12 Days of Core-Mas! {2020 Version}

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)


Hey everyone! With the holiday season here, I was inspired by my pal Julie to create another workout video to share after doing this particular routine on Thursday. She's known for doing variations of a "12 Days of Christmas" workout this time of year on her Training & Champagning pages and for our Excellence in Exercise corporate page. I did a version of this for my core class last year and thought it would be fun to do a different variation this year, as well!

Most everyone has heard of the Christmas carol used for inspiration, and the workout scheme basically follows right along as you would expect! Perform 1 Hands to Feet. Then perform 2 X-Body Chops and 1 Hands to Feet. Next move up to 3 One-Sided Bicycles, 2 X-Body Chops and 1 Hands to Feet. Keep adding the next exercise each round until you do all 12 exercises for the full pyramid. It may seem easy at first, but I can assure you by the end you'll be feeling it, especially if you take minimal breaks throughout the workout. You can also start with the reverse for a variation and do 12 Inchworm Step Outs. Then 11 Split Squats with Twist and 12 Inchworm Step Outs, all the way down. Do it as a standalone core workout or tack on to your usual routine.

1 Hands to Feet
2 X-Body Chop*
3 One-Sided Bicycles*
4 High/Low Plank
5 Mountain Climbers*
6 Side V-Ups*
7 Side Plank with Reach*
8 Prone Rows
9 Ankle Taps*
10 Windmills*
11 Split Squats with Twist*
12 Inchworm Step Outs

*All of the starred exercises make sure you do the full count for EACH side before moving to the next. We don't want to be lopsided, right? 😉

You can easily adapt this workout to all different kinds of exercises. If you need any modifications to try this yourself, please ask and I'll be happy to help you find movements that work for your current fitness level! The planks you can easily perform on your knees if need be until you are strong enough to do them with as demonstrated. This is a great one to be able to do at home since you don't need any equipment. Why not get the whole family involved? Remember, working out is a great stress reliever to help keep you sane during the busy holiday season!

As always, consult your doctor if you have any contraindications before starting a new workout regime. This is intended as workout motivation, not an exercise prescription.

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://plantstoplanks.com/12-days-of-core-mas-2020-version/

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

This is wonderful. But you know that these days it is very difficult to pay attention to exercise, although these are very practical and easy to do. Can I try it in January? hahahah ok no.

Thanks for this routine, it's interesting. I promise I will try. :D

 3 years ago  

Haha, this one should only take about 30 minutes, so easy to fit in between holiday celebrations. 😂

No reason to wait until January when you can get going now. Though despite the inspiration for the workout scheme, you can still do it year-round!

Posted using Dapplr

Good morning @plantstoplanks, there you go again inspiring me to get to work.
I have began practicing my yoga because of you and the cold weather outside. 😊
I have a Florida trip planned in late Jan. so I want to tighten up my mid section, so those core exercises are perfect.
Thanks for putting that video out there for us.
Have a wonderful day!

 3 years ago  

Haha, I do my best! No sense keeping all the fun to myself. Ahh, the Florida sun. I'm sure you are very much looking forward to that warmth! That's actually one of the reasons why I enjoy working out in the winter--it's a good way to get the blood flowing and keep your body warm in the cold weather! Enjoy your workouts! 💪

Ho Ho Ho! @plantstoplanks, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked me to give you a new badge!

HiveBuzz wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Offer a gift to your friends for Christmas
HiveFest⁵ feedback and contest results
 3 years ago  

Thanks @hivebuzz! Another really fun badge to add to my collection. Happy holidays!

Our pleasure 🎁

BTW, it would be very appreciated if you could support our proposal so we can keep up the good work!
Merry Christmas to you @plantstoplanks 🎅

 3 years ago  

Done!

Thank you for your unfailing support @plantstoplanks, really appreciated!

I did it just now on X-Mas eve, 12 to 24 reps of each!
Thank you, it's useful to look at your great form!

 3 years ago  

Awesome @edouard! Always fun to know when someone gives these a try. Happy holidays to you and yours my friend! 🤗

And to you and yours as well

Nice core line up! I have to modify a lot of these, but I've been doing my own workouts and pushing a little farther each day. It's so nice to feel strong. Hope you're having a great holiday season!

 3 years ago  

Thanks for checking it out! That's the beautiful thing about movement, there's always ways to modify for your unique body! It is a wonderful thing to stay moving and strong. Hope you are ending out the year on a high note! 💚