Grilled tempeh and asparagus wraps with corn salsa

This week's Plant based cooking challenge #7offers choices which include what I have chosen. Corn and asparagus. I have also added cabbage as a garnish and lots of lime juice. All of these items up for grabs.

DSC_0152.jpg

When I think of corn and asparagus I think of summer and grilling. We seem to be stuck in early cool spring but that doesn't stop me from pretending that we are having a backyard barbecue. I don't have a back yard or even a balcony. What I do have is a Forman grill recently given to me. My manager said they bought it by mistake for the restaurant and the owner said he could keep it. He gave it to me saying he didn't want it and he was going to toss it in the bin. I don't know if he was for real but naturally I took it. It was still in the box.

I have asparagus around twice a year. I like it grilled rather than steamed. I wanted to do something I've never done with it and that was to put it in a sandwich. Since I was grilling I added some tempeh to the sandwich.

Before grilling I cut a good chunk of the ends off. They are not fun to eat being on the woody side.

DSC_0079.jpg

When the grill was hot, I put the lightly coated in oil asparagus in it and closed the lid.
DSC_0102.jpg
After around four minutes they were nicely done and not over cooked.

DSC_0109.jpg

The corn was to be added to the sandwich but I first made it into a salsa. This is very simple and light with lots of taste.

Corn salsa

2 cups corn(fresh is ideal but I used frozen)
1/2 cup onion (I prefer red but didn't have any left)
1 chopped tomato
1 chopped jalapeno pepper
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon chili powder
Juice of 2 limes or more if they are not juicy enough
Salt to taste.

DSC_0087.jpg
Mix the ingredients and refrigerate.

I decided to make my own whole wheat flatbread or tortilla. I haven't used whole wheat flour much but it's actually much easier to work with in my opinion.

DSC_0073.jpg

Flatbread

2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cups warm water
3 tablespoons olive oil
Salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Mix everything together and knead a little then set aside covered.

Meanwhile cook the tempeh in liquid. I chose veggie broth which I made previously, and three tablespoons vegan hoisin sauce. I added a little lemon juice as well.
DSC_0085.jpg

Simmer the tempeh until the moisture has absorbed. Set aside.

DSC_0089.jpg

To make the flatbread I divided the dough into four parts rolling into a ball. I wanted it to be as thin as possible. To make it thinner and wider I pick it up and do the pizza dough stretching method by putting it over a fist and gently pulling the sides while rotating.

DSC_0096.jpg

I didn't oil the pan because it's a really good non stick one. It was on medium high heat when I placed it in the pan.

DSC_0101.jpg

When it started to puff up and get brown spots I flipped it. I am not an expert but I was pretty pleased with it.

Before I put the tempeh on the grill I painted it with a barbecue sauce that I whipped up quickly. There are so many variations of barbecue sauce, it's not funny. I did it with what I had and what I felt like adding. I never make it the same each time and I don't measure the ingredients so this is approximate.

DSC_0093.jpg

Barbecue sauce

3/4 cups tomato paste
3 tablespoons ketchup
1 tablespoon garlic
3 tablespoons molasses
3 tablespoons cane sugar
3 tablespoons maple syrup
Juice of 1 lime
Juice of 1 tangerine
3 or 4 drops liquid smoke
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
2 tablespoons sherry vinegar
2 tablespoons braggs liquid amino (soy sauce)
Salt and pepper to taste
Oil to saute the garlic

Saute the garlic and spices in oil then add other ingredients. Simmer for ten fifteen minutes and it's ready.

I slathered the tempeh with the sauce and grilled it until the grill marks were dark.

DSC_0116.jpg

DSC_0117.jpg

Assembling the wrap

For the dressing I took a bit of the barbecue sauce and mixed it with vegan mayo to spread on the flatbread. This was not absolutely necessary as the corn salsa was the sauce for flavor. It was an extra something.

DSC_0125.jpg
I cut each piece of tempeh in two so it would fill the wrap.

DSC_0127.jpg
Then the asparagus, cabbage and the corn salsa.

DSC_0138.jpg

After wrapping I put it back in the Forman grill for an extra toast.

DSC_0140.jpg

I was thinking that I wouldn't be able to finish a whole wrap but at the end it was a pretty light feeling sandwich.

DSC_0155.jpg

DSC_8339.jpg

DSC_0143.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @carolynstahl. I can see from here how great and exquisite your preparation is, you definitely have a talent for making this type of food, I have never tried something like this, and I would love it because my appetite has already been awakened. Congratulations

What a lovely comment @katerinhernandez I thank you very much!

Yum 🤤

😊

Fantastic recipe. !LUV the ingredients and the presentation. Good work. You deserve a !PIZZA. 😁😁😁

Connect

Trade


@carolynstahl! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juanvegetarian.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

What is Tempeh?
I definitely am not a vegan but that looks really damn good.

Tempeh is a soy product made of condensed soy beans, if that makes sense. That's probably not the best way to explain it, but that's all I got...

It can be amazing if prepared correctly, as it was here :)


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yes @herbertholmes2 is right that it is a soybean product. It is cooked soybeans that get mixed with a fungus or spores that ferment it during a process that involves a few steps before it incubated in a certain temperature for around 30 hours. It originates in Indonesia and probably doesn't need an incubator there because of the heat. It is a great product for anyone who wants to replace meat for an animal free protein. In Indonesia they eat a lot of it even if they are not vegan and most are not.

Thank you for stopping by @esecholito!

This looks absolutely incredible. Great work on the tempeh prep; way more advanced than I've ever done it. Your post made me want one of these SO GOD DAMN BADLY

side note- corn salsa used to be my favorite thing in the world to make. i know that's kind of weird, but it was.. it was more or less my favorite food. I never had a "set" recipe, but my variations were always awfully close to the one you have here. So simple, and so, so good


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

You know what? This was the first time I made corn salsa and I wish I had been doing this all along. I didn't know what I was missing. I just need more jalapenos next time. The ones we get here have little heat. I like to burn a bit hahah.

I know you think this tempeh prep is advanced but if you boil it first in liquid you can do anything after that with it. It swells up and absorbs better but you can just cook it straight like it is. There are no rules. They say you shouldn't eat it raw but I've heard of people doing it. That's way too gross for me. I have hated tempeh on and off for it's sometimes weird taste so I try to cover it as much as possible. The tempeh in Indonesia is the best I've ever had.

If you're a cilantro fan, I would certainly suggest adding some to your next corn salad. Sometimes I'll add beans as well, but not very often.. everything else is improv.

Haha I've definitely eaten tempeh raw before. Not by choice though. I don't remember the scenarios and why. Probably no access to a kitchen or something of that nature.

I also very rarely buy tempeh where I live now as tofu is much, much more affordable in this area. But next time I have it, I'll definitely try a different cooking method. I think you'd be appalled and disgusted with how blandly I normally prepare it.

Haha I would never be appalled by what you cook. You have skills. Don't forget to enter. You have time and I'm hungry.

I did actually have cilantro in the corn but forgot to list it oops. Love Cilantro way too much. I know too many cilantro haters. I just can't be friends with people like that haha.

Sooooooo good as always. I'm sad because until now I can not find fresh asparagus!

Thank you @anggreklestari. I didn't think I would find good asparagus. Lately the produce is not as good. It's all imported and picked too soon but these were pretty decent. There are things where you are that I will never see again here but I hope you find asparagus someday.

 3 years ago  

My mind is flying and my mouth is watering. How delicious and easy to prepare. It looks very delicious, I must try it, so I'm going to give it a try!. Thank you for this recipe.

Sep.png

Natural Medicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our community - we'd love to welcome you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you @pavanjr. I hope you try it. It is really delicious.

This dish has one of my favorite ingredients "asparagus" and I could enjoy this exquisite recipe every day with a big smile on my face. :D

Asparagus is really good but sometimes I can't get it. I was lucky to find nice ones. Have a good day my friend!

He was going to toss the Forman grill in the bin...? 😱 What a waste that would have been, and I am so glad that he let you have it! Those things are awesome! This is a tasty-looking meal! I love asparagus! 😋

I think he really wanted to give it to me. He would never use it and he didn't want it laying around so he was probably trying to make a point. I gladly took it. We have had two other foreman grills given to us that we gave away to go traveling so I now have my third given to me. I love these things so much.

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @hivebuz!

You're welcome @carolynstahl
Support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.

Oh wow, that’s awesome and looking delicious 🤤. I love these ingredients so much. Well done my friend 👍.

Oh thank you so much my friend. It was simple but fun to eat!

 3 years ago  

This looks soooo good. Your recipes are always so inspiring and I will be bookmarking this one (as I have of so many of yours). Thank you @carolynstahl xxxxxxxxx

Aww that's great and appreciated. It really is a tasty one as simple as it is.

Ohhh I love tempeh and asparagus 😍 Your food looks so yummy 💚

Thank you so much @babeltrips thanks for stopping by as well.

Your post just right time for me to reach ^^ Have a great day ^^

 3 years ago  

Don't date tempt me with tempeh, because I'll take it all!! Asparagus in there too, one of my all-time favorites. I could eat at least 7 of these wraps in a sitting while my family my shames me for overeating.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I have to admit these were quite fun to eat and I will have to make more. Thank you @justinparke.

Hi @carolynstahl, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @juanvegetarian. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Congratulations @carolynstahl!

Your post received an honorable mention in last week's Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #7. I featured your post in the latest Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #8 | Come Join Us!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Community | Discord


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io