A Rebel Without A Headache

Happy Sunday, Beefriends, I hope you are having a wonderful weekend so far. I have been puttering around cleaning and watering houseplants and the like this morning. It's just above freezing outside, and though that feels positively balmy compared to where we were a week or two ago, it's still way too soon for Garden Thoughts in my neck of the woods. ;)

Last night, I spent way too much time on the computer, and combined with the fact that I'm almost certain I need a new glasses prescription, I developed a killer tension headache. So I went and made some of my tried-and-true remedy that rather breaks the rules of essential oils, but totally works on my tension headaches, lol.

EOs.jpg

I mix one part lavender essential oil to two parts rosemary, and rub it on my forehead and nose. And no, I didn't forget an ingredient: the reason it breaks the rules is because I use it neat, that is, I don't put it in a carrier oil.

Generally speaking, you are never supposed to use essential oils neat, because of how concentrated they are; you always want to put them in a carrier oil of some kind or another. But I learned this remedy before I learned that rule, or much of anything at all about aromatherapy, essential oils, or herbalism. I didn't get it from a book about the subject; as I recall, I got it from the Vitamin Cottage newsletter (a local health food store - actually currently they changed their name to Natural Grocers, but same store) way back in the late 90s. I just read it, said, cool, I'll try that - and it worked! And now when I tell it to people they're like, "What?! No carrier oil?!" I live dangerously, lol.

So, you know, this is not medical advice, I am not an expert, yadda, yadda. ;)

It smells lovely, by the way. 😊

Do you have any "break the rules" remedies that make people give you the side eye but they work?

bee good.jpg

Amazing art made for me that I got from a trade on Simbi! Simbi is a bartering website that I love. If you'd like to try it out, please use my referral link: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome
¡Arte increíble hecho para mí que obtuve de un intercambio en Simbi! Simbi es un sitio web de trueque que me encanta. Si desea probarlo, utilice mi enlace de referencia: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Breakin' the rules like...


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Congratulations @phoenixwren! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

Congratulations @phoenixwren! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1000 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Thank you @phoenixwren, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO / SWAP.COCO) on Steem-Engine or on Hive-Engine to reduce your CO2 footprint. You want to join? Buy some COCO / SWAP.COCO and transfer them to CO2Fund's account @co2fund.