Lotus Garden Newsletter for Homesteaders. 24th February 2021

in Natural Medicine3 years ago
Authored by @minismallholding

As we near the end of February a new season approaches. As gardeners, how much more do you think your life is affected by the seasons than most? I've certainly been more aware of them since I started gardening in earnest. This week we have some fantastic gardening tips for you.

image.png

Things happening in the community.

Check out @pennsif's sustainability curation digest for more great posts on sustainability.

image.png



As usual, there is lots happening in the @naturalmedicine community. There are a few more days to get entries in for the love challenge, which ends on 28th of February. If you're unsure of what to write in a Natural Medicine blog post, the curators have given lots of ideas to get you started, because natural medicine is a broader topic than you might think.

BWdivider.png


Some highlights of the week

With the @ecotrain question of the week being to share your gardening tips, there has been a wonderful selection of posts doing just that! Two of them I just had to share, with this first one coming from @farm-mom which includes tips on soil and pest control.

image.png



These next gardening tips from @thebigsweed are all about compost and mulch, their importance in the garden and how to best prepare them.
image.png



Over the months we've been sharing the occasional progress posts from @paradoxtma's rocket stove build. This week is all about structural detail and shows us how to repair cracks in clay, why they occur and how to try and prevent them in the first place.
image.png



Usually I like to finish with a recipe, but there were so many great posts to choose from and this one from @denmarkguy is a great one about the importance of managing and preserving harvests.
image.png


Each week one of our featured authors will be selected to be a 5% beneficiary of The Lotus Garden newsletter. This week @paradoxtma will receive this award.


Thank you for stopping by. This week's newsletter was brought to you by @minismallholding.


BWdivider.png

Earn Instantly For Writing Natural Health Content

Earn LOTUS and HIVE rewards for sharing your natural health content on www.naturalmedicine.io. If you don't already have a HIVE account, you can sign up for FREE here. We support writers sharing about herbalism, TCM, yoga, meditation, vegan and other healthy diets, as well as earth centred practices such as foraging, permaculture and biodynamics - read more about us on our Welcome Page!


DelegateIICommunityIIDiscord

image.pngimage.png

Sort:  

Thank you for the mention.

I wonder how Homesteaders there are on Hive now...

Yep, I got some great tips from these posts. Shout out to y'all!

 3 years ago  

Some really high quality posts this week!

When is YOUR next post?

 3 years ago  

I haven't had time! It's been all go in the outernet, lately, so I've barely kept up with my commitments here.

Thanks to this great community, there is always something new I learn.
That's the beauty of sharing, no matter how long you have been doing something there is always more to learn.

Thanks, it's exciting being included in this week's newsletter.
I appreciate all of your support!

 3 years ago  

Congrats to all the featured content creators. I do love a good rocket stove. I have a factory made one back in the USA that I do my stir-frying on anytime I'm back for a short visit. If I ever have some land, I'd love to build an in-house rocket stove one day.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io