You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scarlet Runner Beans with Vegan Mashed Potatoes & Roasted Collard Sprouts

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

I avoided beans at all costs as a child, so I suppose I don't have any really bad memories because of that, haha! Really too much of just about anything isn't good, right? Balance is always key, even for the healthy stuff.

And from Wikipedia:

Popular cultivars of collard greens include 'Georgia Southern', 'Vates', 'Morris Heading', 'Blue Max', 'Top Bunch', 'Butter Collard' (couve manteiga), couve tronchuda, and Groninger Blauw. In Africa it is commonly known as sukuma (East Africa), muriwo or umBhida (Southern Africa).

Sort:  

Thanks so much for this. Going to check out the African names. The South African ones are not familiar, but that's not a surprise as there are 11+ languages and I'm only kinda familiar with Afrikaans and isiXhosa.

I am back: I have done some homework and it's also known as Rape here. The language in the Wikipedia link is Ndebele. The Husband and I have both eaten it/them. It's a brassica and a close relative to Canola. Now a packet of seeds is going on to the shopping list! Today.

Posted using Dapplr

 3 years ago  

Yay! A little detective work was all it took. Can't wait to see if you can get it to grow well and how then you'll prepare it. 😀

Posted using Dapplr