Telling Myself To Slow Down!

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_8435.JPG

Slow down!! That has been my message for the day, with my own body (in it's own, very efficient way) reminding me to just slow down. Twice I fell, always landing on my right knee and both times when I was trying to get somewhere. Somewhere in a rush.

The first time was this morning, as I went out the door on my way to get supplies in town. The girls had left a hoola hoop on the tail of my truck and I slipped on it as I came out. I had my water bottle in my hand, I managed to keep a hold of that and land on my left hand and right knee, just inches away from the steps. So all in all, it was a lucky fall.

I just shook it off and went on my way. Trying not to focus on the fact, that if I had landed a little bit further away, I could have done some real damage. But I hadn't, so no point dwelling on it. The sun was shining and I had the opportunity to get into town without my girls and do things at my own pace.

Which of course was faster than usual, just because I could and plus I was on a mission, to get in and out of town as quick as possible, as I just hate to see so many people in masks.

But I was in for a little surprise, not everyone was wearing mask, I counted 10 without and we all greeted one another as if we knew one another, it was great, huge smiles all the way. Things felt a little lighter for a change.

Then I spotted a friend of mine, in a shop and went to greet her, with a big hug and a kiss. The shop owner, came over and asked us to please respect 'covid', well that really burst my happy bubble. Now I was right back, in the thick of it.Once again there was no escaping the fact that so many people are living in fear and the energy suddenly got heavy again.

But I was determined to just shake that off too, I was still super happy to have seen 10 fellow freedom lovers and that was such a wonderful sight to behold.

As I was walking back home, with my bags full, my knee started to hurt again and I then remembered my fall. Take it easy Aishlinn, take it nice and slow. So instead of marching up the hill, I strolled and it felt good.

I like to walk fast sometimes, especially when I am on my own, I find it invigorating. But I also need to listen to my body and be respectful.

This evening I joined some friends for a sauna, at another friends house further down the track. I think we were in there for 2 hours as our kids entertained themselves upstairs. It felt so good to just let my body relax and my stress melt away, whilst I shed some skin.

My skin feels so soft now. But the evening went to quickly and before I knew it, it was time to gather my girls and get them home for some food. I went from being super relaxed to trying to get them all organized and out the door. There was time for some quick goodbyes and then off we went.

I only took about 8 steps and I tripped over a step, I fell in what seemed like slow motion, holding the hand of my youngest. I manged to keep hold of her and keep her up right, but this time my right knee got quite a bang. Also my shoulder.

I think I just twisted my body so I could keep my daughter from falling. All because I was in a rush to get home.

But why rush after such a relaxing evening, an evening that I really needed. Now I sit here, feeling squeaky clean, but with a sore knee and shoulder, reflecting about how impatient I was and how simple things could have been if I just remembered to breathe and to just take my time. Whats a few more minutes anyway. Especially if it means my body is happy.

So here's to being gentle with myself and giving myself more time, to get things done. Here's to remembering, To just slow down.........

image.png

image.png




image.png


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Ah, accidents happen my love! Sounds like you are being pretty mindful anyway. Life seems pretty good there really, despite the occasional reminder from people like shop owners. So far no one has told me off for hugging. i had to do some post today so i had to wear a mask or they wouldn't let me!!!! I was pissed off but couldn't get it done otherwise.

Funny story, when we lived in our Bedford truck Jamie had made these really shonky stairs. I worried every time I came down them and he kept saying, nah, it'd be okay. One day they broke and the exposed nails scratched my thigh, so he fixed them - kinda. I mean, a few nails are NEVER going to hold steps together but he couldn't be bothered.

Anyway, one day we were sitting outside with a few peoples, you know, communal dinner. I'd made veggie pasta, and Jamie had gone in for seconds for him and our friend and came out with two huge stacked plates. They were starving as they hadn't eaten all day. Anyway, he steps on the first step and the whole thing gives way and he goes FLLLLYYYYINNNGGG.. tomato pasta sauce goes everywhere (the dogs were happy!) and he scratched himself pretty bad. It was pretty funny to see - but you know what? Suddenly those stairs got PROPERLY fixed, with screws and all.

 3 years ago  

I know, but both times as I fell I knew I should have just been moving a bit slower. But such is life. I have a few steps loose myself, and keep meaning to fix them, but it is so hard to keep up most days as my time is full with the girls and garden and truck life and on top of that meetings with the collective I am in. I have never been busier, all in a lockdown lol.
I could so picture that scenario as I read it, happy dogs indeed xxx

I hope you're healing well and having a slower day today.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @minismallholding.

Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

 3 years ago  

Thank you @minismallholding, yeah I have slowed down and feel better for it xxx

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much for this reminder, sometimes we impose that meaningless rush on ourselves just because we get used to running in our routine.

It was very refreshing to read you, because I was also happy to go out and see people free of masks.

I'm sorry about your falls, I hope it's nothing serious and you'll recover soon. The good thing about it is that it left you with that reflection that you are giving us today, and it is an excellent invitation to enjoy the present without being in a hurry.

Thank you! 😊

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

 3 years ago  

Thanks so much @miriannalis for your lovely comment xxx