matter of fact, I carried it for sale, at my Gym and attached, little Health Food Store that I opened a few years later. My members and customers loved it, as much as I did for the athletic and health benefits.

Bee pollen supplementation has helped me stay strong and healthy to this very day, at the age of 71. I'm free of any negative chronic health conditions or diseases, which seem to plaque most in their senior years.

It is a food sometimes referred to as a miracle food in 'days of old' long before the more modern term for such wonders became "Super Foods" and rightfully so...

For Instance:
These little gems contain a higher nutritional value, by weight, than any other common food we eat. It is particularly abundant with the building blocks of protein, containing all the essential amino acids our bodies require for optimum health.

Here are some of the interesting facts I learned about bee pollen of which I'm happy to pass along to you...

A 1946 study of Russian centenarians, by a professor V. Tsitsin uncovered that most of the long-lived citizens he interviewed were Bee Keepers of sorts and had consumed honey and bee pollen throughout their lives.

Bee pollen contains considerably more protein, than does meat, cheese or eggs - by weight. Particularly high in the amino acid leucine (A Branch-Chain Amino Acid) which is great for muscle building, recovery and repair of damaged tissue. It also aids in the production of growth hormone (HGH)

There are 6.7 grams of this amino acid within 100grams of dried bee pollen by weight. Along with 5.7 grams of Valine and 4.5 grams of Isoleucine - two of the other three BCAA's.

"No other food 'known' contains as many life sustaining (cell replicating) factors as bee pollen" - Remy Chauvin (France)

It has been referred to as "Natures most complete food"

Some common uses for bee pollen by enthusiasts (Like me) are:

  • To help Boost the Immune System
  • A Longevity Aid
  • To Normalize Cholesterol and Triglycerides within the Blood
  • For Treatment of Allergies
  • To Increase Physical Strength (Athletes)
  • Increase Brain Function
  • Energy and Stamina

The pollen collected by the bee and carried back to the hive, is NOT the same type of which causes common allergy symptoms - like Anemophilous pollens. The honey bee, avoids collecting these.

Instead, the bee chooses only Entomophile (Friend of Insects) pollens from select flowering plants to form into tiny pellets with the help of a little nectar. She then sticks one pellet into each of the two baskets attached to her legs and carries them back to the hive.

Bee pollen is found to contain an antibiotic which quickly destroys certain microorganisms like salmonella and has been found to have additional substances which protect against a variety of bacteria, viral, fungi and mold agents - much like honey does...

My habit, is to use bee pollen in a variety of ways. It tastes like a flower to me; kind of sweet, yet bitter at the same time. A teaspoon full shoved into your mouth, alone, may not be very pleasing, but fear not... there are many ways to add it to your diet quite comfortably.

I have known people who pop it into their mouths, then down it with some water or other beverage. Most add the nourishing little pellets to cereals, salads, yogurt, smoothies, protein drinks, soup, stews and a variety of other food concoctions. That's the way I usually consume it.

Since the pollen contains a lot of vitamins, which may not tolerate high heat well enough to retain potency, when I add it to soup, broth, tea or stew, I wait until after it's finished cooking and cooled enough to comfortably eat.

Sprinkling it on ice-cream, frozen yogurt, pies and stuff like that is also an interesting option. I've added it to some of my cookie, bread or muffin dough and batter too, especially my secret oatmeal cookie recipe...!!! I just hope that the high heat of the oven doesn't render the pollen completely useless; I don't think so, because the heat won't destroy the mineral content.

Bees have plenty of energy and I suspect they maintain that energy level by eating the pollen they collect, turning it into food. That was the number one reason I first became interested in experimenting with bee pollen, and it sure worked... As a matter of fact, I had so much energy from about a tablespoon full of the stuff, early on, that I had to reduce the amount consumed.

Most people find that the commonly recommended amount to use of 10 grams (About a teaspoonful) is ample enough. That's about all I use daily on a regular basis. I've heard of people who use a lot more though, daily. Experiment with the volume on your own when first adding it to your health regimen; start with a small amount, then progress upward from there.

If you're a sluggish ole soul... with bee pollen, you'll soon be up and about, "Busy as a bee" in no time at all.

I encourage you to research bee pollen further online... there exists a wealth of good scientific studies available of interest to be found.

As a last note, although allergic reaction to bee pollen is rare - according to the Mayo Clinic a world renowned medical research and care facility, I've listed their allergy alert warnings below for easy reference:

  1. Wheezing and other asthmatic symptoms
  2. Dizziness
  3. Nausea
  4. Vomiting
  5. Weakness
  6. Excessive perspiration
  7. Fainting
  8. Irregular heart rhythms (arrhythmias)
  9. Stinging after topical application

So, if you're prone to having allergic reactions to a variety of things in nature, take a bit of care, even though bee pollen has actually been successfully used to treat certain allergic conditions. It might not be *right* for you... you might be one of those rare ones for whatever reason.

A good test to see how well you are with bee pollen, is to perhaps do that well known trial for plant toxicity in which you place a tiny bit in your mouth to taste, then spit it out before swallowing. If you don't fall over dead, then you're good to go :>)

I hope you enjoyed reading this... I certainly enjoyed writing it for you.

As always, stay healthy, happy and full of smiles.

Ciao

Natural Medicine Community

Come Join Us as a Member or Guest - You'll be Happy You Did



Written by

@AngryMan

Feb. 8, 2021


Images: My Own
Sort:  

I've had Bee pollen at various times over the years and I probably should have more seeing how @angryman is still in great condition at 71👍

It's great stuff, my friend... start using it on a regular basis; even in small amounts it has remarkable benefits for health😎

I will try find some to buy ASAP.

Has it been shown to reverse eye sight loss due to age? You have taken it for a long time, have any of your older/slightly younger friends recently started using it and has it helped them reverse some of the, (so called), old age issues, like arthritis, collagen loss, or cartilage loss for them?

Hi @bashadow, I must have been tired and erred regarding the Leucine and eye connection within the article... I will correct it😕 Leucine is an essential amino acid and Branch-Chain amino acid (BCAA) best known for muscle building, recovery and muscle loss (even in the aged) It also plays a role in producing growth hormone and blood sugar regulation

It is lutein, a carotenoid that plays a role in eye health- sorry... Carotenoids such as lutein and others are found in bee pollen, yet I do not know if they are of high enough therapeutic values to reverse vision loss due to damage of anatomical structures (Which may be deemed sometimes - "visual impairment due to age")

Collagen building nutrients are 'Vitamin C' (Required to transform lysine and proline into hydroxylysine and hydroxyproline, forms of amino acids necessary to rebuild collagen) There are 5.7 grams of Lysine in 100 grams of 'dried' bee pollen (about one teaspoon) I don't know about the proline though.

Also, 'taurine' and 'lipoic acid' which can be gained naturally from garlic or supplementation. Again... though contained within bee pollen, I don't know if values are high enough to reverse loss, rather than maintain.

Advice for cartilage repair/rebuilding is all over the map and I personally don't know of anyone with suggestions. YET... I do have a relative who reversed ALL symptoms of severe joint pain from an immunological disease with CBD oil very recently.

He has been off his 'very expensive' medication (about two grand per month) for about a year. He's actually working out with weights now, including squats where as before, he could hardly even walk.

I hope this helps, at least a little in response to your inquiry.

It does thank you, I think next trip to the Feed Store I will be looking for some pollen to give a try. I will also look into the CBD oil as I have very just recently started to have some knee pain.

I just looked this up...Seems readily available here, but costly, and if it has the benefits you mention it may be something I want to try out. Thanks for the tip.

Thanks for the tip

You're welcome @galenkp...

Keep searching for better prices, if it's too expensive locally. I can easily find it here for approx. $9.00 off the shelf for 10 ounces (283 grams) which lasts for a month using standard recommendation of 10 grams per day.

I've seen it even cheaper online for $6.00 and change😎 for the same weight.
Edit: Ooops... It wasn't the same weight, I just checked, but there are some good prices, especially if bought by the pound.

It seems to give me an energy boost which is slow burning, not jittery like caffeine - with about 1 bakers teaspoon measure. You may want to stay away from the powdered products (ground) which they charge more for usually, and supposedly more prone to contamination. You can always grind it yourself if you choose to with a coffee grinder.

I'll do a little more research in the morning (at work). 😁

How will Hive ever grow and prosper when returning bees get robed of there leg-bags in front of the entrance ? This has to stop , those around 20 beekeepers need to start seeing this , and change there ways . ......

Ho'... whooops ,.. this is not a Hive tech post ,.. i see , so sorry .

No , yeh , no , yes .... oh damn , i need to get some pollen , get my thinking strait ;-) .

Ha...!!! Those poor bees must get a bit upset going through those pollen trap devices, after all the work they did to collect and transport their cargo...

A beekeeper has to keep close watch over how much they are stealing, in order not to collapse the colony.

I see you know something about the process😎 Bravo...

as a kid i watched Maya the bee , and i have seen Bee movie ... i do recommend both as a learning docu for the Hive witnesses ,... to learn about the Horror ;-)

bee movie.png

Manually curated by goldendawne from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much... I appreciate the recognition😎

Not sure how I missed this, I saw it in the qurator feature, congrats. So I came over here to get some laughs—so much for that! I saw the length of this thing and wasn't sure if you lost your keys. What I'm trying to say is, thanks for putting this together. I had no idea. I'm on it!

If you don't mind. I'm allergic to avocados, really bad. They've hospitalized me. One time, freak thing, I had a bowl of strawberries nearby after I bit into an avocado salad, my throat immediately began to open up. I've since had to rely on strawberries two other times—3:3.

I know you made all this up to mask the fact your true remedy is weed but I'm willing to try it anyway

So I came over here to get some laughs—so much for that!

Ha... THAT gave ME a laugh...

Sometimes I deviate from complete satire and the like, but I still try to write the serious stuff in a relaxed manner, for uncomplicated, headache-free reading.

Strawberries as an antidote for avocado allergic reactions...?!?!?!? Hmmnnnnnnn... it's something I wasn't familiar with. Carry some freeze-dried berries around with you for future emergencies😎 Or, you can turn your hat upside down, put some soil in it and grow fresh strawberries for picking when the need arrives... An ongoing emergency supply wherever you roam.

Good to hear from you.

img_6153.heic

Sent from Whole Foods parking lot.

Good... @dandays. Do that 'single' morsel test in your mouth to test since you've had episodes with avocado...

  • Place pellet in mouth
  • Allow a little saliva action
  • Spit the morsel out (don't swallow it)
  • Ascertain Pura is NOT downwind of your projectile
  • RUN FAST, if she was... or the wind shifted

Thank you. That's exactly what I did and I did do so with my eppy pen and benedryl in hand.

I started my first dose, looking forward to cycling this stuff. I started with a 1/4 teaspoon as the package recommended which only worked out to about eight little granules and then I'll work my way up. I consumed raw to experience the flavor.

My response to Pura was "I've never eaten bird seed but I bet that's what it tastes like."

Thanks for this information. When my elders speak I listen.