VEGAN CHICK’N TERIYAKI

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Friends,

I hope you are having a wonderful weekend. We had some crazy weather changes and Friday was really cold and raining. Thank goodness, it is over now and sun is shining again.

1 Vegan Chick’n Teriyaki.jpg

However, enough about the weather and lets talk about this delicious new recipe! Who loves Japanese food? It always was one of my favorites especially teriyaki! Unfortunately, it has been very long time since I dine in Japanese restaurant, not only because I am vegan, but also because of COVID restrictions.

5 Vegan Chick’n Teriyaki.jpg

Last time I was out for walk with my daughter, we passed by a beautiful big Japanese restaurant. It was completely empty, as we could see through the big windows and I thought how nice it would be to go in.

3 Vegan Chick’n Teriyaki.jpg

Oh well, sadly that is not possible, right now, so I decided to make my own Vegan Chick’n Teriyaki, at home. And oh boy, it turned out absolutely amazing! Besides, much healthier than the one they serve in restaurants. Although, it is nice to sit at the table and be served once in while. That part I miss!

4 Vegan Chick’n Teriyaki.jpg

VEGAN CHICK’N TERIYAKI
Vegan Chick’n Teriyaki with Homemade Sauce has all the delicious flavors of Japanese cuisine, yet it is a healthier version of the restaurant kind. Also, easy to make without any special cooking skills.
Vegan – Gluten Free – Refined Sugar Free

Prep Time
10 mins
Active Time
20 mins
Total Time
30 mins

Yield: 2
Author: Lena Novak - Lena’s Vegan Living

Materials
FOR TERIYAKI SAUCE

  • 1/3 cup of low sodium Tamari
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp ginger grated
  • Garlic powder to taste
  • 1 tbsp arrow root powder
  • 1 tbsp water
    FOR CHICK’N TERIYAKI
  • 2 cups Soy Curls soaked for 10minutes and rinsed
  • 2 tbsp grape seed oil or oil of your choice
  • Garlic powder to taste
  • 1 tbsp sesame seed oil for flavor
  • ¼ cup Teriyaki sauce

Instructions

  • Blend arrow root powder with 1 tbsp water and set aside.
  • Mix all the rest of the ingredients in a small pot and bring into a boil.
  • Reduce the heat, add the arrow root liquid and whisk until the sauce thickens.
  • Take it off the heat and set aside.
  • CHICK’N TERIYAKI
  • Sauté the soy curls on the hot oil for few seconds, add garlic powder and stir few more seconds until golden brown.
  • Add half of the teriyaki sauce and mix well, then turn off the heat.
  • Add sesame seed oil and mix again.
  • Add the rest of teriyaki sauce and stir well.
  • Serve with your favorite veggies. Drizzle with more sauce and top with scallions and sesame seeds.

Notes
The Teriyaki sauce can be stored in a refrigerator up to two weeks as long it is sealed in a proper container. If it get's thicker, just add little bit of warm water and stir thoroughly.

Soy curls are available on AMAZON
It is an excellent GMO free product with no additives. It is the next best vegan product after tempeh and tofu.

3.gif

Thank You for visiting and have a joyful week!💚🌞💚

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

BgxWBRxjvNho1d5owNvLc9kLkZETgqoQLu9zcBbNBbDDEp9W4DbuZJue6bh9yDCCK8ULkMQAorB98BEDx5r5bW3zbQUstC7zihoo6b85t3L8XtHYk5AtBkNeqgNq7L7wovcYDzcprnqMscUjHbSfVQNz74VskP3JWQG9ViJ8qJVYnV4.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much..............I am trying to vote for your proposal, however I am not sure if it goes trough, since I am not getting to any page. I always get a confirmation key, but I have no idea what for!

Who loves Japanese food?

I have not tried any Japanese food so far, but generally I like anything edible. Sometimes I am happy, if I can bring anything to the table (nowadays my income is less than the minimum wage).

By the way, I tried only Hungarian, Greek, Russian and Chinese food so far. It would be interesting to try Japanese and other foods.

I give you some !PIZZA.

Greetings from Hungary.

Connect

Trade


@lenasveganliving! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Thank you so much 💚🙏💚

Well I am on disability pension, so we are practically in the same boat! Nevertheless, making your own food saves money! Thank you so much, I am happy you like it 💚🙏💚

Well I am on disability pension, so we are practically in the same boat!

We are literally on the same boat. I have multiple disabilities, and I receive a pension-like income. Besides this income nowadays I also work in a 4 hours part time job.

Ooh I might have to try this teriyaki sauce. Maple syrup is such a good idea. The only recipe I've tried so far to make homemade teriyaki sauce, which I got out of a cookbook, wasn't great. It was more like "soy sauce with some stuff in it," lol. Way too thin for teriyaki.
!LUV

Oh I see! Well, it is important to make it thicker with arrow root or even just with corn starch. That's what does the trick, but yes, the maple syrup is also a must! Thank you so much! I am glad you like it 💖😍💖

 3 years ago  

How delicious Japanese food is, it is one of my favorites. I see that I didn't know this dish, so I'm glad you gave this recipe to try it. I like the pictures, but I would recommend photos of the preparation and thus get much more votes and reward on Hive. Overall I loved your post, thank you very much my friend. Blessings!

Sep.png

Natural Medicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our community - we'd love to welcome you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you so much, I am happy you like it! I have made a video, but it is not ready yet. Although my previous videos did not get very much votes anyway. Oh well. I will post the video when is ready.

Looks yummy!

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@lenasveganliving! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dksart.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Thank you so much Dave! I am glad you like it 💚🙏💚

I used to love Chicken Teriyaki when I lived in Japan and was wondering if there was a good vegan version. This looks absolutely amazing and I am bookmarking it to try. Thank you for sharing another lovely recipe. 💚🤗


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I am so happy to hear that! You made my day! Thank you so much Sweetie 💚🙏💚

Congratulations @lenasveganliving! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Thank you so much 💚🙏💚

You're welcome @lenasveganliving 😊🌹👍 Thanks for your good vibes!

I don't know much of Japanese food but this one really makes me want to eat.

Awwwwwwwwww, you are so sweet! Thank you so much Darling, I am happy you like it 💚🙏💚

There is a real art to food photography and you seem to have mastered it! Excellent post and the food looks delicious!

Awwwwwwwwwww! Thank you so much Keith. Although I am still learning and truly appreciate your compliment 💚🙏💚

 3 years ago  

My family would particularly love this recipe. They are more recent #plantbased converts, so they still miss the texture and taste of certain meats at times. We have a few products here in Suriname similar to what you've used to make this recipe, so perhaps I'll make a similar dish soon.

Awesome recipe, cool GIF, stellar photography, and awesome formatting. This is an exemplary post.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Congratulations @lenasveganliving!
Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post -
Ovenless Pizza, Next-Level Brownies, Suji Khaman, Vegan Chick'n Teriyaki, Granola & Chocolate Chip Cookies, & More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

This is so right up my alley. I could eat three plates. You made green beans look absolutely amazing. I must try this dish soon.

This meal looks incredible! I'm a passionate vegan myself, and I'm always eager to find new recipes to try out. 😋💚

I love Japanese flavors, but just like you, I don't get to dine in Japanese restaurants very often since I am vegan and allergic to soy. I can do soy in little amounts like tamari, but tofu or other soy-based products are a nono for me :( Fortunately, we have a Japanese friend here who happens to be a vegan and an excellent cook! I wish I could make this though because it looks so good and as always beautifully presented! Maybe I'll use your recipe as a base and try to make a soy-less version of it!