11 Years Ago Today I Trained My First Client

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)


I wonder how many times I've said "time flies" in writing blog posts? Probably quite often as time really does seem to pass in the blink of an eye. I was reminded of that today when a memory popped up that on this day 11 years ago I trained my very first personal training client. How the heck has it already been that long?


Look at that fresh face and auburn hair. This photo was taken some time in that first month or so when I began my new career as a personal trainer. Earlier that year, after almost a decade in the retail industry, I had come to the decision that I was extremely unhappy doing what I was doing at the time. During college in the early 2000's I had started working at the mall to make some money and spend time with my best friend (well, it was better than getting a job with a boyfriend). I got a job at the same clothing store as my pal, and within a year got promoted into management. That started the succession of a number of retail managing gigs. Even after getting my college degree it was tough to move on to a new career path as it was what I knew and I could make decent money to support myself. Plus at the time I couldn't have told you what else I would have wanted to do anyway.

Not long before I made the decision to finally leave retail behind, I had started working out again at home after a few years of inactivity. Like many kids I had played sports in middle and high school, but once college hit and I wasn't involved in any organized sports I let the habit go. Seeing changes in my mind and my body as I made movement a habit again was enough to push me into really looking at what else I could do with my life. Enter a Craigslist add for a local personal training program. I went to an open house to check it out and was signed up to start classes within the month!

I opted for the six month program, consisting of classes a few nights a week and all day Saturdays. That way I could continue working that last retail job until I was certified and able to work as a personal trainer. The program consisted of basic nutrition, anatomy, programming, and a number of other topics pertinent to the career, as well as practical experience working out in the gym. Just about three months after I started the program one of the instructors asked if I would like to do an internship at his training studio that would have the possibility of turning into a full-time position. I jumped at the chance to actually get more hands on experience so I started right after the 4th of July holiday in 2009. What was supposed to be an internship turned into a job after the first week as he had a trainer leave the studio and needed to fill the spot immediately, thus I jumped in to handle my first session on the 12th.


My 30th birthday with a now dear friend.

Eleven years later, I still train some of the same clients that I had the pleasure of working with in that first year and at that studio. Most of them I consider close friends at this point. Family really. Most of you have taught me as much or more as I have taught you over the years. I'm forever grateful for the lessons and the gift of the time together. Since then a whole lot has changed and I now work at a different spot, with some truly amazing trainers.


Photo courtesy of truespeedphoto.com

I think I'm actually not far away from my 6-year anniversary of starting with Excellence in Exercise. The move to E in E was unexpected but turned out to help me grow as a trainer in so many ways. Besides just learning so much from my awesome fellow trainers, I have also had the room to grow in my own pursuits outside of the studio. You wouldn't be reading this blog without the support and autonomy to beginning my journey under the Plants to Planks heading while I still spend most of my time training and working out of E in E.

I would never have had the nerve to sign up for a Tough Mudder (or two) without a great team to nudge me in that direction. As I have said multiple times, pushing myself physically definitely helps me push past other boundaries and blocks. As much as running alone can be challenging, running with lots of wet, muddy obstacles thrown in will really test you!

I've also been able to incorporate more of my nutrition training and background the last few years to enhance what I do as a trainer. Though the in-person plant-based nutrition series might be on hold for a while now, I can't wait to get back to it with a farmers market visit when we can! Until then, time to start working on some online content to keep everyone excited to eat their fruits and veggies.


Not sure who was training who here...

I have also learned to set boundaries on my personal time, which I didn't do early on in my training career. I remember working Monday through Saturday every single week, from before sunrise to after sunset. As much as I enjoyed what I was doing in many ways, I was utterly burnt out before I made the switch to E in E. Now I know I can hustle as much as I want and take any opportunity presented, but I can also pull back and take the time that I need to nurture myself. Like Friday afternoons with my little blonde one. I wouldn't give up that time spent with her for anything!

Working with clients these days has taken even more twists and turns with the latest state of things in the world, but I'm thankful I've been able to adapt and finally jump into more online training. I hope to continue to work on expanding my remote clientele even more, regardless of where things with the Covid situation settle going forward. Nothing quite beats face to face interaction, but online options have turned out to be a fun challenge to adapt to and push myself to present great sessions and maintain value from afar.

I don't think I intended to prattle on this long, but I can't say I've ever marked the occasion before on the day, so excuse my verbosity. ;) I remember being so nervous before that first session. Would I mess up the workout? Count incorrectly? Talk too much? Not enough? I still get the nerves working with someone new, but I think that's a good thing. It means I still care about making sure I am giving that client the best session I can in working toward their health and fitness goals. Ultimately it is why I continue to do what I do--I became a trainer to help people. If I ever lose sight of that it is time to move on. That day is not today, though, so you're stuck with me and my healthy food and running/fitness motivation.

Thank you to everyone who has had even the smallest part in this journey. Even you pain in the @$$ folks. Perhaps especially you, haha. I know there are many more stories and experiences to come, and hopefully many more years of good health for those I have the privilege of working with or inspiring along the way! Cheers!

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart




Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://plantstoplanks.com/11-years-ago-today-i-trained-my-first-client/

Sort:  

Strong and fit is DEFINITELY the new sexy!! 😍 Fabulous commitment and contribution you're making to so many people's lives.

Standing ovation!!

 4 years ago  

Thank you my friend! Trying to do my part to encourage people to take control of their own health and wellness, even in the smallest of ways. I'm glad I've been able to make a career of it, with all its ups and downs, and feel good about how I earn my living. Hopefully many more lives impacted in the years to come!

 4 years ago  

Well done on making the move early into doing something you really love, not many of us have the nerve to do that! Those people who choose you as their personal trainer and those learning from you about nutrition (like us here on Hive as well) are very fortunate, enjoy the journey further!

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much @lizelle! Funny because at the time it felt like I was late to the game, but in retrospect late 20's is nothing on the timeline of life! I needed a few kicks in the pants along the way to get where I am now, but I continue to be grateful for the path I've been able to take. Blogging was one of those things that added to my fulfillment as now I get to engage with so many more people than I could ever train one-on-one! And of course I continue to learn every day from all of you, as well. 💚

You look really great on all of those pictures. It was awesome that you grabbed the opportunity when it was presented to you. I know I had hesitated and lost some of the opportunities put in front of me. Very inspiring post :)

 4 years ago  

Aww, thanks! That's one of the things about spending your life motivating others--you can't help but keep yourself inspired to stay fit and healthy, as well. Gotta practice what I preach. ;) I definitely had some bumps in the road (and probably still will), but I'm glad I didn't let fear of the unknown keep me from taking the opportunity to change my life for the better. I can only imagine how miserable I would be right now if I never had the nerve to leave retail. The good thing is it is never too late to make a positive change!

Thank you for inspiring me.

I’m learning from you to think in years.

 4 years ago  

We're all in the journey together. And it is most definitely the long haul. The short term goals and accomplishments are great, but the ones that take time to groom and slowly blossom are the ones we really savor.

What a journey and testimony to having the courage to follow your passion. And also to recognize opportunities and grab them with both hands. Good on you for building such a strong client base. Although I would have anticipated no less as you value everyone. It makes your friends feel special. Even the virtual ones on the other side of the world. Wishing you well for the next decade and beyond. Following and building your passion. 💜

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much Fiona! It's not all roses, but by and large the best decision I've ever made. Then again, what things in life that are truly worth it don't have some sweat and tears associated, right? Definitely lots of sweat on my part. ;) And I know you can truly appreciate the need to shift gears and start in a new direction. More often than not it leads to a whole new world of opportunity you never thought possible.

 4 years ago  

Loved seeing all these pictures of you. How DIFFERENT is your hair in that 'younger you' shot??? It must be easier to maintain in a piggy, given you're always sweating it out! How nice that you're part of an amazing team and do what you love.

 4 years ago  

Haha, oh gosh, that was the "oh jeez, I better cut and color and do my hair for the studio marketing photos". Even then the bun or tail was in full force as I can't stand to have my hair down while I'm sweaty. Upon thinking about it, that might actually have been the last time I dyed my hair. Not long after I embraced the natural brown (with a now smattering of gray hairs) for good.

I'm extremely grateful for the team that I am with now. The first opportunity was a good start to my training career, but looking back I'm glad despite the bad ending to that studio closing it pushed me to find a new home. Really without such a supportive group to work with, I would never have had the time or freedom to pursue all of the other things I enjoy outside of just training. 💚

Wonderful story - keep up the good work.

 4 years ago  

Thanks so much! No stopping now. :)

Doesn't time fly when you're having fun!

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @minismallholding.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

 4 years ago  

Time seems to fly anyway, so might as well enjoy what we have! I remember a conversation with my grandmother when I told her I was switching careers. She told me we spend way too much time at "work" so I might as well do something I love.

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 4 years ago  

You've been at it for a long time.

One of those pictures looks like you playing some kind of racing video game. From a distance that could definitely pass for a steering wheel, just saying.

Keep up the good work, I'm sure you've had to adapt alot to continue your work during COVID-19.