Yoga for a Healthy Life - Legs up the Wall Pose

In a long time I have not put up anything on Yoga. I have just been lazy to click pictures, so it's kind of pushed off. We all know how Yoga is important for our physical body and it's benefits.
A regular practice of Yoga will allow the mind and body to relax and with that help reduce our stress and anxiety levels also. As it is said Yoga means Union, a union of body and mind.

Let me talk about this particular pose which is the Legs up the wall pose. It's a very simple one and it does not give much strain to the body. It has a lot of benefits. Specially after my surgery of bulging disc, this one posture has helped me lot to regain my lost muscle strength in the legs.

Being in this position for 20 minutes daily is advisable. Well there are a many benefits that you can look up to online for it, but the ones that I have clearly seen with me I will mention here.

image.png

The most important has been the muscle relaxation of the legs. I had a severe sciatica around 3 years ago and that had weakened my full left leg muscles to a great extent, and I would get regular cramps at night in sleep in my left leg. Over a period of time with this particular pose it has helped me a lot in strengthening the muscles and also the cramping has gone.

It helps relax my lower back. I had a surgery in my L5 and S1, and doctor had told me that there was bulging also in L4 and L5, which he did not want to touch and he asked me to manage it with exercise. Thankfully after that I have not had any problem and the lost strength of my lower back and legs both are back.

I do this daily for 20 minutes in the evening after my walk and then post that giving a gap of around half hour have my dinner. And I have noticed a good change in my digestion system as well. Even my stomach bulging stays in control.

This pose is also very good for people suffering from the problem of varicose veins. It's a pose that is good for the nervous system. For females who have issues in their menstrual cycle, this pose helps to regulate. The cramping problem eases with it.

But again, nothing happens overnight, so one needs to have patience to start seeing the results, but for sure it does give.

To start with, you need to lie down comfortable and push your hips towards the wall till the time your hips touch the wall. Everyone has different ways of taking the legs up, for me this is comfortable. I fold my legs and get it close touching the wall
image.png

image.png

And then slowly take them up. I find this easier, else it is uncomfortable for me to directly put up the legs.
image.png

And then stay here for 20 minutes.
image.png

If you are feeling very anxious or stressed out or have had a heavy workout which makes your legs feels very tired, try this pose out, I assure, you will feel better. The first 2 to 3 minutes you will feel the pull but gradually the leg will get comfortable. I always feel very relaxed after doing this.

Hope you find this useful.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

Perfect 👌
been looking for a new
Morning routine ☀️

It is very relaxing and helpful. Should try out.

I’m gonna this week 🤗

It’s been crazy month but I’m finally getting into it😃

I will definitely try this...I too have some backache, might prove beneficial.....afterall no harm inn trying it out for 10 min

They are right
It helps a lot
My mom had amazing success

It's a very good pose for your back pain, trust me. You should try.

Hi @nainaztengra, you have received an upvote from QuocHuy [witness]. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations.

Wow you are good at it, nice yoga pictures

Awesome, I'll have to try this as I've been having leg muscle cramps from walking uphill on lava rocks.

This definitely helps a lot with the cramping issue, I can bet on it.

Yoga and physical fitness is for everyone. So to reduce stress and maintain fitness that in turn lower your health risk. Good to see you doing yoga and spreading awareness. Good luck

Truth 🆙

Yes, it brings in a lot of benefits and everyone should do it on daily basis.

love this post, dear!
Yoga is perfect because it can be so simple but so useful for our health
I like you as our Yoga teacher;)

Hehehe...thank you. Ya, this one is very simple, you do not need to stretch yourself in any way and the benefits are very good too.
I would love to be :-) In the last 2 years first with my health and then with my hubby health I stopped taking the classes, but guess it's time now I start again

 3 years ago  

Viparita Karani is my go to pose when I am bleeding or just need to restore. Its one of the first poses i reemmber doing regularly. X Might need to go do it today!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Please start it again @riverflows, you know how it works, so do not need to say much

So many benefits from this simple pose! I have heard that keeping you legs a little bit up helps, now I have confirmation. A lot of the times people see intricate complicate Yoga positions and it can be intimidating. But starting it simple counts.
It's good that you had surgery as back pain is really something terrible to have. Have you tried swimming? It helped me a lot with pain

Yes I was taking hydro therapy for sometime, but then it was getting inconvenient for me logistically so could not rely much on it. Swimming was giving me good results for the back, somehow I can not do it on regular basis :-(
But this one helps me a lot.

Swimming is very good, I also started swimming because of some knee pains. It helped

One of my favorite pose. It brings good circulation to the entire body. Thanks for sharing more tips.

It does, I feel very relaxed after spending 15 to 20 mins in this position.

Good🔥

Thank you