Humility is the top characteristic of real progress in life

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Writing articles to share here on our favorite social media blog site is a lot of fun for me, since I love writing and humans are, after all, compulsive communicators. Writing is a way to also compose the mind as well as solidify the thoughts for oneself, as well as for the reader. If there is even a reader. Sometimes there isn’t.

solo prayer pixa.jpg

And that is where humility comes to mind. I may think I have an important or pertinent message to convey that will uplift anyone who reads it. That is the kind of post I wish to write. I use certain criteria. Is it important? Is it relevant? And what would be the consequences if I did not share this information? These are the questions I like to ask myself before writing anything.

Therefore, I communicate in my posts information which is of the most valuable that I can access from my personal experience and studies. However, this may all be purely subjective. The other users of this site may not be interested in what, to me, is the most important information in the world. And this is where I’m daily reminded to be humble.

For example, in my series on awakening consciousness, I’m quoting verses from one of the best books on the planet – in my opinion – the Bhagavad Gita. If I can inspire just one or two people to read the Gita, which is such a valid source of information, perhaps they can feel the benefit that I feel from having this knowledge and information about myself and reality. Yet sometimes no one even reads the post. Or maybe one person does. And the upvotes appear to me to be feeble and poorly.

My initial response on seeing this is somewhat depressing. Why do I bother? Then I am reminded that I need to be humble. And not attached to the result. These are crucial qualities of character that indicate a serious soul, mature in their path of consciousness awakening. Bhagavad Gita perfectly advises us on the symptoms of a “sadhu” or person with spiritual knowledge.

In chapter 13 verse 8 Krishna tells Arjuna:

अमानित्वमदम्भित्वमहिंसा क्षान्तिरार्जवम् ।
आचार्योपासनं शौचं स्थैर्यमात्मविनिग्रह: ॥ ८ ॥

amānitvam adambhitvam
ahiṁsā kṣāntir ārjavam
ācāryopāsanaṁ śaucaṁ
sthairyam ātma-vinigrahaḥ

Humility; pridelessness; nonviolence; tolerance; simplicity; approaching a bona fide spiritual master; cleanliness; steadiness; self-control; renunciation of the objects of sense gratification; absence of false ego... all these I declare to be knowledge, and besides this whatever there may be, is ignorance.

Translation by Swami A. C. Bhaktivedanta

This list is just the start of a longer list of qualities or personality traits or actions that are considered to be in knowledge. These are the symptoms of a sincere seeker of consciousness. There are more qualities in the verses that follow but I am focusing on humility today. When I see how meagre the upvotes are for my post, when I see how few people actually have any interest in self-realization, which to me is the ultimate goal of life, I am reminded by this verse not to be bothered by it.

I need to continue my pursuit of consciousness and awakening, regardless of the rest of society. You can take a horse to water... You can cast your pearls... According to the Gita I need to remember to give up false ego, thinking my information will be seen as important. Let go of intellectual pride. Tolerate the absence of reciprocation in votes, which are actually money. Renounce the desire for money. All of this is in my mind when I see how my own mind is affected by the poor response here on this particular social media platform.

Most people in society on the planet today are instinctively surviving. They seek to eat, sleep comfortably, mate or defend themselves. They do little else than survive. So to think that they are able to comprehend higher matters on the hierarchy of needs is presumptuous. I shouldn’t expect people to see the world as I do.

Out of millions of souls, only one may be interested in consciousness and the real goal of life. So to you dear solitary reader of this post, I give my respect and thanks for reading. You, of all others, appears to have a heightened sense of priorities in life.

And thanks to all the others for keeping me humble, and detached from and need for readership or monetized upvotes. I will simply continue writing because I have some thing valuable to share. Whether you can appreciate it or not is up to you and your destiny. I am accessing true liberation, everything else is secondary. If you want to also attain the goal of life, then I recommend reading the users manual called Bhagavad Gita. What more can I do? The information is here, and the rest is up to you.

In his purport or commentary to this verse, the author says:

“Humility means that one should not be anxious to have the satisfaction of being honored by others. The material conception of life makes us very eager to receive honor from others, but from the point of view of a man in perfect knowledge – who knows that he is not this body – anything, honor or dishonor, pertaining to this body is useless.”

flower dahlia pixa.jpg

May you be blessed with knowledge regarding self-realization and remember your true identity in this human form of life. There is nothing more valuable. Any little token upvotes to feed the body are insignificant compared to the wealth of wisdom and realization that I have gained from studying Bhagavad Gita. I already have all I need. And I share it with you for free because I am free.

(images pixabay)


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I absolutely love this post, and it's something that everyone needs to read when they arrive on this blockchain. So many people leave because of the desire for rewards that aren't forthcoming, some expectations that isn't fulfilled, and the ego at play of course. You express this so beautifully.

Compulsive communication is a thing, right? I find myself just talking away here and I dont really care if no one listens anymore or ever did - I just like words, and creating. If one person reads and appreciates my work that's a bonus - do you find that on ANY other blogging platform, especially as a newbie, or maybe with no glossy media behind you to wow and dazzle?

I will simply continue writing because I have some thing valuable to share.

And you DO - I have got value out of ALL your posts and would be devastated if you weren't here to share your gems of wisdoms and little reminders to stay true to the path as best I can.

Yes I came across this concept of humans being compulsive communicators in my youth, and I can relate. As the species with language and writing as an expression, we use it like birds sing their songs, I presume. We do it because we can and because we are creative and expressive by nature. It could be likened to art for art's sake, and can be therapeutic, bringing a sense of achievement, in my opinion.

Some are just more expressive than others. FB initiated this culture of communication for its own sake because we felt as if we were talking to the whole world, regardless of the fact that few may actually read the posts. It's as if we can address the entire society, by standing on our soap box, as they used to say and do. I quit FB last month, though seldom used it for the past two years, especially since focusing more on Hive.

It gives us a feeling of creative expression, and can be healthy as an outlet, regardless of actual readership. Personally you could call me a manic street preacher, for example.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Humility is a very admirable quality, particularly when it authentically comes from the heart and isn't contrived.

You're quite right: Whereas consciousness may be a very admirable aspiration, the vast majority of people in the world are in no position to sit around and ponder such things.

Good point there, they are struggling to survive or chase the pleasures of life. I may be an anomaly.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hi julescape,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow many thanks, I'm honored. I wondered where all the serious readers were?

why does the most thoughtful content often get the lowest votes?

must be about being humbled..

Hahaha lol good question. Let's ponder on that.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

@julescape I learned in my spiritual walk if you can change just one person's opinion and guide them towards self-realization you have achieved one or all your life journey on this planet, to bring back to the whole. I would say, one I am listening, I love and respect the Gita,
Hive New Year Poster.jpg
keep writing, and I will keep reading.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I'm so happy to meet a like-minded soul on Hive, in your good self. Thank you for the inspiring words Divine.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I write for myself, just as much as I write for others, reminding myself to reconnect and to be humble, to remember the lessons that life has taught me. Thank you for this beautiful post, how easily our ego can come into play, but awareness is what really helps us to grow. I will continue to enjoy your posts and sorry that I do not reply enough
p.s @trucklife-family here

Hey there Trucklife, your words are very encouraging, indeed our writing is like a journal for our own wellbeing, as well as any rewards or readership that may come from it. You are very busy curating here on Hive, it's like a lifestyle for us.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Self realization is definitely low on most peoples priority list, if it appears there at all. Maybe conscious seeking is only meant for the few and the rest will be slowly dragged along with the rising tide of energy... More likely this plane is in a constant state of polarity where the dark and light will always be in a constant ebb and flow around an equilibrium point that slowly makes its way in some sort of super cosmic orbit... or something, so the majority of the bell curve will be somewhere in the middle while some few seek the light and some follow the dark.

Hey good insight there bodhi, this subject is not going to draw many readers of upvotes.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

like you said, it's a labor of love ;) You never know, it could be the catalyst for someone to take the next step on their journey

Yes, many thanks for your reciprocation. I sometimes feel like I'm talking to myself here on Hive.

 3 years ago  

No, you aren't! It's just ebb and flow sometimes - the time you post, the content, the interactions with others, all kinds of things! You are PART of something - and wonderful spiritual content creators like you are a great asset and drawcard for other like minded people who might stumble across this platform.

I appreciate your positive feedback River, and I see what you mean now, that the timing of the post may affect the readership since we are on various time zones.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Congralulations on recieving your 200HP delegation for January! Hope it gives you a little boost!

Wow, what a gift to start the year. And it's my birthday at the end of this month too. Let me share the blessings with everyone. Sincere thanks NM.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Many thanks for the promotion, you make me feel posh.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Congratulations @julescape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Congratulations @julescape! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Congratulations @julescape! You received a personal badge!

Mental Health

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Congratulations @julescape! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Congratulations @julescape! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Project Activity Update
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation