You Can Lead a Horse to Water...

Finally got a moment to work on my next post and was reminded how many people I've known, won't accept wisdom of any kind. I've always loved to read and learn new things and as a kid, thought this was the same for everybody. Sadly as I got older, the realization hit me that this was not the case. Not only were many people uninterested in expanding their horizons, they resisted anyone who tried to help them as well.

No intellectual curiosity at all, was the calling card hanging over the heads of people I'd run into. It was almost as if they learn up until high school, and then all desire to learn stops as if the brain was full and couldn't possibly take in anymore information.

But you can't make it drink...

A co-worker of mine discovered she had cancer. I'd long read about it and unfortunately the type she had, had a 97% fatality rate with conventional medicine. I'd read about some promising alternative treatments in a number of studies and asked her if the cancer had metastasized, if not, she might want to have this information just in case. She flat out refused to even look at the data and said she was only going to listen to her doctor. I tried one more time to no avail, she actually put her hands over her ears, and that was that. She was an amazing woman and we all loved working with her. However that day she was with a friend and we all suspected that that was an attempt to "show off" in front of her girlfriend, which would have dire consequences.

The last thing I said to her was "you can't say I didn't try" Four years later I heard she had passed and her friend told me that after trying everything conventional, her doctors told her to go home and "get her affairs in order." We all know what that means. At that point, her friend told me she'd been looking for me and had finally begun looking into alternative treatments, but the cancer had already spread throughout her body and it was too late.

See that "weed" over there?

As a teen I had the lucky opportunity to meet an amazing woman from Europe. She taught me all about the healing powers of plants and their use in natural medicine. This is where I first heard about the health benefits of yogurt and the positive effect it has on gut heatlh. I learned about the dangers of GMO and why I should should invest in fresh organic food to help fortify my body. There was a meadow near my grandmothers house where she told me about milk thistle and what it does for the liver. I was like "there's actually a use for that ugly weed?" Yes there is.

The point is, I was open and eager to learn and spent many hours asking her "why?" about almost everything she brought up. Because I was willing to listen and continued my education even after she left, I ended up being the one family member that to this day, outside of colds, never gets sick. Some of that may be genetic, but I credit a lot of that to the information that I soaked up like a sponge.

Having been through a lot early on in life, there have been situations where my experience could have helped someone going through the same thing I'd already been through. However after seeing time and again that efforts to share knowledge being rebuffed, I now no longer offer assistance, instead standing by in case it's requested. Things are such that you almost wonder if the cosmos intended for things to only be known by certain people and that the rest are content to lie in the bed they've made for themselves.

It must be human nature, the environment you're raised in or the people that surround you that make some people hungry to learn new things, while others refuse. The good thing, is when you find someone receptive enough to ask for help and you get to make a positive difference in their lives. Being able to lighten the load for one willing person, is a great way of "paying it forward" while sharing in the bounty we've been blessed with.

Thank You So Much!

Please check out my recent posts:

Image credit: 1, 2


Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for your support, I love being a content creator!

You have really make me to learn another thing today


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Happy to share, I was on a learning journey too and still am. :)

We are good to go


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for sharing this😃
It's sad how most people only believe in doctors and medicines these days. They totally seem to forget that nature has a cure for almost everything. But as you said, I also believe that it's the environment people grow in. Fortunately there are still people to remind us otherwise. Thank you once again😅

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @porters
Isn't it so or another way of looking at it is when the student is ready the teacher appears - I guess a lot of people are just not ready yet.

Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Check it out here. Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!

divider.fw.png

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content).

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

Excellent post. I've come to the exact same conclusion as you with regards to offering assistance to others. I realized it was not only futile but also even detrimental to attempt to intervene in people's processes, so I just keep my distance and stand at the ready if anyone approaches me. It's an attitude that I've applied in many aspects of my life, not just alternative medicine and spirituality, and it's been really effective at all levels. Of course, I'd love to share my knowledge with everybody because I've extracted enormous benefits from it and I'm sure others would as well, but alas...

Thanks for sharing this! Blessings!