new painting - couple, symbiosis

DSC_0022.JPG

This is a recently-finished painting in oil paint and pencil, on an old table top that was in the medieval Italian house that I bought 10 yrs ago; I used the surface as a table top for a long time!

Then a friend gifted me another, bigger table, and I realised that this was such a lovely surface to work on. It took around a year to come to completion... This is an earlier phase of it.

DSC_0024.JPG

And this is a later stage:

IMG_20190831_183855.jpg

Often my paintings sit for some time between phases, then I'll work intensively on them for many hours and many days.
I used oil pastel underneath this work, and had a lot of movement in the marks, before defining them.

Unusually, the figures didn't change much from the beginning: often I find that they morph and transform a lot more before finishing.

:-)

The painting is sold to a beautiful client who already has a piece of my work: she bought a piece that she's also using as artwork for a gorgeous book she's just published, for young women. I love being part of that!

So the painting is drying still (it wants at least a few weeks/ a month to dry fully) before shipping... I use Old Holland high quality cold-pressed oil colours - extremely expensive, the most wonderful pigments and durability... And thanks to my Patreon patrons and folks supporting my online workshops recently, I was able to invest in new tubes of painting and a big bottle of poppyseed oil!! HEAVEN!

IMG_20200526_154125.jpg

Much love and colour and creative inspiration to you all today!
Clare xx

Sort:  

This is beautiful Clare!! 😍 I remember way-back-when in The Secret reading about art images - that if you want warmth and romance and intimacy in your life, you should display that reality - that the image is medicine to yoru vibration and your imagination.

It's a beautiful image to hang in a boudoir. I particularly like that you have maintained the androgeny.

Oooh, so lovely that you see this in the painting - and I love the truth of that in The Secret, too! I did a lot of more cathartic and frictional-emotion work in my earlier years, but through being more and more open to pure creative Flow, I'm finding a profound peace between the figures - a deep joy and purity of energy... Art is such an incredible transformative tool <3 And yes! The beautiful client who is buying it, told me it is for her marriage's 18 yr anniversary - such a blessed mutually-beneficial exchange! <3

What a marvellous artwork, Clare! I love their facial expressions. Perfect painting! 🤗

Thank you hugely, @trincowski :-D It's great to be back here sharing more regularly - I got stuck for a while with how to share videos and voice files on Hive... slowly slowly getting the hang of it... Hope you're well!