IT'S FUNNY HOW ONE THING LEADS TO ANOTHER!

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

I guess I had expected to get up early today. Falling asleep before 8:00 Pm will do that, but getting up at 2:00 Am the following morning is just a little earlier that I would have prefered. After lying in bed for a few minutes, knowing I was fully rested, my feet hit the floor, despite the time.

First things first, make the coffee and sit on the front porch in the solitude darkness provides.
As I opened the refrigator door that's when it hit me, it was Thanksgiving morning, and there sat the two cornish hens @farm-mom had purchased yesterday. A few days prior, she had gone to the supermarket to get a turkey, but the smallest one was just over 20 pounds, and this year it was only going to be the two of us. As you can see, the cornish hens aren't any bigger than my fist. Sure, plenty for the two of us,

IMG_5139.JPG

but this is more like it. For more years than I can remember we have always had a house full of family and friends. The turkey would come in at close to thirty pounds, always the biggest one we could find. Who doesn't like a turkey sandwich later that evening, while watching some football.

P1190598 1.JPG
P1190601 1.JPG

Although this Thanksgiving day would be very different from past ones, Farm-mom and I were good with that, knowing we had so much to be thankful for.

While sitting on the porch enjoying the peace, I started to plan out my morning. Rising so early and knowing that there was little to prepare for, I figured I had some time to hobbitize this morning. Heck it was still very early, and at the break of dawn I would add some hay to the garlic beds. I knew the beds could use some additional protection from the approaching winter.

In the meantime, being that daybrake was still hours away, I figured I'd look at some of the pics that were downloaded onto the computer the day before.

After viewing them, once again my thoughts returned to adding hay to the garlic garden.
With that in mind, it brought back memories of the fun we had while haying this past year.
I knew that we had a folder full of pics from that day. I located them and I'm glad I did.

IMG_4314.JPG

The melancholy that I was feeling slipped away in minutes. Every picture of that day had me smiling a little more.

IMG_4321.JPG

Right there in front of me was another reminder of just how lucky we are. Not only do we share festive times, we enjoy lending a helping hand. Isn't that what community is all about.

IMG_3387.JPG

Thanks in giving, that's really what Thanksgiving means.

IMG_3389.JPG

Giving of yourself when needed,

IMG_3390.JPG

and having a good time while doing it!

IMG_3392.JPG

Getting the job done in harmony!

IMG_3395.JPG

IMG_3396.JPG

This day was a little extra special, as our son was up for a quick stay. Besides enjoying his company, it was great to have some young blood around to lighten the load.😁👍

IMG_3398.JPG

Heck, even the boss was smiling. The young lady in this picture is my wife's cousin and the one we are bailing hay for.

IMG_3399.JPG

Always, loads of laughter accompany times like this. I know we have all heard it and truer words have never been spoken, it is in giving we recieve.

IMG_3400.JPG

OK, let's get back to the job at hand and the recorded moments that were hidden reminders of just how fortunate we are.
Hopefully, by the end of this great day, we've gotten 400 bails of hay in the barn.
That would leave around 1,000 or so to go.

Farmers of all kinds are at the mercy of MOTHER NATURE.
The process of finally getting this very important, renewable, natural-resource, from field to barn requires three days of sunny dry weather.

IMG_3401.JPG

With the bails of hay arriving at the barn in a steady flow, it was time for my favorite part, not only because you can see the light at the end of the tunnel, of a long day, but you get to throw the heck out of those 50 plus pound bails of hay. This part I love.

IMG_3402.JPG

IMG_4563.JPG

IMG_4562.JPG

As the pile grows, throwing the bails the necessary distance, to put them at the feet of the people stacking, becomes a game.

I have stacked in the past, it's not as physical of a job as throwing, but agility, and good knees and hips are required, I'll stick with throwing, thanks.
A guy has got to know his limitations, and I'm a heck of a thrower.

IMG_4572.JPG

While viewing the pictures taken on that rather long day, this one reminded me of just how fullfilling the day was as the last of the hay wagons was almost unloaded,

IMG_3404.JPG

and all that was left to do was to put away the machinery. You know what that meant, we were only minutes away from some refreshments, and a seat on the deck.

IMG_3406.JPG

IMG_3407.JPG

With they hay in the barn and feeling a little tired, a couple of cold ones went down very nicely.

IMG_3408.JPG
As I got to the very last picture of that day, being thankful for having such a great network of people, there at the ready, and so willing to pitch in at a moments notice, had totally enveloped my mind.
My mood had changed, and although the crowd of people we love to see on Thanksgiving, would not be with us, I knew this day would be a good day.
IMG_3412.JPG

Isn't it funny how one thing leads to another.

Happy Thanksgiving you'll!

Sort:  

We always loved haying, from the sense of camaraderie and the feeling of finishing a hard job. Plus beating Mother Nature one more time...

Beating Mother Nature is always a little tricky.

 3 years ago  

I am embarrased to say I only just saw this post, and just realised you and @farm-mom were connected. Facepalm. I could pretend I knew all along but I'd prefer to blurt out how awful I am. It's hard to keep up with everyone. Appreciating your presence on Hive. xx


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hi there @riverflows. Yup the sweed and I have been married for 45 years, so yes I'd say there's a connection.😉

Happy Thanksgiving @thebigsweed @farm-mom. Friendly articles like this is what the holiday is all about. Thank you.

I hope you guys enjoyed your Thanksgiving!

Love those picture.
Haying is hard work, but always lots of fun.
Got so lucky this year with the weather, that was a perfect day.

It sure was perfect, with good weather and great company!

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thank you for your support @ecency. I know my wife @farm-mom uses it all the time and loves it. I need to get on board and give it a try.

Try it out, experience is quite similar of hive.blog with some added perks, I am sure you will love it. Visit and login here: https://ecency.com

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @deepu7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks for your continued support @diyhub, and a big thanks to @deepu7 for curating this post. I'll be looking for my post in #diyhub's recurring curation complications.

Excelent

I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping in.