[Esp/Eng] Las desventuras de una jardinera inexperta. | The misadventures of an inexperienced gardener.

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

image.png

Hola nuevamente hivers! Había estado esperando escribir este post y ahora por fin tengo algo de tiempo para hacerlo. En un principio seria una actualización sobre huerto y de cómo van las cosas allí, pero en estos días me di la tarea de plantar y cambiar de maceta algunas plantitas que tenían tiempo esperando y honestamente quede tan feliz y satisfecha que les contare todo al respecto, acerca de mi historia con ellas y las cosas que me han pasado que casi hago que mueran y he tenido que correr a corregirlo para evitarlo.

Hello again hivers! I had been waiting to write this post and now I finally have some time to do it. At first it was going to be an update about the garden and how things are going there, but these days I gave myself the task of planting and repotting some little plants that had been waiting for a long time and honestly I was so happy and satisfied that I will tell you all about it, about my history with them and the things that have happened to me that almost made them die and I had to run to correct it to avoid it.

image.png
Materiales listos, la magia comienza. | Ready materials, the magic begins

En un post anterior les dije que en noviembre del año pasado falleció mi abuela y como ella tenía muchas plantas en su casa, decidí traerme algunos hijos para tenerlos aquí, como un recuerdo de su parte. Uno de esos fue un anturio. Antes que nada deben saber que los anturios son plantas semi epifitas (parecidas a las orquídeas) que requieren un sustrato MUY poroso pero que retenga algo de humedad, y jamás se les debe enterrar la raíz por completo (como enterramos cualquier otra planta) y tampoco exponerlos al sol directo.

In a previous post I told you that in November of last year my grandmother passed away and since she had many plants in her house, I decided to bring some pups to have them here, as a remembrance on her part. One of those was an anthurium. First of all you should know that anthuriums are semi-epiphytic plants (similar to orchids) that require a VERY porous substrate but that retains some moisture, and you should never bury the root completely (as we bury any other plant) and never expose them to direct sunlight.

image.png
El anturio de mi abuela | My grandma's anthurium

Una vez hecha la aclaración debo decir que yo ignoraba por completo todo esto e hice TODO lo contrario. Primero la plante en tierra negra y la cubrí hasta un poco más arriba de la base de las hojas, paso un tiempo y todo parecía ir bien, incluso le había salido una hoja pero pronto se empezó a marchitar.

Having made the clarification I must say that I was completely ignorant of all this and did the complete opposite. First I planted it in black soil and covered it up to a little above the base of the leaves, some time passed and everything seemed to be going well, it had even grown a leaf but soon it started to wilt.

image.png
Primer strike con mi anturio. | First strike with my anthurium

Buscando videos, vi que había gente que los cultivaba en agua y dije “pff pan comido” así que la puse en agua y la coloque en un sitio donde le daba sol algunas horas al día y listo. Nuevamente todo pareció ir bien un tiempo, le cambiaba regularmente el agua y la vigilaba, veía que hacia el intento de sacar hojas pero enseguida se ponían marrones y no pasaba mas nada, luego observe que algunas raíces se pudrieron pero empezaron a salirle unas nuevas, otra vez, todo fue mal, al tiempo las primeras hojas empezaron a secar hasta que le quedó una solita y yo estaba asustada de perderla. Poco después vi que por fin se asomaron un par de hojas nuevas y me alegre, pero apenas se abrieron, adivinen: empezaron a ponerse marrones también. Fue entonces cuando decidí dedicarme a investigar cuales eran los requerimientos de esta planta y que cuidados necesitaba específicamente, y entonces fue cuando me di cuenta de los gravísimos errores que había cometido, así que puse manos a la obra.

Looking for videos, I saw that there were people who cultivated them in water and I said "pff piece of cake" so I put it in water and placed it in a place where it had sun a few hours a day and that was it. Again everything seemed to go well for a while, I changed the water regularly and kept an eye on it, I saw that it tried to take leaves but then they turned brown and nothing else happened, then I noticed that some roots rotted but new ones started to grow, again, everything went wrong, after a while the first leaves started to dry until it had only one leaf left and I was scared to lose it. A little later I saw a couple of new leaves finally show up and I was happy, but as soon as they opened, guess what: they started to turn brown too. That's when I decided to investigate what were the requirements of this plant and what care it needed specifically, and that's when I realized what a huge mistake I had made, so I got down to work.

image.png

image.png

Como tengo un cocotero aproveche varias cascaras para hacer un sustrato de fibra de coco el cual es bastante adecuado y solo le agregue un poco de anime y cortezas de árbol deshechas. Espero se sienta a gusto allí y se mejore, me entristece verla así medio marchita.

As I have a coconut tree I took advantage of several shells to make a coconut fiber substrate which is quite adequate and I only added a little styrofoam and shredded tree bark. I hope it feels comfortable there and gets better, it saddens me to see it half withered like this.

image.png
Sustrato de fibra de coco | Coconut fiber substrate

image.png

La siguiente en esta lista es una bromelia, la cual también me traje en la misma ocasión pero esta no era de mi abuela sino que se la pedí a un jardinero en el cementerio. Como tuve que esperar mucho en ese momento mientras algunos familiares hacían los trámites requeridos, entre tantas plantas, me llamo mucho la atención su intenso color rojo y en lo que tuve la oportunidad pedí una ramita. Con esta tampoco me tome mucho tiempo de investigar, solo tenía la noción de que comúnmente se les amarra a troncos y cosas así y eso fue lo que hice, le coloque un pedacito de tronco, la amarre con una mallita y la puse en nidito de conchas de coco. Adicionalmente esta estaba también en un lugar donde le daba sol directo algunas horas.

The next in this list is a bromeliad, which I also brought on the same occasion but this one was not from my grandmother but I asked a gardener at the cemetery for it. As I had to wait a lot at that time while some relatives were doing the required paperwork, among so many plants, I was struck by its intense red color and as soon as I had the opportunity I asked for a cutting. With this one I didn't take much time to investigate either, I only had the notion that they are commonly tied to trunks and things like that and that's what I did, I put a little piece of trunk, tied it with a net and put it in a nest of coconut shells. Additionally, this one was also in a place where it had direct sunlight for some hours.

image.png

Admito que prácticamente deje de prestarle atención y solo le ponía algo de agua cuando me acordaba (es decir, como cada 15 días) por lo que cuando realmente me di cuenta que había crecido, me sorprendió bastante, prácticamente la deje a su suerte y había sobrevivido. Cuando la saque del nidito y le quite la malla, note que incluso las raíces se habían adherido al pedacito de tronco, así que así mismo la puse en la maceta y rellene con pedazos de concha de coco y cortezas y quedo hermosa.

I admit that I practically stopped paying attention to it and only gave it some water when I remembered (that is, about every 15 days), so when I really realized that it had grown, I was quite surprised, I practically left it to its fate and it had survived. When I took it out of the nest and removed the mesh, I noticed that even the roots had adhered to the little piece of trunk, so I put it in the pot and filled it with pieces of coconut shell and bark and it looks beautiful.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Luego está la peperomia, segundo intento. Fue otra que traje de la casa de mi abuela pero no sobrevivió, este se lo pedí a una vecina y lo deje en agua (también medio descuidado) hasta que tuvo bastantes raíces. Esta planta es fácil de propagar con este método e incluso mediante sus hojas. Al igual que con las anteriores investigue un poco sus necesidades y para ella basta un sustrato de tierra negra con buen drenaje, puede ser mezclado con aserrín ya descompuesto o con cascarilla de arroz. Como yo no tenía ninguna de esas dos cosas quise improvisar un poco y salí a mi huerto y rastrille un poco la tierra debajo del cocotero, allí se acumulan muchas “florecitas” del coco que se caen y quedan como conchitas parecidas a la cascara de arroz, así que esto es más un experimento, veremos que tal funciona.

Then there is the peperomia, second attempt. It was another one I brought from my grandmother's house but it did not survive, this one I asked a neighbor and left it in water (also half neglected) until it had enough roots. This plant is easy to propagate with this method and even by its leaves. As with the previous ones, I did a little research on its needs and for it a black soil substrate with good drainage is enough, it can be mixed with decomposed sawdust or rice husks. As I did not have any of these two things I wanted to improvise a little and I went out to my orchard and raked a little the soil under the coconut tree, there accumulate many "little flowers" of the coconut that fall and remain as shells similar to the rice husk, so this is more of an experiment, we will see how it works.

image.png

image.png
Mi sustituto improvisado de cascarillas de arroz. | My improvised rice husk substitute.

image.png

Por último pero no menos importantes están mis consentidas suculentas, las cuales necesitaba cambiar de maceta porque ya habían crecido y también porque quería hacer un poner algunas en una sola. Aproveche de ponerles un sustrato mejor (mezclé tierra negra con las cortezas deshechas, fibra de coco y un poquito de anime y arena gruesa) y parecen felices con ese cambio.

Last but not least are my favorite succulents, which I needed to change pots because they had already grown and also because I wanted to put some of them in one pot. I took the opportunity to put them in a better substrate (I mixed black soil with shredded bark, coconut fiber and a little bit of styrofoam and coarse sand) and they seem happy with this change.

image.png
Las suculentas preparandose para sus nuevas macetas. | Succulents preparing for their new pots

image.png
Primero le toco a mi Graptopetalum Paraguayense. | First turn to my Graptopetalum Paraguayense

image.pngPor ultimo le toco a mi sedum morganianum y la otra que no me se el nombre. además saque unos esquejes para hacer mas plantitas. | Next is my sedum morganianum and the other which name i don't know. I also took two cuttings to make more plants.

Al finalizar rocié todas las plantas con un té de cascara de banana y un pedacito de canela entera (el te de cascara de banana es rico en potasio y la canela previene hongos).

At the end I sprayed all the plants with banana peel tea and a small piece of whole cinnamon (the banana peel tea is rich in potassium and the cinnamon prevents fungus).

image.png
Fertilizante listo para ser aplicado. | Fertilizer ready to be applied.

He aquí los resultados finales:

Here are the final results:

image.png

image.png

image.png

Debo decir que quede súper contenta, de verdad pase una tarde muy amena con mis plantas y cada vez que las veo me siento muy feliz. Espero esa energía se les contagie para que sigan creciendo y poniéndose bellas.

I must say that I was super happy, I really spent a very enjoyable afternoon with my plants and every time I see them I feel very happy. I hope this energy rubs off on them so that they continue to grow and become beautiful.

Hasta aquí el post, el mismo es parte del reto de @riverflows Diario de jardín en la comunidad de Natural Medicine, ¡me complace estar participando! Espero hayan disfrutado, nos estaremos leyendo ;)

Here ends this post, it is part of the @riverflows Garden Journal Challenge in the Natural Medicine community, I am pleased to be participating! I hope you enjoyed reading it, let's keep up!


Gracias por leerme. | Thanks for reading.
Todas las fotos son de mi autoría. | All photos are my own.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

You have your hands full. Well, the journey of life is learning from mistakes, and it looks like these plants have already told you what they need, and you've listened well.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

that's right! sometimes making mistakes is the only way to learn!! it is hard when a plant die for a mistake but fortunately they are very kind hahah they forgive us if we apologize to them. after all they are live beings ^^

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

thanks for the support!!

 3 years ago  

Wow - I think it's super cool you can make your own coconut fibre to use on the garden! It's expensive here! Love your passion for plants and LOVE to hear about people who's garden stories are only just beginning. It's so addictive! Thanks so much for sharing - can't wait for your May #gardenjournal now. Hope you had fun writing this!

it's a difficult process but I have done it as I needed it! is wonderful to have a coconut tree rigth next to my house, it is like 20 yo now! before i didn't know that its shell had use and i throwed it. i'm glad i stoped doing it! because it can be used as mulch too!
thanks to you! i did have fun writing and while I was doing everything about!

Saludos, me gusto mucho tu post es muy ameno, se dice que todos los días se aprende algo, aparentemente esto sucede mas cuando tienes plantas, espero que pronto el Anturio de casa de tu abuela se recupere al 100%, y puedas mostrarlo en su máximo esplendor la próxima vez.

muchas gracias! yo tambien espero fervientemente que se recupere!!