Homestead Hodgepodge

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_2565.jpg

A half a day's labor worth of lavender essential oil

Phew! Yesterday was a to do conglomeration for the annals of double tasking homestead history! We had an unexpected, generous delivery of some Lodi apples from one of our dear friends on Wednesday, and with it being a touch on the warm and dry side in these parts, we knew that we better grind and press those gift apples stat.

The thing is, we also needed to cut and distill the last of the lavender harvest too. So we decided to do both. At the same time. It was fun.

Have you noticed that fun is a word that has multiple definitions? heh.

Anyway, I got my carcass out of my sublimely comfortable bed quite early yesterday and wandered out to the almost harvested lavender field. One thing anyone who grows lavender should know is that you want to harvest your lavender for oil or buds before mid morning, for once the sun hits those buds with all it's UV glory, much of your lavender plant's oil is going to dissipate into the air for the day before coming home to roost in the evening. Evaporation is fun. Oooh, there's the F word again.

Mini science lesson aside, I love going out into the lavender field at about 6am. The farm is just waking up, and there's this quiet, peaceful vibe in the air. Well, until Rick sees me and moos like he is stuck in a trash compactor, but until then the sights, sounds, and smells are quite serene.

It takes two, three gallon buckets of bloomed out lavender (augustifolia) flowers to get about a 1/2 ounce of lavender essential oil and a gallon of hydrosol. Don't worry, I am going to write an in depth post about the whole distillation process and building the still, but it's going to have to wait until I have a few more seconds to spare. Right now we are in the crux of harvest and 4-H bananas-ness!

IMG_2553.jpg

Speaking of 4-H, this lovely duo stopped by for a visit while we were finishing up pressing and distilling. My daughter is in full race to the finish line mode with her moo right now. We are talking lots of coat care and one mile muscle building walks. Her hard work is definitely paying off, Moo Jr. is one well cared for chonk!

IMG_2557.jpg

After my hubs loaded the still with lavender flowers, we got down to cider pressing. If you have ever looked at cider presses and grinders, I am sure you have suffered the same sticker shock that my husband did when he looked into such things years ago. He is the most resourceful DIY guy ever, and before long we had a homemade cider press and a handmade, hand crank grinder.

IMG_2556.jpg

The apple pressing process went as follows. First, the apples are poured into a bucket of water and vinegar solution for a quick cleaning dip. Then the are sliced in half and thrown into the grinder. Underneath the grinder is a bucket lined with good quality cotton cloth. Once the bucket was full of grinded apples, we would lift the cloth out of the bucket and place it into the press.

IMG_2560.jpg

A few cranks of the bottle jack later and voila! Apple juice! We strained it after it was pressed before drinking:)

IMG_2561.jpg

And what glorious apple juice it is too! Last night was game night and one of our friends kept drinking glass after glass of the tangy, tart ambrosia.

IMG_2555.jpg

What made pressing the apples more interesting is that we were simultaneously monitoring the lavender still. As the distillate flows through the essencier (the apparatus that separates the essential oil from the hydrosol) we have to be mindful to switch out the jars collecting the hydrosol quite often. Let's just say it's a good thing there were two of us:)

IMG_2564.jpg

But we had the energy to persevere through the job because the night before I had made Zoobana bread. It is the height of zucchini season here, so I have a few (lol) to deal with, and my son in a most hilarious attempt at manipulation brought up that I used to make zucchini banana bread with milk chocolate chips a lot. Years ago. A few hours later there were two loaves on the counter (one disappeared almost immediately).

IMG_2551.jpg

Hmm....Now that I think of it maybe that attempt wasn't so hilarious and was rather more successful and nefarious than I thought.....

And on that slightly perplexed note, I better leave this and get back to work. I've got cupcakes to decorate and teenagers to run to work!

IMG_2568.jpg

This is Stumpy, she's got a bum leg and no flock will have her, but look! She hatched her own brood and sauntered through the farm to show her littles to us.😊

Happy Homesteading!



And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were take on the author's rather ran down but at least not run over iPhone.


Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Cider? Lavender still? Zucchini bread? You are my kind of person.

I'd love to know more about your still. Hubs made me a small one but I haven't used it yet.

I make apple scrap vinegar, but love your press a lot.

That's so cool your hubs made you a still, mine made ours lol!

I plan on doing a pretty in-depth still post, it's going to have to wait until I get through zucchini and 4H campout madness though, lol, summer's bananas around here!

And apple scrap vinegar? I think you are definitely my kind of person too:) Hope you are having a splendid day!!

That's so cool your hubs made you a still, mine made ours lol!

I plan on doing a pretty in-depth still post, it's going to have to wait until I get through zucchini and 4H campout madness though, lol, summer's bananas around here!

And apple scrap vinegar? I think you are definitely my kind of person too:) Hope you are having a splendid day!!

That's so cool your hubs made you a still, mine made ours lol!

I plan on doing a pretty in-depth still post, it's going to have to wait until I get through zucchini and 4H campout madness though, lol, summer's bananas around here!

And apple scrap vinegar? I think you are definitely my kind of person too:) Hope you are having a splendid day!!

We got lucky at an estate sale decades back and got an unused grinder/press for $50. It will go into use this fall...

Because I put everything in so late, I've only gotten 2 zucchini so far...Zoodles for lunch!

Dang! That's a sweet deal! Can't wait to see what you do with that press, I have a feeling it will get quite a workout.:)

Ahh, zoodles, the greatest things since sliced zucchini bread! I've been craving some zoodle alfredo, how did you end up eating yours?

Very simple: homemade spaghetti sauce and parmesan cheese... I cook them in butter until they just get soft.... then add the above. Takes longer to clean up the zoodler than to cook them.

Spectacular Post, All the photographs are just stunning, Everything just looks so fantastic. Thanks for sharing. I also write about Medicinal Plants and herbs and travels in my blog. I had a keen interest in photography and videography, Explore the mights Himalayas in my mountain bike.. do drop when you’re free. I hope you’ll like it.🙏

Oooh, I am so glad to hear about your blog, anyone who takes the time to comment on my posts usually ends up with a visit to their blog from me.:) Honestly though, your blog sounds super interesting, I love medicinal plants and herbs and mountain biking through the Himalayas sounds incredible! Thanks for stopping by:)!!

I don't know what zucchini is 🙈.

I liked DIY apple grinder.
I have heard for the first time that Apple are washed with vinegar. What is its significance?

Your post also was informative for me about lavender. I didn't know it's oil evaporate, but what if we cover it?

zucchini is a very prolific squash! If you plant more than one or two plants you are asking for enough squash to feed a village lol.

Throwing a bit of vinegar in water you wash produce with helps clean residue off of the produce.

You don't have to cover your lavender, the oil just evaporates/disperses above the plant for the heat of the day, but it comes back down where it belongs once things cool off. Kind of like how morning dew on plants work:)

Thanks for leaving me such an awesome comment!!

Years ago, my dad had a cider press, or maybe it was my brother-in-law. I never got to see it in action; I wasn't in the right place at the right time. Zucchini is in abundance at my house, too. I have many recipes yet to make, and there's an endless supply of new ones to try.