Day 14 - I Lost It Today

in Natural Medicine10 months ago (edited)

Email Header.png

This morning started off not so hot. I was on a roll getting the dogs fed and tea made. I emptied the dishwasher. Then I sat out on the front step with Jocelyn to see the sunrise but I also got a front seat to our puppy, Maghra, ripping up two of the plants I had just put into grow bags in the front yard!!!!

I was pissed. And the feeling stuck with me for an hour or so. It began to abate on our walk and finally went away with some morning inspiration.

Gratitude and Meditation to the Rescue

IMG_8272.jpg

Grateful for:

  • Setbacks
  • Top Soil
  • Sidewalks

IMG_8271.jpg

The purpose of life is the expansion of happiness.

My Constant Reminder to Thrive

Jocelyn punched this bracelet for me a while back. It reminds me not just to exist or to survive, but to live and thrive. In my moment of frustration and anger, I wasn’t thriving.

IMG_8270.jpg

Most Things are Ongoing, Treat Them as Such

I have a very bad habit of breaking things down into phases. You might say, that’s a great way to break up complicated or big tasks. You are correct but that’s not exactly how I break them down in my head. When I complete a phase of something (like getting a certain number of plants in the ground), I only consider it complete if every last thing is taken care of and it stays that way. Why is this such a bad thing? Well a garden is never done. It’s never complete. Unless you rip the whole thing out and it ceases to exist. While it’s a garden, there are phases of work but it’s ongoing. In the moment where I lost it, I could’ve been focused on the 95% of the rest of the garden that remained untouched and probably will stay that way because it’s protected by fencing and other barriers. But I didn’t. I chose to let the 5% of the job that the puppy had played with ruin my sense of accomplishment from all the rest of the work that I did.

Life, like gardens, is ongoing. The reason why I do a gratitude journal in the morning is so I don’t forget the 95% or 99% of my life that is going fantastically. And also so I don’t let the 5% or 1% of it that is not meeting my expectations (which is another pitfall) get me in a bad mood or steal my sense of happiness.

Thai Soup

To me, there are few foods better than a well made, spicy thai soup. This one is from our local Thai/Malaysian restaurant and it is nothing short of fantastic. It’s a staple in my diet whether I’m cleansing or not.

IMG_8274.jpg

Plus I got to share it with an amazing, beautiful person…my wife :).

Tomorrow is DAY 15!!!!!! That means the halfway point as well as a weigh in. I’m not doing this for weight loss but I can’t help but be a little curious.

How to Follow:

Follow here on HIVE or sub on substack to get the daily post in your email.
buddhaballistics.substack.com

Follow on twitter for more real-time updates and specifics throughout the journey

FAFOBuddha on Twitter

How Can You Help?

Comment and include yourself in the journey. Feedback, encouragement and recommendations are always appreciated.

And Please Share!