You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: REBOOT WITH BEET KVASS

I may be able to give this a try this year. I harvested most of my beets about three weeks ago, but I left 1/2 dozen in the garden to see if they would continue to grow. They were rather small at the time, but to my surprise, they have almost doubled in size since then.
I know what I'll be doing with those bad boys, beet kvass.
I'm surprised that after several days the concoction is placed in the fridge to complete the fermentation process.
I make home-brewed beer and it's critical that during the fermentation process the temp stays between 72/76 degrees F. If the temperature falls below 70 degrees the fermenting stops like it's been turned off by a switch.
Recently @riverflows turned @farm-mom onto a honey and garlic recipe that she tried. After several days sitting on the counter, I noticed it was no longer there and I found it in the fridge. I immediately removed it from the fridge and placed it back on the counter, figuring that the fermentation process would stop due to the cold temperature.
IMG_3393.JPG
We used it for the first time just a few days ago on a beet salad.

Winner, winner, chicken dinner.
We only made a small batch, to begin with, but after using it for the first time we immediately made a larger batch the following day.

Wonderful post, but then again I'm a beet fanatic.

Sort:  

Garlic and honey is a YUM combination! When I initially learned that the fermentation continues in chilled conditions I was a bit skeptical. But I tested the theory with various ferments. It mostly works. I think it is really ferment dependent - so based on the different probiotic strains. I've noticed that most homesteaders in our area who make sourdough bread allow it to do its thing in the fridge because we have such intense summers. I have yet to be convinced it works but with other ferments, definitely