Made my first ever baguette this morning but...

IMG4325.jpg

Think I'm gonna need a bigger baking tray if I want to make them longer and more rounded like real baguettes!

FullSizeRender.jpg

Hey, who took that bite?

I imagined our cheep electric oven wouldn't be sufficient to bake bread, but it turns out this is not the case and we can in fact now sell the bread maker/oven machine we bought a year ago. A good reminder that the simple ways are best.

I actually put two baguettes in the oven morning. One with a cover and one without, and it was immediately evident that the one without a cover was not as good, with a super crispy crust.

So am thinking to buy a baguette tray which fits into another tray.
Something like this.

ovenwbaguettetray.jpg

Once in the oven it can be covered easily.

warmingtraydutchoven.jpg

Producing three baguettes a day I will be able to give the other two away!

Or perhaps I'll start a baguette business as it wont be long before traditional flour becomes super expensive, leaving all these French bread addicts without any way to get their daily fix.

Let's see if they like acorn flour. Here we have hundreds of trees and a village full of people who don't know what to do with them ;)

instagram_post540x540rid_4b1205ddea6b48b38edb40374c47cf7f1080x680.png

Acorn flour recipe

Next I must buy a wooden bowl and I will be ready to wake up the 100 year old sour dough starter which was generously sent to me all the way from Canada by the lovely man that is @sauna.

I feel like I am ready now to take on the kind of responsibility which comes with a 100 year old starter and I believe this wonderful gift from afar will take the quality of my bread to the next level.

Love & Light everyone 🌱

Sort:  

Wooow,I also love Baking but mostly cakes and cookies. Yesterday, I made 🍕🍕🍕 for my cousin sister. I really loved your post @samstonehill.✨🌺✨🌺💚

Thanks a lot for sharing this post.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmi1ANbfrsvafdqUkDmJw6e7rk2X8fK83wxd44ZK6wXpCePZMEA39AL9WTQySA 1.gif

Great work making your own pizza. Sabrina made us pizza last night :)

We love making cakes and cookies too, but that's Sabrina's department. Not sure why, but I really love making bread, so am more than happy to do it. I don't do much else in the kitchen other than smoothies!

 3 years ago  

Wow Baker Sam.. that looks delish. Yeah funny we all fell for breadmakers when the traditional ways are pretty easy!

At least they get us started hey ;)

And am looking forward now to having a little bit of extra space in the kitchen!

So are your baguettes made with acorn flour?
Thanks for that recipe, I heard about acorn flour a while ago, and was wondering how to make it. Immediately saved that recipe :-)

In fact I didn't collect any acorns last year! Too busy collecting other things. So the flour we are using is just standard stuff. But I will certainly be making acorn bread later this year and you can be sure I will make a post when I do ;)

Wow! Impressive! Would love to have a bit on your bread too!! Haha.

Yup! You should give some sample then start to take order for your new business! LoL

I would very much enjoy selling acorn bread to all the bread addicts here ;)