The Organic Shop : Snacks Edition

in Natural Medicine2 years ago

Who doesn’t love snacking?

As much as we love snacking, have you ever considered picking a healthier snack?

I started considering only having healthier snacks when I realized how unhealthy my choices are. I came to know this when I tracked down my food using MyFitnessPal. There was too much sugar and too much sodium in my snacks.Then, after my first visit to an organic store in my city, I found many healthier snack options such as pistachio, walnuts, goji berry, and gluten free biscuits. The first time is always exciting and you can read more about my first experience there in this post I Visited an Organic And Eco-Friendly Shop For The First Time . And now, I am going to take you to take a peek into some of my snack choices that I come to really enjoy and slightly healthier than what I used to have.

IMG_20211006_111028.jpg

Since my last visit, the store has had a new layout. It is now better and more organized than 28 days ago. It was such a breeze when I entered the store as I have easier access to shop in this place. The organic ingredients which were put in the back are now located near the entrance. It was so refreshing to see all the jars with different spices in it. and I know, if you love the spice aesthetic, this store has it all.

IMG_20211006_111807_1.jpg

image.png

IMG_20211006_111954_1.jpg

Another new addition to this store is the vegetable and fruit section. Some fruits and vegetables here are imported which makes it a bit pricier than locals. There are berries that are also difficult to find in the local shops such as blackberries, raspberries, and cranberries. But obviously, these things come at a price. When I asked for a cup of strawberries, it cost me 2.5$ for a cup compared to what I usually get which is around 1$ or more for a pack of it. Even the coconut water was also way expensive in this place. Though as you see below, the fruit looks fresh and luscious.

IMG_20211006_110416.jpg

In this refrigerator, there are also some healthy salad sections. These salads below come without the dressing. From all these options, the only salad that caught my attention was the one with mushroom and shirataki noodles. The amazing salad looks good too but I don’t like the tomato, so I had to skip that one.

IMG_20211006_110714.jpg

image.png

Next to the counter of the cashier, there is a selection of small munchies. In the counter, it is mostly dominated with the go-to grab snacks which often have almond as the ingredients. But among many of these snacks, the one that caught my attention was the fig bar with different flavors. I ended up choosing peach apricot. Other than that, I also got bruschetta chips, a kombucha, and nori seaweed. Now, I will take you to explore the snacks of my choice and why I recommended them if you can find it.

image.png

Nature’s Bakery Fig Bar (Peach Apricot)

IMG_20211006_114531.jpg

According to the package, it’s vegan, kosher, nut free and dairy free. Instead of using palm oil, this snack uses canola oil and also whole wheat flour. Obviously, this snack is still sugar packed but it is using sugar cane instead of sugar. If you love sugar rush, this can be an option for you. I have tried this snack and it was so good. Though it was around 1.9$/snack which isn’t really cheap at all. But it’s really worth the price.

Van landa kettle cooked gourmet chips.

IMG_20211006_114620.jpg

This one is a locally made kettle cooked chips. There are several flavors and my favorite now is the Pink Himalayan Salt Potato Chips. The bag is made from recycled paper and also the bag of chips is made from leftover foil. This kettle cooked chips is also low in sodium and tasted better than any other chips I have tried. As in the packaging, they mentioned that they cooked it in smaller batches and in their words “ We treat it like we cooked for our own family”. I mean hands down, this is one of the healthy options if you really love munching chips. I don’t know if they are exporting it, I hope they do because this chip is really good.

Maretti Bruschette Chips

IMG_20211006_114718.jpg

Another new snack discovery that I find really addicting. In the packaging, it said that they don’t use artificial colors, flavours and even preservatives. I finished a bag of Bruschette chips with sweet basil pesto in just a few minutes. Each bite from it was so good that it made me want to have another bag. There are some other flavors but I would really recommend the sweet basil pesto one. If you like savory and want to shift to a healthier snack, this can be your option.

Booch pop kombucha.

IMG_20211006_115113.jpg

This one is not a snack, rather a drink if you like to try a healthy drink. It has live probiotic, organic kombucha, low in calories, and uses cane sugar instead of sugar. It is fizzy and almost tastes like a radler beer even though it’s not a beer. As they said “ Fizzy never felt so good” and yes, it never felt so good because even when I don't have a high tolerance to fizzy drinks, it was alright to me. I started getting into kombucha a few months ago, and I did not regret one bit trying this booch pop kombucha, the rose tea variant. If you can find it, try it ! you won’t regret it.

So, that’s all the snacks that if you can find it, I really, strongly suggest you to try it. I still love visiting this organic shop as it was a fun visit and I also got to see outside. Not only that, now I am exposed to more healthier snacks than the regular chips store that I normally get. Oh yeah, let me know in the comment section if you have your own healthier snacks preferences or if you have tried all the snacks I mentioned above!

image.png

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Enhorabuena, muy buen y completo artículo ;) Yo he optado por hacerme directamente el pan con harina integral de espelta y semillas variadas, y creo que ya no cambio, porque me encanta. Ojalá hubiese más tiendas como esta en la zona donde resido. Un saludo desde España ;)

Lo siento, solo puedo responder tu respuesta hoy. Yo estuve muy ocupado. Es bueno que hagas el pan con ingredientes de trigo integral. ¡Espero que también encuentres más tiendas así en españa!

Thanks for sharing!

ok.thnks.

Excelente...como me gustaría tener una tienda de estas donde vivo. Yo hago mis propias recetas vegetarianas. Que buen post gracias por compartir.

¡Es bueno saber eso! No cocino a menudo, pero me gusta comprar comida en esta tienda orgánica.

Excelente post...me encantan las meriendas naturistas. 👍🏼

Great post! I have a start-up focus on organic food and sustainable living, and your article makes me feel so identified and happy! Thank you for sharing with us! 😄

Oh that's really great to hear! do you also have physical store of just an online shop?

Just online shop by the moment. But we want to create a physical store with many kinds of foods and many digital options to process the buying. It is a very interest project!