The once and future mage – Mercury “cazimi” as it transits the sun

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Aztec huehuecoyotl pixa.jpg

Aztec huehuecoyotl

Mercury hidden from our gaze
you never cease to amaze
behind the sun you pass on by
cazimi now I hear you cry

Upon the throne of sol you sit
as time stands still or does it flit?
A moment in a lifetime spent
your power now is heaven sent

Achieve impossibilities
all inner blocks it’s you who frees
for just this moment you’re the king
bestowing gifts as I now sing

Your glories for the world to hear
for you are one I hold most dear
my psychopomp and inner guide
it’s you in whom I will abide

Mercurius the traders’ friend
you turn a coin until the end
as profits roll and bounty swells
I hear you chime your teller bells

Increasing riches is not all
the luck that you send to enthral
for gifts of speech and silver tongue
are yours to give – still more to come

And so I praise you here right now
as you conjunct the sun somehow
and send me profits in my trades
like miners finding gold in spades

buy low sell high I hear you cry
the traders’ friend the secret spy
the once and future scribe and mage
to usher in the golden age

you have so much to still reveal
for those who crack the seventh seal
bestow your mercy on me now
it is to you that I still bow

Mercurius my inner guide
today upon sol’s throne with pride
you sit and bask so luminous
while we await eternal bliss

As I write this the planet Mercury is – for a few hours only – currently passing behind the sun in the sky, from earth’s point of view. This is considered a superior conjunction of the sun by Mercury as it moves forward at rapid speed, passing on the outside of the sun from our point of view. I wrote about it in my previous post if you want to know more details. It is during these special windows of opportunity that I like to compose a poem as a meditation upon Mercury, who is considered symbolically to be representative of the guide, scribe, magician and confidante of the alchemist since the Middle Ages.

Astrologically Mercury symbolizes the power of the mind, and communication. It is considered the god of traders since ancient Roman times. In my previous post I mentioned how this transit of Mercury behind the sun for a few hours may trigger some effects on thought, communication and curiously also trading. And this played out in the significant price dump in all cryptocurrencies across the board this past 24 hours, since writing that post.

It appears as if a flash crash allowed for traders to scoop up some cheap crypto. I made some profitable purchases, and also scored some gains in a couple of sweet trades. I feel blessed by the opportunities presented by this Mercury conjunction with the sun. Particularly now as the “cazimi” moment occurs for a few hours. This is when Mercury is in the center of an exact conjunction with the sun. The window period is 17 minutes of arc (60 min of arc in 1 degree) either side of the precise conjunction moment, and lasts no more than a few hours.

As it occurs now, I have been able to make my profitable trades, as well as write this poem on Mercury, as is my ritual during every Mercury cazimi moment, which occurs in three sets of two pairs annually, when Mercury is passing the sun while moving forward (direct) or backward (retrograde) past the sun, from our point of view from earth.

“Cazimi” means “in the heart of the sun” or “on the throne of the sun” and was a word used by Medieval astrologers to signify the few hours when Mercury is at that exact point at the center of the sun conjunction. And it’s happening now. Therefore I compose my poem to the god of traders, as the ancient astrologers called the winged messenger.

This moment of “cazimi” is a window for magic to occur, whatever that means to you.

For example the price of Hive coin, one of my main holdings in my cryptocurrency portfolio, has just made a massive 25% pump in BTC value. As a result I was able to take profits on a nice trade, all within this window of opportunity now during the transit of Mercury. It could obviously be coincidence, but I like to see the correlation with the Mercury transit of the sun as fortuitous timing. I feel blessed by Mercury, which is very well situated in my horoscope since birth, so it plays a special role in my life.

So here is the poem to add to my anthology of 55 others. Let me know what you think and how you are experiencing this moment.

(image pixabay)


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Abundance, how good it feels to have it with us. I have no idea about this mercury, venus, tuesday, etc. theme. I don't have the knowledge to understand these phenomena and astrology in general, I just respect it like everything else in this life. But what I do know, is that no matter what you believe in, the important thing is to believe in yourself and you will achieve greater motivation. That gets rewards of any kind, in this case abundance in our economy. Nice article, very pleasant to read.

Namaste and many thanks Pavan for your positive comment and good advice. Indeed self-confidence is a key ingredient for anyone if they want to succeed at something in the material world. Often people are buying you and your confidence more than your actual product.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Great poem! mercury was definitely granting you a silver tongue =)

Haha thanks for the kind comment there Bodhi, indeed Mercury has blessed me in this lifetime with a skill in using words, which has been well channeled here on the blogosphere.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Haha yes Mercury is the traditional god of traders, and we just had some opportunities to buy the dip now as Mercury disappeared behind the sun for a while. I also made some profitable trades so we are doing well Luca.

With sun and Mercury both in the same sign in your chart, you should benefit from the focus that it brings. Cancer of course, can imply a capacity to lead, being a cardinal sign, though it also makes for a more sensitive style, feeling the need for protection like a crab. As a result there can be a tendency to collect, horde, store lots of stuff, especially old collectibles or classics from your personal past or general history, generally speaking.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hey my Moon is also in Capricorn, and Asc Aries, opposite to yours. And my sun is also in the 10th house although at the end, in Aquarius. Interesting correlations there.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Haha yes the combination leads to a personality that is not very sentimental or emotional at all, but very intellectual and business-like. I can come across as cool and detached. Overall it makes a great personality for spiritual life, renouncing family needs and solitary meditational life, along with friendship with a few like-minded souls at best. No interest in family or offspring, only focusing on my priorities of meditation and philosophy. I am very happy with it though it may scare normies a bit lol, appearing a bit hard.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment