Languages of Love

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

20201004_141256~2.jpg

We are not mad. We are human. We want to love, and someone must forgive us for the paths we take to love, for the paths are many and dark, and we are ardent and cruel in our journey.

Quote from Leonard Cohen's Poems and Songs

Love is one emotion that has the ability to lift us to the highest and purest forms of ecstasy but in the blink of an eye drag us down to the deepest darkest pit.

There are many kinds of love and we all express love in our own unique way.

A woman may express her love by spoiling with special meals or treats, turning the house into a welcoming haven with extra little touches, and doing many unseen things to make life a little easier for her loved ones.
20201214_162921.jpg
The man on the other hand often is the romantic one; buying flowers and chocolates as well as wining and dining the woman in his life.

20201210_122711.jpg

Very First Looovvve Affair
Our very first love is when we come into this world and meet the woman who has been carrying us in her womb for nine long months.
As a young child we would express love for our parents by picking flowers for Mom, drawing a special painting or helping Mom or Dad with their chores; often getting in the way more than helping!
Fortunately at least one if not both parents will have loads of patience, and guide us and thank us for this help!
I was blessed with both my parents being super patient and encouraging even though I made a huge mess in the kitchen at times!

20210219_083822.jpg

Brotherly and Sisterly Looovvve
Then there's the brotherly and sisterly love that often end up in huge fights with sibling rivalry always lurking, but should anyone else do or say anything against our bro or sis, we would defend them to the very end!
That's when the phrase blood is thicker than water, comes to mind.

20191021_210437.jpg

Looovvve for Family and Friends
They say you can't choose your family, but you can choose your friends.
Nevertheless, we all have a special cousin, aunt or uncle who we confide in and love dearly.

Same when we meet kindred spirits and they become our best friends; these are the people who add spice to life and with whom you have loads and loads of fun and laughter.

Puppy Looovvve
How often do we not fall madly in love as a teen, floating on cloud nine; romantic holiday crushes followed by broken hearts.

Back in my day we'd send love letters, the guys would buy little gifts with their pocket money and ask a friend to deliver it, but nowadays it's all done electronically and with the help of online gifting stores.

IMG_20181202_175017.jpg

Looovvve for our Pets
Love at first sight, that it was the first time I saw Snowy, our little pavement special cross terrier who also was the bravest little dog in town.
Snowy was snow white of course, and he and his little brothers and sisters were having a bath, getting pampered to bits with a blow-dry and baby powder!

Snowy was a real ladies' man when he grew up, would always find a hole in the fence and disappear for a couple of days only to arrive back home torn to shreds.
So it would be off to the vet; obviously a gal who was on heat and he would not stand back no matter how big the opposition was!

We soon realised he had to be neutered as he almost didn't make it one last time, and so this ladies' man's gallivanting came to an end!

We were all heartbroken when Snowy eventually died of old age years later.

I'd have to dig deep to find a pic of our Snowy, but this little cutie was having fun with the water bowl one hot summer's day when visiting our local SPCA's tea gardens and possibly could also be called Snowy;)
20200225_114152COLLAGE.jpg

Grandparents' Looovvve
Grannies and Grandpa's are allowed to spoil the kids, give them anything their hearts desire and allow them liberties their parents never dare to take, even in their old age!

d26f5e90cc11c1f4969baab2ebc67f1a.jpg
Source

The Looovvve of your Life
Then comes the time that you meet that one special person with whom you want to spend the rest of your life.
Many people have to wait a long time to find their soulmate while others are blessed to cross paths early in life.
From here on life is good and even though you will have your ups and downs, things will remain good as long as you give each other space and allow your partner to become the very best version of themselves.

That is true love I would say!
IMG_20190503_121859.jpg

Ending off with the song Take this Waltz by the songwriter, poet and musician, the late great Leonard Cohen.

This has been my contribution towards the @ naturalmedicine's Natural Medicine Looovvve Challenge
Heart break.jpg

Liz Signature Jan 21.gif
Banner created by @zord189

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved
Heart page break.png

Do you know this Badge?
Papilloncharity.png

It says "Thank you for partnering with the Papillon Foundation by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway."

Do you want this Badge?
If you like this badge and if you want to help too, you can learn more about @combination and the badge in their blog post:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Why not join Hive RIGHT HERE and become part of this amazing community!


Banner created by @derangedvisions


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

You are being smmooooth adding a bit of Cohen in this post, aren't you ?

Pet lovvveee is so beautiful - we miss them all their lives, the good ones. I even have a pet chicken that I miss from ten years ago lol!

Great post, thanks for your last minute entry, sliding it in there!

Thank you for extending the cut-off date for the Looovvve Challenge, I really enjoyed it; almost didn't make it as it's been a crazy week!
LOL I could not resist opening the door for Mr Cohen who knew how to seduce with words and music;)

 3 years ago  

He sure did. I remember whenhe died, coincidentally I had the day off and the local Melbourne radio played Cohen all day and I just listened in the sunshine of the front deck!

That sounds heavenly, no pun intended but...both hubby and I love his music, sit mesmerized each time we watch his Live in London concert!

Love, it has so many facets, each shines in a slightly different way. I'm finding that I'm learning much more about the nuances of it as I grow older and am experiencing more losses. Love is something that you must have the courage to succumb to, you have to be open and vulnerable to experience the best of it. Your post is a wonderful reminder to us all to look past the doom and gloom of the moment.

You've expressed that beautifully Eric, a born writer who has a way with words!
I think we all need to heed your advice about doing regular 'media detox's' as one could get swallowed up whole and start drowning in all the doom and gloom.
Spring will be back soon on your side of the world, whereas we're looking forward to autumn as our summers are so relentless!
Take care my friend and keep warm.
My son has been encouraging us to keep fit by exercising in front of the television if it's too hot to walk but we keep on putting it off! Keeping fit and active has been proven to help people fight the horrid Covid! He was looking great when they visited in Dec!
I'd love to see you write about Looovvve in this challenge, how about it? Closes tomorrow;)

Thank you! I can't even stand to watch the news anymore. Aside from the typical doom and gloom we have the incessant arguing about everything here in the U.S.

We've been seeing glimpses of spring the last week but we woke up this morning to a snowstorm. Spring to winter in the course of 12 hours! That's pretty typical for this time of year in the Upper Midwest though.

That's great advice from your son! I found an amazing (and simple) qigong routine that got me through the worst of winter.

Here's a link -

It's definitely not cardio but it made such a difference when we couldn't get out into the subzero weather. As much as I'd like to join the competition I'm a little stretched today. I'm working on a poem and the new novel. It's really coming along. I may release Asylum first here in short story form.

Have a wonderful rest of your weekend Lizelle! Take care and stay cool!

Thank you for sharing that, I will certainly try that routine as I'm super unfit and really need to start off slowly!.
The temperature is starting to drop a wee bit, so it's really great, especially at night!
I'm glad to hear your novel is coming along nicely!
I was soooo annoyed, wanted to write a review on Mindful Moments on Amazon but they say only those who've spent at least $50 in the past 12 months are eligible to write reviews; just ain't right to me! I do all my online shopping at local online stores, will have to write a little post here and share on FB? Not sure how to do this now!

AMazon reason.JPG

Mindful moment eligibility.JPG

You're welcome! I always feel 10x better if I start my day with qigong. It helps me keep a positive attitude and I'm not sure why.

I'm so sorry that Amazon is restricting you in that way! You're the second person who's told me that. That explains why I'm not getting as many reviews with this book as I was with previous ones. It's been quite a bit more difficult to spark sales of MM because those readers who aren't familiar with an author directly will buy books solely based on reviews. That would be very kind of you to write a post and share on FB, I'd appreciate it!

Mother Nature gave us two days of warmer weather then slapped us in the face today. Lol. It'll slowly be creepy up into the 50's over this next week though. We can't wait! I've gotten two rides in on the new ebike though and am absolutely loving it. Hope your Monday was good! Take care my friend.

Love does indeed take on many forms, each of which has it's own brilliance and beauty. One of which, I have learnt along the way is probably the most important... that being self-love. So few of us (and I include myself in that statement) have ever really let go of all our self doubts, criticism and insecurities so that we can simply stare at our perfection in our imperfection. Suppose it is a "life long learning" really... but I know now, a lot more than I did then... that it is an essential part of the whole and has massive impact on how we embrace and treat all of it's various forms.

Lovely post Lizelle!

Hope you are having a brilliant weekend so far!


ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

That is so very true @jaynie, and that's the one very important love I forgot all about! Just goes to show how we tend to neglect that love not so;)
Thank you for the awesome comments, much appreciated!
We're having a glorious weekend here with an ever so slight shift in the season; I've had enough humidity to last me a lifetime so it's most welcome!
Have a fab weekend in the beautiful Cape:)

Pleasure hon.

Blowing bloody gales here in Fisherhaven today... I think I will stay indoors lol.

Have a lovely one!

Our very first love is when we come into this world and meet the woman who has been carrying us in her womb for nine long months.

sometimes I do wonder if we give enough love to our first love as she deserves, many kids (and I put my hand up) don't appreciate it in the first few or even decade of life....

Sadly that is true especially when we get to our teens, but fortunately that changes as we mature.
I'm blessed to have my Mom living with us and being able to give back after all the sacrifices she made for us, she'll be 90 in September:)
Thank you for visiting @livinguktaiwan, hope you're keeping well!

Love your love story @lizelle , you summed it up in a nutshell. love is a strange thing. thank you for shearing.

It certainly is, but the saying love conquers all, is so true not so:)

I agree @lizelle , so true , love does conquer all.

Can never get enough love 😊 💗

 3 years ago  

You are being smmooooth adding a bit of Cohen in this post, aren't you ?

Pet lovvveee is so beautiful - we miss them all their lives, the good ones. I even have a pet chicken that I miss from ten years ago lol!

Great post, thanks for your last minute entry, sliding it in there!

To live is to love, so many different ways of loving which you covered, many giving great meaning and purpose to the depth of the word @lizelle.

Have a wonderful weekend, cooler weather, loving that too!

There are so many facets to love not so, I only covered a handful really!
I'm loving this slightly cooler weather as well.
Have a great weekend Joan:)

Beautiful thoughts on love, I like the idea of very first love affair.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I'm so glad you enjoyed it my friend! Hope you're keeping well;)

I'm happy and well, I hope you're keeping well too, my friend! 💚