Day 16 - Work Can be Therapeutic

in Natural Medicine11 months ago

Email Header.png

I spent a great deal of time with my maternal grandparents when I was little. I slept over their house on Friday night pretty regularly. My grandfather and grandmother kept me busy those days with work on their property as well as all of the fun grandparent type stuff. I came to appreciate the benefits of a day of work on your home. It felt productive and like I was contributing to a place on this earth that was a refuge for me. The last few weeks I’ve felt that about my home.

No Walking Today
Jocelyn and I have been walking about 4 miles every morning for the past week. It’s been incredible to chat and walk with the dogs. However, our bodies need time to rest and recuperate from time to time. Yesterday morning was that time. Meditation and journaling are a stalwart of our routine whether we are resting or not though.

IMG_8286.jpg

Day 16 Gratitude

  • Overcast days
  • Breezes through leaves
  • Tea Pots

IMG_8287.jpg

I Still Worked

But just a bit. There are always things to be done around your home if you look. Yesterday I began the process of removing a weed tree that had grown up around one of our biggest trees over about 30 years. It’s essentially a tree unto itself. Today I finished the job. It has been a bit of a nuisance for a loooooong time. We also feared it was killing the main tree. Well it is cut down now. And there was a bit of a catharsis to it. There usually is when you remove or heal something that has been nagging your for some time

IMG_1576.jpg

IMG_1572.jpg

My son also helped me and we now have an arrangement for an hourly rate for him to work with me on the property. This is not too unlike an arrangement I made with my grandfather and how I learned home repair by working with him as a handyman over summers and holidays.

The Next Project

IMG_8288.jpg

This is probably the first of a couple loads of mulch that needs to be spread around the property. A number of the planted beds have been overgrown by weeds and need to be cleared and covered to prevent them from coming back. It’s going to be a few days of physical work but I know it’s going to make our home look and feel even more beautiful.

TBD

Food & Self-care

Rejuvenation days require some good food and some good self-care. Today I tried Japanese sweet potato for the first time and it was fantastic. Cross a regular sweet potato with a white potato and that’s what you get. It was slightly sweet but with a more potato-y texture. Absolutely incredible.

IMG_8291.jpg

Plus Jocelyn made a chickpea burger that I think will become one of our staple veggie burgers around the house for the foreseeable future.

There have been multiple studies that show the positive benefits of sweating such as in sauna’s, sweat lodges, or even steam baths. Well our tub upstairs gives us a perfect opportunity to do a bit of that. Jocelyn and I took a HOT bath and sweat a lot (make sure to hydrate while you’re doing this). I always come away from these with a feeling of being rung out. But in a good way. I may even try to build an outdoor sauna on the property in the late summer so we can have it for the winter!

Plandemic 3: The Great Awakening
We watched the world premiere last night and it was an amazingly put together film. It will be available for free starting in a day or two. I may write a separate review article once the link is available to share. Like all documentaries there is the dialogue the film maker wants to put out there. However, it is a crucial piece of rounding out the information you’re taking in especially if you haven’t heard something like this view point in your daily information flow.

Day 16 in the books. On to DAY 17!!!

How to Follow:

Follow here on HIVE or sub on substack to get the daily post in your email. buddhaballistics.substack.com

Follow on twitter for more real-time updates and specifics throughout the journey

FAFOBuddha on Twitter

How Can You Help?

Comment and include yourself in the journey. Feedback, encouragement and recommendations are always appreciated.

And Please Share!

Sort:  

yea i think i should write a grateful book daily like you do
have last already written a few key points for which I am grateful... but words sometimes seem to me much too much like concepts.
regards :)

Gratitude in your day can take many forms. It can be words or it can be actions.

I like your spiritual and holistic lifestyle.
You have some great habits too.
Interestingly, you've added this to natural medicine, because it is, indeed.
An outdoor sauna sounds amazing, and that's something I'd like to have someday.
Your post brightened my morning:)
Simple things.jpg

Congratulations @matt-archy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2023 Winners List