Laughter is the best medicine πŸ˜‚

in Natural Medicine β€’ 3 years ago

When life feels too chaotic, laughter is the best medicine
Firstly, I want to appreciate @naturalmedicine and team members for this opportunity for content creator like me and others to share insightful content in regard to the topic above and I hope this content will be useful to you as you read through. Love always from me❀.

What is laughter?
Laughter is an expression of happiness. It could be cause by winning a trophy or a game, or words of affirmation and hope.

When Life feels too chaotic, laughter is the best medicine
At the beginning of the year, I moved out from my family house to another state in the country to start up life as a young adult. I was full of hope, high energy and being optimistic that everything will be smooth and perfect. I recently finished a compulsory community service program, National Youth service corp(NYSC) in my country, Nigeria after my graduation from college. I was hoping to get a job to earn an income and able to live well as a young adult, I thought have gotten all I need to make life better for me but it seems life has another plan.

I was in search for a job for four months, towards the end of February my savings got exhausted as results of paying for basic needs such as house rent, utility bills, transportation and food. I was down and sad cause everything is not falling into place as I imagined. I experienced hunger, I was down and broke, I couldn't afford good meals and unable to get things done cause I was jobless, but during the tough tines, I remember the words of my mother, what she told me before leaving the house, I quote, "To always find happiness within me during difficult times, there's something to be grateful for" these words were magical.
I had deep thinking about the word over and over and I found something within to be grateful for; despite the fact I was jobless, I'm in good health, the air I breath, my body organ and system are functioning well and lot more.
These thoughts made me to create laughter within me, and everyday I use the word to start my day, I always see myself laughing, being full with hope,optimistic that I'll get a job soonest and with high energy. Indeed laughter was the medicine I needed at that moment. I'll encourage everyone reading this, to always say positive words to their friends, family and strangers, they might just need a word to make them laugh and smile.

Types of laughter
There are five types of laughter according to the American Journal of lifestyle Medicine. Source through the link; https://dx.doi.org/10.1177/1559827614550279
Research shows that there are 5 types of laughter namely
(1) Spontaneous (genuine)
(2) Stimulated Laugh (tickling)
(3) Induced laugh (via drugs)
(4) Self induced laugh
(5) pathological laugh (disorder emotional expression due to damage pathway in the cortex and brainsterm).

So literally during the time life was too chaotic for me, I was practising the self induced type of laughter through the words of my mother and it change my life. Few weeks later, my friend sent me a job referral link to apply, I did apply and I was employed by the manager of the company, yaaahhhh πŸ˜‚. Laughter truly is a medicine to the body. Find it and have a good life.
untitled.gif

Health benefits of laughter, relevant scientific evidence
This article is from American Journal of lifestyle medicine:
https://dx.doi.org/10.1177/1559827614550279
Research shows the benefits of spontaneous laughter.
The cardiovascular effects of laughter appear to be quantifiable, although potentially short-lived.
A study of 10 healthy subjects showed that cardiac parasympathetic activity decreased immediately on watching a comedy video, and just as quickly returned to baseline when finished. This was in comparison to tragedy videos, in which the parasympathetic activity also dropped, but did not return to baseline afterward. Some of the temporary effects of laughter on the cardiovascular system are predictable, given that laughter involves an increase in physical activity from baseline.
A study of 8 subjects found that laughter appears to significantly increase stroke volume and cardiac output, while significantly decreasing oxygen consumption, arteriovenous oxygen difference, and total peripheral resistance.
A study of blood pressure involving 16 normotensive subjects found that laughing during a blood pressure measurement increased systolic blood pressure by an average of 12. This research suggests that the body responds physiologically to bout of laughter as it does to a bout of exercise.

I'll love to invite my friend @wolfofnostreet to participate in this contest.
Thank you for reading this post, please feel free to tell me what you think about the post on the comment section and I hope I'll be selected in this contest organize by @naturalmedicine #makemesmile #LaughterIsMedicine

Sort: Β 

Congratulations @eiidith! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP