Mediterranean eggplant tomato dip

DSC_3555.jpg
This is my contribution to plant power cooking challenge.

I chose from the list of six items, to use eggplant(aubergine)and tomatoes. When I see those items together I think automatically of the Mediterranean.

I think back to when I was introduced to a Mediterranean restaurant that was open really late until 4 a.m. When I was in a band, the boys went there on our way back from Toronto. The first time I was annoyed that we had to stop to eat. When I ate the food I was mesmerized with the taste of everything. I will describe it as lemony and garlicky.

Over the years my friends and I would go there after a night out. At that time I ate meat. I also tried other things.

One appetizer that I loved was eggplant tomato dip. The restaurant called it a salad. I didn't see any resemblance to a salad in this dish that came with pita bread.

I don't know what the ingredients were but I did my best to replicate. It was pretty close.

DSC_3385.jpg

I have a broken element in my oven but the grill still works so I stuck the eggplant under the broiler.

DSC_3391.jpg

After it's roasted the moisture comes out and becomes more meaty. I also remove the skin.

DSC_3444.jpg

I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned because there seem to be plenty in stores now for a good price. Probably from the U.S. We have good tomatoes a little later.

Eggplant tomato dip
1 large eggplant diced
3 or 4 tomatoes (roma are the best but I used regular)
1 onion diced
1 shallot minced
4 cloves garlic minced
2 tablespoons tomato paste
Juice of 1 lemon
1/2 cup chopped coriander
1/2 cup flat leaf parsley
1 teaspoon fresh thyme

Spices and seasonings
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon coriander seeds
1 teaspoon red chili powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1 tablespoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon sumac
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon oregano
Salt to taste

DSC_3456.jpg

I like to dry toast the whole spices until they get aromatic and start crackling.

DSC_3468.jpg

I now love using a mortar and pestle to grind it. My machinery is not the best.

DSC_3499.jpg

I first saute the onions garlic and shallots until they are quite caramelized, then I add all of the spices and continue frying.

DSC_3465.jpg

After they are golden I add the eggplant.

DSC_3472.jpg

Then the tomatoes.

DSC_3473.jpg

Then the herbs and tomato paste.

DSC_3475.jpg

The dish that I had at the restaurant was thick and pasty. It was much like a spread. To get this consistency I simmered until most of the liquid was out.

DSC_3476.jpg

At the restaurant they didn't serve this with tahini sauce but I decided to take it up a notch. I made tahini sauce with sesame paste, lemon juice garlic and olive oil.

DSC_3546.jpg

I made pita bread in a pan from a basic bread dough. I won't bore you with the details as this is about the listed ingredients.

DSC_3545.jpg

This is the kind of thing I want to have when I am sitting and pecking on snacks, by the Mediterranean sea in my dreams which will probably not happen in this lifetime. Dreams are good though.

DSC_3548.jpg

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Delicious, fragrant and fingerlicking good. I love eggplants so much. I had them chargrilled on top of my laksa last night - amazing creamy smokey goodness!

It's the best smoked for sure and quite versatile. Thank you @riverflows.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Looks delicious.

Tks for sharing. Going to try it.

Thank you it is very delicious on nice bread or pasta.

Wow! Very nice food photos! Now I must get some good! Hungry! 🙀😂😂

Thank you I wish I could have what you are eating!

Hahaha. Omelette! LoL

Great post! Well done 👍🏻
Last 2 days I also prepared a dish with steamed eggplants and tomatoes with tofu. It taste good.
Your recipe must be tasty one! Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @cherryng! The two things were made for each other haha.😊

Your dish is really beautiful and yummy! I love eggplant😋

Thank you my friend. We have a lot of eggplant here.

This is really nice. It's like eggplant salsa.

I know a lot of people who don't like eggplant but such versions of it make it a great vegetable. One must know the best way to enjoy it. Eggplant salsa is more of a dip, we make an Indian version of it with onion, garlic, tomatoes, mashed egg plant and indian spices. It is eaten as a dish and is also very tasty. Must try!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you I would like to try your version. Sounds better.

It looks so good and it is hard to find a good eggplants here. Most of the the eggplants here are a little bitter.

It's true sometimes it's bitter. This was not though. Have a good day!

 3 years ago  

What a beautiful spread! If I was in the far north, I'd come by to have a dip. Well, I don't know how primo that restaurant's version of this dish was, but I dare say yours is more delicious without needing to taste or see either one. Thanks for sharing this with us.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I would love to share. I have too much leftover!

Congratulations @carolynstahl!
You were the winner of 2nd place prize in the Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #18.
I featured your post in the latest -
Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #19 | Come Join Us!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Wow @carolynstahl, this dip sounds sooo fragrant and totally irresistible, I'd be hovering over it till there's nothing left in the bowl! Your food really is to die for!

Thank you and likewise my friend!