Day 5 - Life Is All About Rhythm & Balance

in Natural Medicine11 months ago (edited)

Email Header.png

I was a drummer in high school and it was a common joke around my social circle that drummers didn’t have a problem getting a date because they had rhythm. Whatever, that meant, LOL. I’m pretty certain the drummers didn’t have an issue getting dates because the pickings were slim in high school band for the girls. Regardless, that story rings true today in a non-stupid, youth kind of way.

IMG_8175.jpg

The Morning Routine Continues

  • Let the dogs out & Feed them
  • Turmeric Tea
  • Walk with Jocelyn (stopped off for a green smoothie this time)
  • Cold Shower
  • Meditation
  • Gratitude and Free Journalling

IMG_8182.jpg

Daily gratitude:

  • Rice
  • Cool Mornings
  • Stubborn Children

I realized today that I hadn’t shared any proof that I actually cold shower. Jocelyn was more than happy (in a school girl kind of way) to take pictures of me in the shower. And for reference, the weird stance and facial expression is me being caught in the middle of what Wim Hof calls the Horse Breath. It helps you stay focused on your breath and not how cold the water is.

IMG_8180.jpg

Grits!

It has been forever since I’ve had eggs and grits. As someone who went to college in the south, that was a favorite breakfast for me and still is. Anyone who is unfamiliar with grits, it is basically cornmeal. Pictured are white corn grits. They are kind of like plain polenta. They need very little seasoning but there’s all kinds of ways to serve grits (cheesy, creamy, spicy, etc). But I’m cleansing so plain grits and two free-range, organic eggs over easy.

IMG_8186.jpg

Garage Monster Slaying (Phase 2)

Today was supposed to be the end of the garage work. Clearing out the second wall and then I could get to organizing and calling in the electrician. Unfortunately, that not how things played out. After pulling things away from the second wall, I found the sheetrock was falling apart and even had some moisture damage in a couple spots (nothing recent it seems). Do Phase 2 now included ripping out the sheetrock from that wall. And since I’m going to be doing sheetrock, tomorrow will see the first wall stripped of its’ sheetrock as well.

IMG_8187.jpg

IMG_8188.jpg

IMG_8189.jpg

All things considered, progress was made. One foot in front of the other.

IMG_8191.jpg

Rhythm & Balance

It’s hard to describe but today I felt really good. And it isn’t simply detoxing from nicotine, caffeine, alcohol, sugar, white flour, and processed food. I felt today like my life has a bounce to it or a flow that just made more sense. I didn’t feel like I had to force anything and I also didn’t feel like I was doing anything on auto-pilot. I thought about what I had to do or what I was going to eat and I did it. I know someone will say it’s just because I have a set schedule but even when I’ve had schedules in the past, I couldn’t stick to them or it felt like I was going through dental surgery to keep it up. This pace and these activities feel right.At night I feel exhausted but accomplished.

I am certain everyone has a rhythm and a balance all their own. And I’m also certain many many folks aren’t in that rhythm or balance. It was my desire to strip down what was influencing my life from the outside so I could lead a life that was more natural to who I am. I don’t know if I’ll feel exactly the same way in 25 more days. But I know now that whatever I had before wasn’t it. It wasn’t my rhythm or balance.

Day 5 Reward: DATE NIGHT!

Part of me was skeptical I could have fun on date night without a drink or some food that was very bad for me. But that wasn’t the case at all. Because I have an amazing partner to go out with. Outside of Jocelyn, it doesn’t matter what we do or eat/drink. We could sit on a bench and drink water and I’d be very happy with that.

We went to our favorite spot but stuck to a shaved brussel sprout salad and seltzer water with fruit in it. Then we hit up a Thai restaurant we’ve heard a lot about and got lemon grass soup and I ordered a tofu curry. Everything was delicious. 10 out of 10 as far as date nights go!

IMG_8193.jpg

IMG_8194.jpg

IMG_8195.jpg

IMG_8196.jpg

ON TO DAY 6 AND CONTINUING THE RHYTHM & BALANCE!

How to Follow:

Follow Here on HIVE or sub on substack at buddhaballistics.substack.com to get the articles in your email.

Follow on twitter for more real-time updates and specifics throughout the journey

FAFOBuddha on Twitter

How Can You Help?

Comment and include yourself in the journey. Feedback, encouragement and recommendations are always appreciated.

And Please Share!

Share

Sort:  

Congratulations @matt-archy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP