Khmer and Venezuelan Pickles, Potato-Chive Bread, Energy Drinks, Beet Muffins, And More!!

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)
Authored by @justinparke

image.png

@JustinParke here again with a curation of Hive's finest #plantbased recipes. The #plantbased tag is starting to pick up steam, and we thank those of you choosing to add this to your #naturalmedicine posts.


     Variety is the key word this week, and I found a plethora of different tasty creations from various continents. From the sweet to the salty and spicy, I think we've got all tastes covered in this curation.

     @ladyfont is a new Hiver I have discovered through curating #plantbased and #vegan recipes for @naturalmedicine. Her aubergine pickle looks amazing, and contains to easy-to-follow instructions. @nainaztengra and @larka made me miss ingredients I used to have much easier access to, but I am saving their recipes for future use.

     Not to be forgotten is @bothanikha with some fresh-baked potato and chive bread, and my culinary intuition tells me this bread craves a nice hearty stew. @idea-make-rich's bottle gourd kofta curry would be perfect with @bothanikha's potato-chive bread.

     The winner of this week's beneficiary is @carolynstahl. She's now been too late for two contests, but her culinary creations are worthy of praise, and this week's pineapple-tofu penang curry with stir-fried greens have won 5% of this posts rewards. Congratulations!!

A side note - you may have noticed that we've moved from @lotusshares to @naturalmedicine, and Plant Based will be replacing Earth Healing. Earth healing topics will still be supported, of course, so keep using the tags #ecotrain and #naturalmedicine for any content that nourishes and supports our beautiful planet!

greenlotus.png

How to Be Curated by PLANT BASED


Use the tags #naturalmedicine #vegan or #plantbased
WE don't mind what community you post in - although we prefer you post in the Ecotrain or Natural Medicine communities!
Ensure your recipes are plant based - although we don't preach any diets, this curation would like to focus on plants rather than dairy or meat additions to recipes.
Use clear, well focussed photographs - and ORIGINAL content!



🍆 PICK THE PICKLE 🧅

800.jpg
Aubergine's Pickle preserved in apple vinegar
by: @ladyfont

     When I see any recipe involving aubergine, my mind immediately goes Indian, so I was a bit surprised to see a Venezuelan pickle from @ladyfont. There is plenty of flavor in this pickle, and I'm sure the cinnamon and cayenne pepper give it a little kick.

     It's not your standard pickle, as the ingredients have been fried first, but the oil, vinegar, and sugar content would likely allow you to keep this for several days before it expires. She mentioned this pickle is delicious with arepas, and I imagine that would be a pretty awesome little snack.

👩‍🍳 BETTER THAN HORCHATA 🥛

801.png
A very simple Healthy energy drink to try out
by: @nainaztengra

     Of the fancy things I miss from more extreme latitudes, walnuts and almonds definitely rank high on that list, and especially a horchata-esque drink made from such ingredients. It seems I always miss the the things I can't find no matter where I am. When in the tropics, I take fresh mangoes and other fruits for granted.

     That being said, the southern/northern latitudes have so many edible nuts and seeds. In the USA where I'm from, walnuts are very cheap. Next time I am in the USA, I am definitely creating this energy drink, as I'm sure it's delicious. Dates are always a healthier way to replace sugar in a recipe, and I like that extra touch.

🎧 BEETS BY DRE LARKA 🧁

802.jpg
Beet Muffins
by: @larka

     The versatile beet is one of my favorite underground edibles, perhaps second only to jicama. @larka's blog is becoming a familiar stop when I am looking for some new and interesting recipes for ingredients I commonly use.

     I don't think one can go wrong with these beautiful beet muffins, a simple but delicious recipe, but you will need an oven, something uncommon in certain parts of the world. But if you do have an oven and access to beets, I think you need to make these colorful muffins as soon as possible.

🍍 PINEAPPLE PLEASE 🙏

803.jpg
Sweet and sour tofu and pineapple Penang curry with Chinese greens
by: @carolynstahl

     Someone that never lets us down is @carolynstahl, and this time around she's off to Southeast Asia with her pineapple-y recipe for a Qurator challenge. Unfortunately she was too late to be eligible for that contest, but not too late to be curated by me.

     She mentioned she has more fun cooking at home than in the restaurant, and I totally agree with that. I've worked many restaurant jobs where cooking totally drained my passion to cook special things at home in my free time, but this problem doesn't seem to affect Carolyn at all, or she's just a trooper and not gonna let anything stop her from making awesome dishes at home.

🥖 NEVER SAY NO TO BREAD 🍞

804.jpg
Potato and chive bread 🥔🥔🌱🍞
by: @bothanikha

     While creating this curation I noticed a new post, and to my delight it was some fresh bread, something that definitely deserves to be included in this week's curation. Better yet, the chives are homegrown and this recipe is simple with easy-to-follow instructions.

     @bothanikha is another Hiver whom I am following more and more, as she always has cool #plantbased culinary creations. You can't go wrong with this bread. I bet it would be delicious with a hearty stew, much like an aloo paratha with a a nice veg curry. Do follow her blog, she not only makes awesome vegan food, but has a lot of awesome diy arts and crafts too.

🥕 CAMBODIAN TREATS 🥒

805.jpg
🥕 Khmer Pickled Daikon 🥒 Ital Recipe 🌱
by: @sreypov

     @Sreypov, resident Hive Cambodian chef, provided us with an awesome spread, one which I got to enjoy by the way. Cambodians love to eat many different kinds of fresh pickles with their meals, but this daikon pickle is one of the most common in the country.

     Be warned, daikon completely takes over the flavors of all things around it, so you really must apprecialove the flavor of this radish to mix it with other ingredients. As our daikon pickle chef explains, it is perhaps best to wait a few hours before consuming this pickle, but it can be eaten immediately if you're in a hurry.

🚀 THE GREAT BEYOND 🌌

808.jpg
Yummy & Healthy "Lauki Kofta Curry Recipe" : Bottle Gourd Kofta Curry
by: @idea-make-rich

     I can't take take credit for finding this one, but our trusty leader @riverflows found this delicious curry outside the #naturalmedicine community, and recommended it to me, and I think that was good judgement.

     I've made so many different kofta combinations that I can't even count anymore, but I can say I haven't yet used bottle gourd, and I think it's a great idea. In our house we tend to eat bottle gourd in mostly Southeast Asian recipes, but this kofta curry has inspired me to make some bottle gourd koftas in the near future.

We hope you get involved with posting lots of yummy #plantbased #vegan #naturalmedicine #ecotrain recipes! Both communities are now also supported by OCD, so good quality posts might also get a little bit of extra love. Stay healthy, stay safe, and stay happy!


BWdivider.png

Earn Instantly For Writing Good Natural Health Content

If you would like to earn rewards for sharing your natural health content on www.naturalmedicine.io, you can sign up for a free FREE account by emailing [email protected]. Read more about us on our Welcome Page. We support writers sharing about herbalism, TCM, yoga, meditation, vegan and other healthy diets, as well as earth centred practices such as foraging, permaculture and biodynamics.

Please consider delegating to help keep this collective going. For any questions, come ask in our friendly Discord here !

newhearttranssmall.fw.png

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

All the preparations shown in the posts are absolutely spectacular and delicious! Causes to eat them all. As I always say, the healings from the Natural Medicine community are precious and a pleasure to read. Congratulations to all those mentioned. A big hug.


¡Todas las preparaciones que muestran los posts son absolutamente espectaculares y deliciosas! Provoca comérselas todas. Como siempre digo, las curaciones de la comunidad Natural Medicine son preciosas y es un placer leerlas. Felicitaciones a todos los mencionados. Un gran abrazo.

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much @sirenahippie for the kind words. Yes, I am working hard to encourage the #plantbased tag in addition to #naturalmedicine for healthy vegan recipes. Blessings from Suriname. !ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 4 years ago  

Wow look at all those awesome recipes, I just made a post about fermented vegs and then see the aubergine one here, nice I have bookmarked this so that i can come back and look over them all. Awesome job bringing them altogether @justinparke xxx

 4 years ago  

I'm gonna have to browse your blog to find that your fermented veg post. I always love to see others' take on doing this, methods, etc. Lots of love from Paramaribo. !ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Many thanks @justinparke💕

 4 years ago  

My pleasure @Sreypov, your food and insect photography has gotten really good. !ENGAGE 5

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I am absolutely honored and thank you so much! the other recipes are incredible and I will have to try them.

 4 years ago  

The pleasure is all mine. We are of course very thankful for all the #plantbased culinary creations you share. !ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.