Veganuary 2021 {A Month Full of Plants!}

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)


Looking back through my posts, I somehow missed any mention of Veganuary for the last two new years! Three years ago I put out some information to help encourage anyone embarking on a meat-dairy-fish-egg-free January, but I dropped the ball on continuing the trend the last few years. Well, not this year my friends. I'm here to support and encourage anyone wanting to sign up officially or unofficially for the January initiative to try to go vegan for the month.

For those who this is the first time even hearing the phrase, Veganuary was started back in 2014 as a way to encourage people to go vegan for the first month of the year. A play on the words "vegan" and "January." It's been going strong since then, gaining traction every year. Up to this point over one million people have signed up to give it a go. There are tons of great resources on the website with recipe ideas, shopping guides, health information and so many ways to connect and learn. As with any lifestyle change, having a great community to join and be a part of definitely helps make it more fun and sustainable.

What does "vegan" mean?

Because it is also worth mentioning, veganism is not just a dietary choice but a way of life. On the food end of things, no dairy (milk, cheese, yogurt), meat or seafood of any kind, eggs or anything else coming from an animal is consumed. That extends to other choices in consumption from clothing and shoes to housewares and beyond. The ultimate goal (IMHO) is to do as little harm as possible to any creature on our planet. Perfection is not realistic, again, in my own opinion, but I truly believe we can all continue to make better choices wherever we are in life to be more conscious of how such choices impact not just us, but everyone and everything.

However, that being said, there is no wrong way to do Veganuary! Many people focus on the food side first and then go from there. As I have made mention of multiple times before, that's how my own journey began. I focused on health and nutrition, then the ethical and environmental aspects started popping up more to influence my now almost 8 year journey. If you are interested in dipping your toes in the water, any attempt is great. Setting a goal for one month is an excellent way to give it a shot!


Just a few of my plant-based cookbooks

How to "do" Veganuary?

The post that I wrote back in 2018 still has some great tips I share and use myself even today. The first thing once deciding to commit to a big change for the month ahead is to figure out your "why". It might be for the animals, maybe you want to reduce your impact on the environment, perhaps you want to take control of your health and just eat more plants. Shoot, you might just want to start 2021 completely differently than 2020. Whatever your reasoning is, write it down and put it somewhere you can see it. That way when you fall off the wagon for a meal or get frustrated you remember what it is you wanted to accomplish by trying out a vegan month.

Take some time to do some meal planning. Even in the last year, the vegan choices in stores and restaurants have exploded with variety (that carrot cake in my cover image is totally vegan), but it still helps to have an idea of what you are going to eat for meals. That can be especially helpful if vegan cooking is completely new to you. Find some blogs you enjoy, follow some vegan cooks on social media or maybe even take a plant-based cooking class if you are really interested in keeping up some meatless meals for the long haul. Planning always helps you keep on track to make healthy choices along the way.

One day at a time. Day one will probably be easy, but the other 30 or so days after that might trip you up on occasion. You might forget that your favorite salad dressing has anchovies or that manufacturers put dairy in literally everything. If you slip up, just keep moving forward. That holds true even if you are just trying to start eating better for the new year, vegan or not. ;)


Vegan definitely isn't boring OR limiting!

Get Excited!

If you are trying out a vegan January, I would hope you are doing it because you truly are excited to give a meatless lifestyle a try. Approach it as an opportunity to try new things. I mean, there are more plant foods out there than one person could ever try in a lifetime--how amazing is that? Even if you don't plan on going vegan long term, you will definitely add some great vegetable side dishes to your meal plan rotation or easily be able to feed any of your vegan/vegetarian friends. Look out for new beans or lentils. Scour the farmers market for some vegetables you've never used. Fruit is always an easy snack if you're feeling stumped.

Keep things simple if you are new to cooking overall. Not every meal has to be fancy or elaborate. Sometimes all I have the energy for is a baked potato with black beans, salsa and avocado or a quick veggie stir fry over lentil pasta. However if you do already love to cook, oh boy will you find anything and everything in vegan form! Nothing is out of the realm of possibility from pizza to burgers or ice cream or....

I will always encourage healthy choices, especially to kick off the new year. Not because I want you to shoot for unrealistic new year's resolutions, but because I always want people to feel good and take care of themselves. Take advantage of the vegan convenience foods when you really need to or enjoy a decadent vegan treat on occasion, but as always, cooking and preparing whole, real food at home is your best bet to feel some positive changes during your vegan month.


If all else fails, there's always pasta...

All that's left to say for now is good luck and happy eating! I will do my best not to leave you hanging this year. If I can get my act together I will do some more cookbook reviews since I have added more to my collection recently and love perusing them for cooking inspiration. The farmers market will be back in action on the 9th after the holiday hiatus, so you know I will be back to gushing over the fresh goodies on here soon. If any other fun inspiration for the month comes to mind, of course I'll get that shared, too. And I'm here any time for questions or encouragement! Well, maybe not ANY time, but you know what I mean.

Happy Veganuary and New Year!

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://plantstoplanks.com/veganuary-2021-a-month-full-of-plants/

Sort:  

What a great way to get people to rise to the challenge of thinking differently. I know how many of us think with our stomachs and taste buds...

Much as I might like head down this route, I carnivorous omnivore with whom I live...ahem... Two, perhaps three meatfree, including one vegan meal a week is good going. Oh, that reminds me, our house guest will be having her first vegan meal our house during her stay.... 🤭

 3 years ago  

Oh how nice! I'm sure with you making it, she will most certainly have a first enjoyable vegan meal experience! I really think if more people made small efforts like meatless Mondays and the like it would have a big impact. It's easy to forget it is littlest of changes sometimes that all add up because they tend to be much more sustainable than the grand efforts to change everything at once.

She's talking about doing some big changes. We shall see.

I might just do that! Good idea☝️😀

I agree with @fionasfavourites - this is an awesome and approachable way to get people to switch things up and give plant based a go. Good timing too - I was just chatting with my boy yesterday about finally getting the recipe for vegan chili from our eldest, so I can make some for him soon. I'm not sure he'd be interested in trying Veganuary, but I'll mention it to him - certainly can't hurt to ask!

!wine


Cheers, @fionasfavourites You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @traciyork.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 0.000 HIVE

 3 years ago  

Vegan chili really is one of my favorite things to eat! Always hearty and easily adaptable for any palate. This tends to be the time of year when a lot of us are more inclined to try new things and make some changes, so you never know. Just watch out because if he jumps on the bandwagon he may try to drag you with him, hahaha!

 3 years ago  

Absolutely fabulous! I love veganuary - such a good way to get people to just TRY eating vegan, or at least THINK about it, or eat less meat. Looking forward to lots of delicious #vegan recipes on HIVe this year!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

I really am baffled how I missed the last few years. I think I remember someone doing a contest for it back in 2018, so perhaps that's why I was more inclined to jump in and write some posts about it. I hope people are inspired to share more vegan yummies for this month ahead to help support anyone jumping on to try some more meatless meals to start out the year. As you hit on, even just contemplating some changes and making small steps is a good thing. I already feel more inspired myself just to have some goals of things to share!

 3 years ago  

I think we should find a way to promote this for Natural Medicine for sure!

Best idea for new year selibration delicious food......

 3 years ago  

I'm so glad you think so! No better way to bring in a fresh start that with some deliciously nutritious foods!

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 13500 replies. Your next target is to reach 14000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

I really love mushrooms. It is hard to find her.

 3 years ago  

Mushrooms can definitely be hard to find in some places. It used to be a lot of the same ones around here, but lately I'm finding more and more!

 3 years ago  

Haha, hope you made it through the day quickly so you could retreat to the kitchen! I think there is also a February initiative called "Veguary", but I believe "Veganuary" has a bit more momentum behind it. Any month is a good month to eat more veggies, though, so why not make it all year? 😜

 3 years ago  

Oh yes, I'm just trying to encourage more people to join us. ;)