Healthy Ingredient Swaps

image.png

source

I'm sure if you do much cooking at all, at some point you've been in the middle of a recipe and found yourself missing an ingredient. Now, especially in light of our stay-at-home orders, it is not the time to rip off the apron (figuratively speaking since aprons are not much in use these days) and make a run to the market.

So here are some not only convenient and save-the-day substitutions, but also so healthy and flavorful that you might actually want to use them on a regular basis!

Pancakes - ever decided on a Sunday morning that it's the perfect time for a nice warm batch of pancakes - only to discover that you're out of flour? I have a delicious solution that my grandkids would rather have than the usual kind. Banana oat pancakes - made with rolled oats, ripe bananas, eggs, baking powder and a pinch of salt in a blender and blend until smooth and thick. And it's an added bonus that they are also gluten-free.

Here's an egg-white hack. I'm a big fan of chickpeas and always keep them on hand, but do you know about aquafaba? It's the liquid drained from a can of chickpeas and can be beaten to use as an amazing egg white substitute. Here's a recipe for easy, delicious, LOW CALORIE Strawberry Meringue Cookies that are also grandkid-approved!

image.png

One of my favorite hacks for butter or oil is unsweetened applesauce. I use this all the time even when I have butter or oil available because I love the taste without the calories. I use the applesauce for half the amount called for in butter and a one-for-one swap for oil in recipes for cakes and batters. My favorite chocolate cake (that I actually bake in my air fryer!) is just oats, applesauce, cocoa powder, mashed banana, egg, and cinnamon.

image.png

How about that left-over chicken breast and you hear chicken salad calling your name, but you're out of mayonnaise? Plain nonfat Greek Yogurt to the rescue! I always try to keep this on hand as well and it makes a great chicken, tuna or turkey salad that provides creaminess - and again - with a lot fewer calories than mayonnaise! Here's a simple recipe for Greek Yogurt Chicken Salad with Toasted Pecans and Apples.

image.png

source

I hope you found some useful tips here. What are some helpful hacks or substitutions that you have found? I'd love to hear about them!

text15.png

2gsjgna1uruv8X2R8t7XDv5HGXyHWCCu4rKmbB5pmEzjYSizzfjNdte3WjDpJwa9mk6TFQtnVQ1y9b9KfhHWUQzbnDePQPwDzSpLPH9Ny2NPEuJDfL.png

KNoz79cGRt59F26ze6eP2tUxiihBmkfXYo9w7DDKsQPNkNhkUqF9FjD9GHUyFiYcXWdH2ADpn47sAEk15XwKttojSHKQ6x4gvtZJ18Bd9YWcK1euPdX447jKfDNcNU9sBi6SPiU7NEn1xdUbh6N7XFEeD4r3cHsGvfVcXPH5J4ZGFeUd2spU9vgBMKiqSV2uQaxTaqeQBHG3V.png

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blueeyes.jpg

image.png

Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account at Sign up for Hive.

Sort:  

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine – Great ideas here and I love your simplicity in your recipes - just my type of cooking!

curation.png

We'd love you to enter our Wild Edibles Challenge
, which you can read about here. There's 100 HIVE on offer & lots of LOTUS to win!