Working on Our Marketing of HIVE/Natural Medicine - Plus, We're Now On Instagram

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

There's been a lot of talk about marketing on HIVE of late. It's important - how would the world know how bloody great we are without it? There's not enough of us to do it via word of mouth, methinks, and it's pretty hard for us to explain to our circles. Many of us that do good things here can simply not afford marketing, or we aren't trained in marketing. We can only do the best we can with what we have.

Today, I've been working on what I can do, particularly with Natural Medicine. So I've been working with the community on a series of images that we can draw from to share on social media, such as our Twitter account and our new Instagram account @lotus.medicine. Please give us a follow on both if you have time.

Now I'm not a graphic designer and I know people aren't always fans of Adobe products, but I find Adobe Spark easy to use on my phone. I don't have time to learn anything more sophisticated and I need to produce these quickly. However, I'm quite pleased with what I could do - changing fonts, adding logos, editing out backgrounds and so on.

The first quote is really trying to get to the heart of what I think social media is about - sharing stories. I don't want to focus on the reward system as I don't want to set people up to believe they will be millionaires, having them get 0.01 cent on their first post and giving up. It's stories and community that make most of us stay anyway - everything else is secondary.

Adobe_Post_20210115_1614140.21126269460045688.png

When I asked in the Discord server for quotes or slogans or tag lines, I got an unexpected one from @cowboyblazerfan. I loved it! So simple. It could be a cannabis related advertisement on Twitter, or with a quick change of the background image, it could be used for a herbal post on Instagram. Either way I want to let people know all the kinds of things we welcome on the front end.

Adobe_Post_20210115_1627480.7734916612765598.png

I actually love it with capital letters - it feels bold and certain to me. Yeah, some folk DO grow plants - and that's freaking awesome.

Adobe_Post_20210115_1624560.060097941998842.png

@fionafavourites suggested that was a bit shouty, suggesting we go for small caps. When I edited it from the original, I quite liked it. Much gentler, perhaps.

Adobe_Post_20210115_1617280.41693651275700283.png

This was also a pretty cool one, courtesy of @alchemage, who's been doing lots of behind the scenes thinking about how we can get www.naturalmedicine.io out there to the masses, or at least quite a few bubbles!

If you're wondering about the different sizes, some are Instagram sized, some are Facebook/Twitter sized. I've put them all in the #memestoshare channel in our Discord for anyone to use.

image.png

I also started to play with some of the old quotes that people gave me, although I need to change these now - get rid of the white background and change it to white letters instead. What do you think? Someone suggested that I get rid of the background entirely, but I really like the various lotus that of course connect to our token.

IMG_20210115_111729_461.jpg

Thing is, I like it in big letters too. I guess as long as it's easily recognisable as one of our images in a branded kinda way, it doesn't matter so much, right? What do you think?

Adobe_Post_20210115_0921290.7773618675910082.png

I spent the entire afternoon playing with the Insta account so that it looked like something if anyone landed on it. There's a few tricks to Instagram I've learnt with my own account of 3k followers @wildtrackdreaming. I'm quite pleased with how it looks. I've gone and followed tons of #plantbased #yoga #herbalism people, and more to come. One of the tricks is to share their work as a story, drawing attention to the account in that way, so I've created a story highlight 'QUOTE LOVE' where I can share great wellness quotes from accounts that might end up finding their way to @lotus.medicine that way.

I've also found a few people that post reasonably often on in the community and shared their profiles as a story in the story highlight circle 'BLOGGERS'. I'm sharing some of their photos as well, crediting them with a link to their work as well in a kinda mutually beneficially way. So if you've got an appropriate Instagram account, please drop the link below or even if it's not #naturalmedicine related, do give us a follow anyway so we look kinda important, 'kay? :P - and if you're as HIVE passionate as we are, perhaps you could share one of our posts as a story yourself.

20210115_165838.jpg

I'd love to get to the point where I feel confident enough to pay for promotion of our account on Instagram, perhaps with a Redbubble account for merch so that we look professional, but one of the problems is funding - we do a lot for HIVE and wellness is HUGE - a great opportunity for onboarding people via Natural Medicine - but we don't get a lot of support via delegation or whales. If you are able to help in anyway, particularly financially, do give me a shout. HIVE means so much to me and so many of us here - I'm just trying to do my best to shout it out to the world a little.

Have you got any Instagram tricks to gain followers?

Perhaps you've got a great line or slogan we could use?

Are you following us on Twitter or Instagram?

What are you doing to market YOUR Hive?

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk


CommunityIIDiscord
mindfullife2.png
Supporting Meditators on HIVE

www.naturalmedicine.io


Sort:  

Nice to see this happening! As I was reading, I thought to myself that I actually feel more inclined to promote Natural Medicine than "general" Hive... perhaps because it's more geared towards the crowd I usually associate with.

I like the simple "Connection, Compassion, Community" graphic... might use that, here and there.

 3 years ago  

I liked that one too. Simplicity is great. I think that's what the front ends should be good at... drawing in niche audiences. I'm glad you connect - your posts are just awesome.

Hello, I'm new here. I will look for you on Instagram.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

Wonderful. Drop into the Discord if you need a hand.

So cool! Thanks for all your effort, to make our wonderful Hive more popular! <3

 3 years ago  

Thank you! You are welcome..

 3 years ago  

You were a busy bee yesterday! Love seeing more of the Nat Med presence all around. Thank you for your hard work and time you put into this to try to make the community a welcome (and aesthetically pleasing) home. 💚

Posted using Dapplr

 3 years ago  

When I'm busy on HIVE, everyone knows about it! Sorry if you got sucked into my frenzy on Insta!

Send me a DM, I can help with delegation or following your curation trail if you want. I'm not as big as a whale, I am a mere "fetal Orca" haha!

 3 years ago  

Oh you beautiful Hiver you!!! Thankyou!!!

have you leverage the hashtags? it's an old trick but may work. Another thing that I can add is scheduling content there, asking questions via story because random people can come across that. Follow the niche and scheduled events, like the vegan challenge or anything related to your niche. When it comes to instagram, the marketers still live by rule " content is king"

 3 years ago  

How do you leverage tags? Would love you to look at the feed to see if it's okay so far. I tried to populate it first, but I'm up for lots of content and timed too. What app do you use to schedule do you know? If I post late in Australia or first thing in morning it's usually okay.

Sweet. I followed you on Instagram. ✌️

You're doing great! I'm so excited for how 2021 is gonna develop. Let's keep focusing on the abundance all around us and eventually it will trickle down to this community in more than kindness alone.

💚

 3 years ago  

💚💚💚💚🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🌻

Posted using Dapplr