A Truckload Of Squash !!!

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_20201022_103416.jpg

The Marchfeld Center - Lower Austria

Located a couple of kilometers from home, we go to this center for food shopping. It´s great to go here, seems like the pace isn´t so hectic unlike in the Malls. We have every shop that caters to the needs of the consumers...you know, resto, pharmacy, supermarkets, clothing, gas station and even a drive-in cannabis grow shop that sells plant clones and CBD oil. In Austria, recreational cannabis is still illegal but the grow and headshops are tolerated for as long as the plant won´t produce buds. Grow shops is a huge industry that brings taxes to the government.

IMG_20201015_091931.jpg

It´s Fall Season....

... and we´ve got to switch to Winter Time tonight, which means move the clock backward by 1 hour and we´ll be able to sleep longer. Fall has taken over and the squash and pumpkins are already being offered by the farmers these days. We went shopping for food and I saw this stand along the road, a truckload of various types of squash, and I had to stop-by and see what the farmer offered.

IMG_20201022_103344.jpg

Different Varieties....

I went to investigate what the peculiar types are and the farmer said that all are not just for Fall decoration but are also edible.

IMG_20201022_103331.jpg

It has been amazing how the farmer was able to have gathered so many varieties. I should think that this was a coop of many farmers around the vicinity since Lower Austria has huge farming lands to cultivate.

IMG_20201022_103400.jpg

IMG_20201022_103404.jpg

I looked for my fave Hokkaido squash and I got one to use for a vegan soup. I also got some garlic and went on to pay the farmer. Gee, he was expensive... I paid 5 Euros (5.93 USD) for both. If I would have bought these in the supermarket, I would have paid less.... But I understood, the farmers have their prices. So I paid him and asked whether I could take pictures and he said yes!

IMG_20201024_181616.jpg

I will be preparing the Hokkaido Squash for a vegan soup tomorrow and I am sure it will be delish as always. Watch out for my recipe, I hope you will try it too.

IMG_20201022_103410.jpg

IMG_20201022_103428.jpg

Halloween is fast approaching, got your pumpkin already for the event?

IMG_20201022_103432.jpg

That´s it for now, I will be posting the recipe tomorrow for the Squash Soup. Meanwhile, I hope all of you are keeping yourselves safe at this time of the pandemic.

IMG_20201022_103449.jpg

Take care and keep safe everyone!

GIF by Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

All images are property of the author @mers.
Sort:  

I respect traditions and other people, but I have never liked Halloween, history tells of not very pleasant events in this regard, but I really like cream pumpkins, they are very nutritious.

In Austria, the culture is different from the US... they did not have this event Halloween before, they were just commercialized by the shop owners, made events that would lead to fun for the kids and now the adults are joining in. In my home country the Philippines, we visit the graves of the departed, bring food for the dead as well. After wards, prepare meal for departed loved ones in front of the altar, offered prayers ... Afterwards, the family eats as if the souls of the dead were also present. Thanks for leaving a comment.

You have to look-out for my upcoming recipe, I am sure you will like it too, delish, promise!

Thank you, there are days when I feel too lonely, and this panel helps me, there are so many people here that I can learn from or just comment on, it is a somewhat different form of conversation, thank you again

You´re welcome, anytime.

Wow! so many pumpkins surprise me, here in Venezuela we only have one type of pumpkin, not as much variety as there.

I will be preparing the Hokkaido Squash for a vegan soup tomorrow and I am sure it will be delish as always. Watch out for my recipe, I hope you will try it too.

You should take pictures and present the recipe in a publication here, I'm sure it will be useful to us. I love the pictures you've taken.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @pavanjr.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

Did you know it's World Mental Health Month? Or that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!