Delectable Date and Choc duo Bakes

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

Cover.png

Well well well...a much happier Monday for me here in sunny SA for 2 reasons!

  • Our son who's been stuck in Russia for an extended period during lockdown, has been told of a planned repatriation flight next week!
    Screenshot_20200529232114_Facebook.jpg

PLUS

  • We've finally moved to Level 3 Lockdown AND can open up our BnB to business guests and get our lives back on track somewhat!
    Lilys Cottage front page logos S.jpg

Another valuable lesson that when things seem to be all doom and gloom, there's always a silver lining just around the corner!

Time for celebrations and for me that means something sweet so I will share two easy pan bakes with all of you.
Our hostess the Queen of Vegan Food @lenasveganliving has outdone herself this Monday by producing a masterpiece for Fruits & Veggies Monday.
A huge thank you to the wonderful artist @barbara-orenya who brightens up our Mondays as well with those gorgeous wonkies:)

I've had a real busy Monday with updating our online booking sites and contacting past business guests, so even though I had prepared myself for this day, it really was unexpected as we were initially told this would only happen once we went down to level 2 Lockdown; so hold thumbs for me and all my fellow guesthouse owners that it will be back to business soon as people start moving around again and go about their business; things will never be the same again, but hey, we'll start getting used to the new normal not so. What a happy day!
FAVM divider.png

Back to our pan bakes - nothing healthy about them but hey, we're celebrating so here goes...

GRANNY'S DATE SQUARES (Dates = @plantstoplanks)

20200530_142159.jpg

RECIPE

Melt together:

  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 250 gram Vegan Butter
  • 2 tsp Vanilla
    Add:
  • 2 cups chopped Dates
  • 2 cups Self-raising Stone ground Flour
  • 6 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • Zest of 1 Orange

Press into 32 x 23cm pan with fingertips, bake at 180°C till light golden brown.
Cut into squares while still hot, remove from pan when cold.

20200530_123444.jpg

20200530_142205.jpg
Chef line break.png
Our second pan bake is...

CHOC COCONUT SQUARES

20200524_170234.jpg

RECIPE

Beat together:

  • 250 gram Vegan Butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
    Add and mix:
  • 2 cups Self Raising Stone ground flour
  • 3 Tbsp Cocoa
  • 2 cups Coconut Flakes
    20200524_153105.jpg

Press into 32 x 23cm pan with fingertips & bake at 180°C for 15-20 min.
20200524_160640.jpg
Cool slightly, then top with the following:
Topping
Melt 50 gram Vegan butter
Add & beat till smooth: 1 1/2 cups Icing Sugar + 2 Tbsp Almond Milk + 1 tsp vanilla + 2 Tbsp Cocoa
Cut into squares while warm and remove when cool.
20200524_163557.jpg

20200524_170459.jpg

20200524_170323.jpg
Different hues when photo is taken outside in the hot sun!

These oven pan bakes are real life savers when you need to make something quick as a treat for the family.

BON APPETIT MY FRIENDS!

Enjoy your Monday and the rest of the week!

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Oh, Lizelle, that is good news about your son coming home! Yay!

I also had a busy day yesterday. Although leisure tourism is still not allowed, I had an enquiry for a 3 month stay. Possibly 6. And also, for the first time in 9 weeks, actually got into the car with The Husband!

I will also be updating and sorting. I am looking at offering an "all-in" service for our SC cottages: fully stocked for every meal, per meal,including beer and wine. Self check-in. It's going to take some organising,and it will cost, but it can be done.

That date bake looks divine. I am assuming dairy butter would work?

I started replying this morning and was interrupted so my whole message has disappeared!
Thank you so much for your nice words Fiona, we are really happy that it's finally happening; sounds very promising as he's already had to fill in the repatriation forms; just waiting on payment details, then we'll know for sure it's confirmed!
Such good news that we can operate and I really hope you get that booking! I just love the longer bookings as it makes things so much easier not so! And very clever ideas you have for your guesthouse, we're all going to have to start thinking outside the box from now on!
I just read now on a My Broadband newsletter that our Lockdown regulations have been declared invalid and unconstitutional by the Gauteng High Court - thanks to the Liberty Fighters Network! Saw it HERE
Will be interesting to see what happens now!

Interesting times ahead!

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Natural Medicine.

These look delectable! Will you be sharing? ;D I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

My sincere apologies for only now responding, this has been an eventful week indeed, but in a good way;) Thank you so much for the curation and the feature, much appreciated!

Oh my goodness Lizelle! I wish we could share our goodies, because yours are absolutely dreamy!!! I am also happy for all the good things that are happening! Yeah!!! 🌸💖🌸
best vegan dessert.png

Things are looking much brighter this week for sure, and thank you for the encouragement each week Lena ❣
That little wonkie award is just too gorgeous 🤩
A lovely week for you as well!

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @porters) - join our community here.
Those look sooo delicious! You sure know how to get the cravings happening! So glad your son will be coming home and you are able to open your B&B!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Awe thank you so much for the curation @porters and @naturalmedicine, this has been a much brighter Monday indeed;)
Hope you're keeping well!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @sajannair on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much for the curation and wonderful support, really appreciate it!

Promoting Hive on Twitter

Oh I could go for those both right now. I have wanted sweets all day, and I usually never want them.
Congratulations on your son returning. I can just imagine the excitement. Also congratulations on getting the BnB going. I wish you lots of business. I's a step in the right direction.

Awe thank you Carolyn, how did I miss your comment! Our son's flight was booked and finalized today, all the repatriation documents sorted so everything's on track:):)
And our bookings are starting again, a huge sigh of relief!!

Both those bakes looks delicious, my grandmother used to make a type of date cookie, I wonder what happened to the recipe??
All of the best with the guest house!!

Thank you so much @rynow, we're starting to get bookings again so should be back on track soon🙏🏻

nothing better after lunch have a dessert like the ones presented in this post they look delicious and tasty, nothing else to think about chocolate with coconut that is phenomenal. I already have the recipe I am going to do it to see how I have left to enjoy them. Thank you for sharing these recipes. nice job. regards...

So true, a sweet after a meal is always great. Hope you try them, I'm a coconut & choc lover too! Thanks for popping in:)

Oh my!! I'll have to try these with my grandson. He will love the chocolate especially!😄 Such good news about your son coming home and the lockdown being lifted. You'll be busy soon enough! Certainly a day to celebrate 👏

Thank you my friend, it's been a real eventful week indeed! My son's return is finalized, flights booked, embassy docs sorted, he'll be in SA by Sat, then 2 weeks quarantine but all on track:)

 4 years ago  

I missed commenting last week, so just coming back by to say these look delicious! You know I'm all over them. ;) And yay for the impending arrival of your son!

Thank you Katie, I realized I'd missed replying to many of the comments here, it's been quite a week...in a good way though as you know;)