Plant based Chinese restaurant inspired buffet made at home


DSC_3614.jpg

I always associate Chinese food with being the cuisine that was a treat in my life.

My Canadian father introduced it to me when I was a kid. It was usually a special occasion. We would either go to the restaurant or get take out.

Right into my adult life up until lockdown, it has always been a special thing. We would order in when we were lazy or had people over. Sometimes we would go to the Chinese restaurants to eat it as late as four in the morning after work. These late night places looked like a gangster movie scene.

There was a buffet here in Montreal where we used to gather with work friends on occasional afternoons. They were known for having the worst food but as vegans we were able to eat from the vegan section. They called it vegetarian but there was no egg or dairy in any of it.

With trying to use up ingredients that were in my fridge, freezer and cupboards, I ended up making a few plant based dishes resembling the things I have ordered over the years.

Years ago when I ate meat, one of my favorites used to be orange beef, or chicken. I have made it in the past with beef. So yesterday I made it with tofu.

Orange tofu
1 brick tofu sliced or diced
1/2 green pepper diced
1/2 red pepper diced
2 small chilies
3 or four cloves garlic
1 onion
1 tablespoon minced ginger
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 cup orange juice
1/2 teaspoon Chinese five spice
1 teaspoon chili or whole dried chili
1/4 cup vegetable broth
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon of orange zest
3 tablespoons of cornstarch
3 tablespoons soy sauce or more if desired
3 tablespoons agave or sweetener of choice

Saute the onions, garlic, spices and tofu. Add peppers and cornstarch stirring to make sure it's evenly distributed then add liquids. Cook until evaporated and thickened.

Chinese five spice (made my own and stored it in a jar)
4 teaspoons white peppercorns
7 whole star anise
1 teaspoon ground cloves
2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoon ground fennel seeds

Toast the spices then grind in a blender or spice grinder or mortar and pestle

tofu.jpg

I had some baby bok choy to use up so I made a stir fry with that and some king oyster mushrooms.

Bok choy stir fry
12 or 13 little baby bok choy
4 king oyster mushrooms sliced
1 onion
4 cloves garlic minced
1 teaspoon minced ginger
1 teaspoon white pepper
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
3 or four tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1/2 cup vegetable broth
3 tablespoons cornstarch

Saute onion and garlic and ginger and pepper. Add mushrooms and bok choy. Add cornstarch stirring well. Add soy sauce and broth. Stir and cook until evaporated and thick.

bokchoy.jpg

For more variety, I made a broccoli stir fry with bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. This reminds me of the vegetable dish we would order called Buddha's feast.

Broccoli stir fry
1 head of broccoli and stems peeled and sliced
1 carrot sliced
1 onion diced
4 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon minced ginger
1 cup canned water chestnuts sliced (Canned is the easiest for us Canadians)
1 cup canned bamboo shoots sliced
1/2 cup vegetable broth
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon white pepper
1 teaspoon sesame oil

Saute onion, garlic, ginger. Add carrots, bamboo and broccoli stems. Add pepper cornstarch then stir. Add liquids and cook until evaporated and thickened.

broccoli.jpg

One of my all time favorites is mushroom fried rice. I was never able to make it the way I wanted until recently when I was given a used wok. I have never owned one before. I realize I was missing out. It's good for many things.

Mushroom fried rice
4 cups cooked rice ( Rinse the rice very well and put a half cup less water in it then usual)
1 onion chopped
3 cloves garlic minced
1 teaspoon ginger minced
2 cups mushrooms
1 diced carrot
1/2 cup peas
3 or 4 tablespoons soy sauce
1/2 cup vegetable broth
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon pepper and salt to taste

Saute onion garlic and ginger. Add mushrooms, broth, and soy sauce, and cook for a minute. Add rice and cook until evaporated.

rice.jpg
This happens to be the way I did it but I am sure an expert would have a different method. I didn't actually fry the rice which I think is done in a restaurant. It resulted the same in my opinion.

26.jpg

Bok choy and mushrooms
DSC_3626.jpg

Broccoli stir fry
DSC_3624.jpg

Orange ginger tofu
21.jpg

The amounts I have listed are not exact. I never measure anything. I have approximated the measurements. You can add less or more as you taste. These recipes are just a basic guideline for those who do little cooking and would like to try.

DSC_3618.jpg

Just like at the restaurant in the past, there were plenty of leftovers which I always got excited about. Only this time there were no cardboard boxes.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you are having a great week!

Sort:  

Bookmarked! I never try orange tofu.

I love so much bok choy / pak choy always. My fav veggie

I love them too!!! There are many greens I see but I don't know what they are. I will have to try them.

Wow! These look very impressive! A feast for four people easily!👍😻😻🐈🐈

Haha a feast for two with left overs!

Hahaha. Such a feast!!👍😻😻😂😂

That tofu dish especially looks yummy.
It's the wok that's the secret my family says 👍
I myself need to buy one, but haven't found one that we find of good quality yet.

The tofu dish was my favorite for sure.
The wok is really the secret you bet. My wok is not good quality but it was a donation so it's the best quality haha.

Thank you @tanjakolader

Hahaha I know what you mean. Appreciate the things you do have, especially if they were gifts.

Enjoy the rest of the week 😊

I love bok choy! Im gonna grow some this year. Thanks for all the great recipes all the time!

I wish I lived in a place where I can grow such things. I don't even have a balcony haha. Thank you @quinnertronics!

 3 years ago  

Ooh, I'm going to have to try that orange tofu! I've ordered Buddha's feast on more than one occasion myself! I think the last time we ordered Chinese food was when we went to the beach because it was one of the few restaurants near where we stayed that actually had some vegan options. I think the best part is always the leftovers, but I have to say your feast looks even better than anything I've ever gotten out of a cardboard box!

Thank you @plantstoplanks! The only thing missing from this was the magic sodium glutamate haha. The thing is without it, I don't get hungry again later.

 3 years ago  

Haha, I think I can definitely do without that, too!

Ummm, looks so good. My family and our friends went to a Chinese restaurant call Lucky twin. We order somethings similar to the orange ginger tofu. It is sour and sweet. I think your is more tasty then in Lucky Twin restaurant.

Oh that's looks like delicious all. I love bok choy and mushrooms so much. Good luck for your entry my dear.

Aw thank you @sreypov! Good luck to you too!

Wow you've really prepared a vegan Chinese feast here @carolynstahl! Chinese restaurants were very popular when we were younger and was always a treat for a special occasion!

Now there are so many other cuisines available but It still is nostalgic for an occasion.