Just a Little While in My Garden - Bonsai in Bloom

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

What is that fragrance? I wondered as I climbed up the stairs to my roof garden. The smell was amazing, romantic and almost dream like. i just couldn't figure out where it came from, but that wasn't for long, my eyes fell on my blooming bonsai and I knew where this came from. This is the Murraya exotica or Madhu Kamini (translated Honey seductress).

img_20210615_082848.jpg

A few months ago when I bought a five inch plant with just two branches for a princely sum, my husband doubted me. He felt that I may have paid more than I needed to, he even said that the seller cheated me. He could have been right, but I had been hunting for this plant for a few years now and I knew I could nurture it into a fine bonsai and soon it could be multiplied.

Well I haven't yet propagated it as the pruned bits were way too tiny. I have let the branch on the right grow (can you see it?) so I could soon have another plant through air layering.

img_20210615_082854.jpg

Exactly five months down the line the plant has grown bushier and branched out well, though not the way I would have wanted it to. However, I am not the kind of bonsai stylist who would wire, twist, turn and mutilate to achieve what I want, or to get the required structure.

I am a patient, trim and grow, natural stylist. So this may not be your perfect bonsai but this plant is only a year and a half old (it had been lying neglected with the seller for a year) and has a long life before it. It could go through a few changes before it become the tree it should be.

img_20210617_113823.jpg

An aerial view of the plant.

In the natural the murraya exotica would be a huge bush at this age and I couldn't dream of having it in my roof garden for want of space. The art of bonsai makes it possible for me to have these beautiful trees in miniature in a small space like my garden.

img_20210615_083119.jpg

A close up of the flowers and the tiny leaves. It is totally about 9 inches tall and 10 inches wide. Getting the leaves to this size and retaining the plant at this height has been a success for me, however I have a lot of work to be done on the basic structure.

img_20210617_113905.jpg

This is how it looks this morning after the rain at night, the petals have dropped and the fragrance has faded a bit, but the fragrance is still amazingly beautiful.

img_20210617_113728.jpg

A week ago this is how the plant looked, it filled me with expectant excitement. When I saw it in bloom like this I felt as proud as a mama at her son graduating out of Medschool. 😁

All images are the sole property of @sofs-su.

Sort:  

What a beautiful plant. Looks like you have a little pruning to do yet, but its form is taking shape! The blossoms sort of look like orange or lemon flowers.. I bet the DO smell AMAZING! With I could smell them through this screen. lol.

Air Layering? Wow.. look at you pulling horticultural terms out of your pocket🤗 I have a few degrees in Horticulture and Plant Science. Don't use them now that much, but I used to enjoy the plant science field quite a bit. I have done a ton of air layering and even have a small bag of "Roottone" (naphthaleneacetic acid) in my garage. I should propagate something in my yard for the fun of it! 😊

Agreed a lot of work needs to be done on the structure. The plant is still young and I do hope to see it grow into something beautiful in a couple of years. Right now, I am enjoying the blooms.

Although the flowers look like those of the citrus fruits, the smell if that of jasmines and ylang ylang combined in a milder and more pleasanter form.
I propagate most of my plants through marcotting or air layering. Cheapest and best with a high rate of success.
Propagating from cutting is a pain for me though I do it from time to time.
I learnt these things from my dad when I was about ten y o.
So, I guess these terms come naturally to me.
You should propagate for the fun of it. Most of the experiments I do start as fun but I hope to make them into a source of income for me now, especially with grafted cacti.
I already started selling these but the pandemic brought it to an abrupt stop.
Thanks for stopping by to add your thoughts here.