🥥 Num Popeay 🥟 Sweet Mung Bean & Sticky Rice Cakes 🌾 An Ital Khmer Recipe

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

0BA9837B89D8435D9BD6F7E0D013C104.jpeg

A long time already I can’t make dessert for my family to eat, so I made Num Popeay and I want to share this recipe with everyone.

This is the first time I made it by myself, but it’s delicious the same as they sell in Cambodia 😁.

49253696A6AB4666B0CEF5DCF3A7FC5E.jpeg

B69B7C5991A74B809ACB362699C04861.jpeg

👩‍🍳 Sweet Mung Bean & Sticky Rice Cakes (Ital) Recipe 🔪

វិធីធ្វើនំពពាយ

Ingredients For Make Filling

  • 1 cup split mung beans
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Soak beans in the water two hours, after wash it three times, then steam or boil it until cooked.

6C316F57F2B94E9FB7C6A4CD22EEAB90.jpegE4B5D8531AD04098A324E304CD0151EF.jpegB201EB87615F4853925CDFA122CC22BD.jpeg

After put coconut milk in the pan and open the stove. Put beans add salt and stir it a little and simmer it. If you like it sweet you can add sugar as you like.

Stir it a little until not have water and wait it until cool. After cool I did it like this.

Ingredients To Make Dough

  • 2 cups glutinous rice flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of water
8901CDC3E0824D34940410D787276832.jpegD66AF795D2294218B6CABD36C5595978.jpeg

Put flour and salt in a bowl and stir it. Pour water a little and mix it and pour more water and make like bread style very well.

Then take a small piece of dough and put filling in it. Close and roll it, then boil it until cooked or when we see it floating on the water it means we can take it and put in the cool water.

32A32642AB4F478BB7D869ED9E69352B.jpeg

Then remove them from the water.

DD3DF33146084A4ABAAFF8A522C4CCA2.jpeg

This dessert we need to have roasted sesame seeds and brown sugar for add on it. I will show you now.

  • 4 tbsp roasted sesame seeds
  • 4 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 small coconut
D80D7D5A5FAC4CC7BAC51B3A9FC24887.jpeg592007319F324ADA869C46792E3C8D69.jpeg

Mixed roasted sesame seeds and brown sugar together. Grate coconut meat.

4BA8EA79408E44DBB1A99AAD9C55FC3F.jpeg

Take it put in coconut meat looks like this.

BB58B97F03DA4C418053FF1C59671665.jpeg

123441F36B914E7F9A2FC13DE6449328.jpeg

When we start to eat we can add sesame seeds with brown sugar. You can make by your taste.

34791ABC7C7346D0B2C5C0DD33046897.jpeg

0D1D5132A29F48ADB5CA3B14129203C1.jpeg

It’s was delicious now. I hope you are going well everywhere you are. Have a beautiful weekend to you all.

🙏 THANKS FOR READING 🙏

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and reblog.

hedders.png

Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I like everything about this post. The interesting use that you give to mung beans, which in Venezuela are known as Chinese beans, it is not usual for us to see them as part of a dessert, since they are always eaten cooked in soup or as sprouts. On the other hand, the explanation you give of the elaboration is great, and I really liked the instrument you use to scrape the pulp of the coconut, I am going to tell my husband to make me one just like it, since I usually break the shell of the coconut in several pieces to be able to extract the pulp. In addition, it is a very nutritious dish, due to all the ingredients you use. I really liked the sharpness of the photos and that you served it on banana leaves. Post well deserve to spread and support it. Thank you for giving us a bit of your culture, that is really enriching. A big greeting and hug from Venezuela. Good work!

Todo me gusta de este post. El interesante uso que le das a los frijoles mungo, los cuales en Venezuela son conocidos como frijoles chinos, no es usual para nosotros verlos como parte de un postre, pues siempre se comen cocidos en sopa o como germinados. Por otra parte la explicación que das de la elaboración está genial, y me gusto mucho el instrumento que utilizas para raspar la pulpa del coco, le voy a decir a mi esposo que me haga uno igual, ya que por lo general rompo la cáscara del coco en varios pedazos para poder extraer la pulpa. Además, es un plato muy nutritivo, por todos los ingredientes que utilizas. Me gusto mucho la nitidez de las fotos y que lo hayas servido en hojas de cambur. Post así merecen difundirlos y apoyarlo. Gracias por darnos un poco de tu cultura, eso es realmente enriquecedor. Un gran saludo y abrazo desde Venezuela. ¡Buen trabajo!

Oh many thanks for your kind words. Mung beans are very common to use in dessert in my country but we don’t use in normal Cambodian food. I knew it’s very normal in Indian food and other countries. I use an instrument scrape the coconut like my country but here not have it, so this one I made by myself because I need it for my dessert recipes. !ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Ohhh, this is great and it looks great on those banana leaves, they must be delicious. Greetings and blessings.

Give thanks 🙏🏻 it’s was delicious 😋. !ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow crispy
I want to taste this 😍
Looking delicious😋

Yes it’s was delicious, thank you for the stopping by. !ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yummy just perfect with the coconut slices 😉

Yes, it’s delicious with coconut slices😊. !ENGAGE 10

Just the way i like it 👍

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh I want to eat this sooooo much. I can't get a good coconut and I can't open one either. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe my friend!!!

Oh my friend, now I have fresh coconut so much from public street when I walked for exercise I bring them back home, before I scared to get them but my landlord said it’s ok. I hope you have it some soon. !ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I would eat these in the morning, in the afternoon, in the evening and probably while sleeping...heck... I would gladly go on a Num Popeay diet for a week :)

Haha, so you need to come here this week I will make it for you. !ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This looks so good!!! 😋

Thank you very much 😊

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you a lot for your support.

Hi @sreypov, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you very for your support my post.

Your food always looks so good! I've shared your post in the Lotus Garden newsletter and you've been selected to be the beneficiary recipient this week.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Thank you a lot @minismallholding and @naturalmedicine for your kind words and support I'm glad 🙂.