A Beginning Of Summer Garden Report

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_2307.jpg

Things are coming along right nicely in my garden this year. Well, by things I mean that I have all my spring and summer crops in, the drip irrigation installed, and as of this morning I have hilled the potatoes for the second and final time. Woo!

IMG_2309.jpg

And I have to say, this year's potato crop is killing it! I so love me some giant spuds, especially German Butterballs. Most of my crop is of the long term storage Yukon Gold variety, as my garden is of the agrarian subsistence variety, but there are a couple of fun cultivars to be found as well.

All that's left to do in potato-land is to hit the spud plants with a bit of fish and kelp emulsion right before they bloom. I have found over the years that a blast of the sea's bounty gives my taters a bit of a size boost. You know, cause as I said earlier, I love a potato the size of an elephant's foot. My dream potatoes are so big that just one of them will fill a cast iron skillet for fried potatoes. Sigh...

IMG_2311.jpg

Anyway, the other items in my garden are sprawling along too. My zucchinis are all up and exploding, which means in about t-minus 20-30 days or so I am going to be in full planter's remorse about planting four hills of them. (I'm just kidding, I am never sad about an abundance of zucchini, it'll just be salsa canning time:).

IMG_2312.jpg

My next chore will be weeding the red onion patch, as I have neglected it a touch while trying to get everything seeded, weeded, hilled, and irrigated. There's only fifty of them or so, so it won't take me too long to square that mess away.

IMG_2313.jpg

And the second the onions are tidied, it's time to stake tomatoes. I have six super amazing rebar tomato cages a friend welded me, but as I have fifty plants in, that means I am about 44 short. Usually I implement a Florida Weave trellising scenario to support the tomatoes, using stakes and my end of winter surplus of baling twine. I'll probably do that again, but who knows with me...

IMG_2318.jpg

This past winter I had the pleasure of eating at Lolo's Chicken and Waffles and during that visit of culinary delights I ate a bowl of collard greens that the thought of still makes me drool slightly. So great was that collards experience that I planted some to grow in order to try to replicate the tangy, spicy, savory dish of amazingness. Let's just say there are some tasty greens in my future, and I will so report on my attempt to get it right!

IMG_2316.jpg

The peas are doing their windy vine thing, but as last year was peas on steroids year, this year they seem to be a bit meh. It probably has to do with our wacked out weather. We have been in this pattern where it's ninety degrees one day and thirty the next. Apparently the potatoes like the extremes, but the peas not so much.

IMG_2314.jpg

And as we are in the middle of a building heat wave this week, I made sure to pluck a bunch of perfectly ready lettuce this morning. We are supposed to break into triple digit territory this weekend, so I wanted to actually enjoy my lettuce instead of shedding tears over it being in a bolted state. That particular batch of lettuce is currently chilling in a bath of ice cold water. I need to go rinse it and let it dry because I feel like there is a salad in my lunch future.

IMG_2315.jpg

The lettuce is a mix of all types of lettuce, oakleaf, butter, romaine, etc. I love all the different shapes and textures! That said, I need to get my currently sprawled in my office chair shape into gear and get ready for work. There's a library and story time to run!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's still lucky to have escaped being time-capsuled in the compost pile iPhone.

Sort:  

I put collards in this year too! Love the red color on the lettuce. When I headed to the cold frame this morning, I thought, "Gotta check the peas soon..." But not today.

Collards are just so yummy, I hope yours are doing swell! We are supposed to have triple digit heat for five days in a row, maybe more, so I am a little concerned about what that is going to do to the poor peas, but so goes the story of gardening lol, it's always something...

!LUV

Thank you!!!:)

Wowsers, these look incredible. Do you have snails? Over here the snails eat anything that grows. We have to snail proof the children's bedrooms lest they get in and devour them!

Ooh, thank ye MB:) I'm super pleased with them this year, but I have to admit now my mind has wandered into the Incredibly Deadly Carnivorous Snails territory. We don't have snails to contend with, and I am feeling much gratitude about that fact, but I have to ask, how does one snail proof a child's bedroom? Salt infused carpet?

Copper. Copper pyjamas, copper bedsheets. Copper everything. We even feed them copper.

Hehe, I jest of course but man it's disheartening trying to grow things in Scotland. Snails and slugs destroy everything no matter what you try. Buggers that they are

So you keep kids safe from the snails and slugs in their own personal Faraday cages? Excellent!🤣

I am more than a touch sad that the slimy produce stealers are so prolific in their destruction of Scotland's produce and plant growth efforts. It makes me want to mail you an army of passive aggressive chickens and a pallet of salt mixed with diatomaceous earth. Buggers indeed!

That would do the trick. I have been tempted to get chickens but sometimes feel that there is enough shit in my life :0D

The joys of the British isles! I thought I'd escaped the buggers by moving to the driest state in the driest continent, but no, I've merely got slugs and snails that can handle their beer. - minismallholding

Mine cant handle it :O) I had many a beer trap laid out but they ended up being so full of dead and decaying slugs and snails I had to stop! In one of them there were so many dead things that they formed a bridge out of it. It made me feel sick and it stank of fermenting death!