You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [ENG-ESP] Spirituality - The importance of silence // Espiritualidad – La importancia del silencio

Very well said and I so agree. I feel SO much better in silence, and I never knew how much of a difference it could make until I lived alone. In my parents' house it is always noisy. My dad will be watching one TV and my mom will watch another, and my brother would be listening to music. Sometimes it was so overwhelming in such a small house I felt like I could cry because it was just noise beating me over the head, all the time. I started wearing earplugs just so I didn't go completely mad.
Then when I first lived by myself, at first the silence was so different, it was a little weird. I would play the tv or the radio just because I wasn't used to it. But eventually I stopped doing that, and I stopped using my tv altogether. Television is the thing my parents do to numb and distract themselves and not have to think, and it is NOT my thing, even though I was raised with a tv on almost all the time.
Now I almost never have noise-making things on at all. Sometimes I'll watch YouTube or a DVD on my computer but that's mostly it. The "noise" now in my apartment is usually, the heater or the fan or the refrigerator, and it feels so much nicer in my head.
On a side note, in college I took a whole class that was just about St. Ignatius' spiritual practice (it was a Jesuit college).

Español con Google Translate, porque mi Español es muy mal, jajaja:

Muy bien dicho y muy de acuerdo. Me siento mucho mejor en silencio, y nunca supe cuánta diferencia podría hacer hasta que viví solo. En la casa de mis padres es * siempre * ruidoso. Mi papá verá un televisor y mi mamá verá otro, y mi hermano estará escuchando música. A veces era tan abrumador en una casa tan pequeña que sentía que podía llorar porque era solo un ruido golpeándome en la cabeza, todo el tiempo. Empecé a usar tapones para los oídos para no volverme completamente loco.
Luego, cuando viví solo por primera vez, al principio el silencio era tan diferente, era un poco extraño. Ponía la televisión o la radio solo porque no estaba acostumbrado. Pero finalmente dejé de hacer eso y dejé de usar mi televisor por completo. La televisión es lo que hacen mis padres para adormecerse y distraerse y no tener que pensar, y NO es lo mío, a pesar de que me criaron con la televisión encendida casi todo el tiempo.
Ahora casi nunca tengo cosas que hacen ruido. A veces veo YouTube o un DVD en mi computadora, pero eso es todo. El "ruido" ahora en mi apartamento suele ser el calefactor, el ventilador o el frigorífico, y se siente mucho mejor en mi cabeza.
En una nota al margen, en la universidad tomé una clase completa que trataba solo sobre la práctica espiritual de San Ignacio (era un colegio jesuita).

Sort:  

The silence is that place were coming the personal space (i don't know if call personal space in ingles or exist one word for it). The other people don't know respect our personal space for don't understand that need time for ourself. Normally, The other thinking that the personal space is egoism. And that we does emigrate that a other place doesn't be disturb.

I hope have written everything well and that my message is understood.

Salve

Algunas personas tienen miedo de estar solas, porque tienen miedo de enfrentarse a sus demonios internos, creo. Así que luchan por comprender a aquellos que valoran ir hacia adentro.

Some people are afraid of being by themselves, because they are afraid of facing their inner demons, I think. So they struggle to understand those who value going within.

 3 years ago  

Are you sure you use google translator? because you have written perfect Spanish!

Really? Ha ha ha, the only part I wrote off the cuff myself was the part explaining that my Spanish is bad, and the rest is totally Google Translate. It's getting better, that's a good sign. 😂

 3 years ago  

Yeah handsome, you are improving and it is very noticeable. :D