The Food We Eat - My Thoughts About Our Relationship With Food!

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_6955.JPG

( Some of the Autumn Harvest from the land I live on!)

I really like food that tastes good, I mean who doesn't? But I rarely eat for comfort, instead I make food that nourishes me and my girls. I always make sure that we get all the nutrients we need for each day, so that my girls eat wholesome, balanced diet.

It's so important to educate yourself about nutrition, because if you really want to be in control of your life, you need to understand how your body works and how what we consume affects it. It always upsets me to see so many people take little interest in their diet.

I rarely go to a supermarket, but when I do, I can't help but take notice of what the people in front of me have bought. I don't like to pass judgement, but so many people consume huge amounts of sugar in their diets and the vast majority of people would never think to read the labels.

IMG_4187.JPG

(Garden Salad with seeds.)

Food is so processed these days, it is almost purely superficial. With hardly any real food ingredients in there. It really shows how amazing our bodies are, that they can still function after consuming these foods, but then we are adaptable!But what quality of life do you have, if you ignore what your body needs!

I stopped eating meat when I was a teenager, which forced me to learn more about nutrition, because I became anaemic not long after. I foolish thought that I could survive on just vegetables. Mainly potatoes, carrots, peas and broccoli. All of these foods, are of course nutritious, but our bodies need a variety of foods, if we wish to preform at our peak.

So I learnt about the importance of seeds, nuts and pulses and how they could provide me with all the minerals that my body needed. I began to expand my palate and explore new foods, new flavours. It was an exciting time for me and I learned so much.The important relationships between different minerals and minerals and vitamins that both aid and hinder their absorption.

IMG_3230.JPG

(Home made Almond butter, made from almonds harvested from the land.)

As I got older I began to learn about sprouting and nutrient rich foods, I began to forage more and focus more on eating food that was in season. I really saw a change in my whole being, the more informed I was, the better choices I was able to make for myself.

This has really stood to me when I became a parent, as I was now responsible for the well being of another being. I am passionate about food, and I still love to experiment. Some days I do lose motivation to cook, especially on busy days, where it seems more of a chore.

Here in the western world, we love things to be convenient, and as a result many of us, spend very little time preparing food. But in other cultures, cooking is a whole day event. The prep begins in the morning and the food is cooked through out the day. Much more of a ritual, than something that is prepared quickly to fix a need.

IMG_6701.JPG

(Yummy Kimchi, waiting to ferment.)

The more time you take to prepare your food, the more energy you put into it and this really affects the flavour. There is a lot to be said about preparing and cooking food with love. Knowing that this food with nourish your loved ones and provide them with all the nutrients they need to perform at their peak. It is a huge act of love.

I fear so many of us, miss out on this in the Western World. That food, is instead something we choose for convenience and to give us comfort. That the majority of people eat to maintain their addiction to sugar and that they have no idea what it feels like to eat food that nourishes their whole being!

That many have no idea, how the food they eat affects them. But we live in a world, where health has never been a priority, where those in power profit more from our sickness, than our well being. So it pays to keep us misinformed and addicted to their processed food and pharmaceuticals.

IMG_0964.JPG

(Water kefir!)

So taking back control of your health, of your diet, is paramount if you truly wish to live freely. The governments of each country, continue to allow laws to pass, that grant the poisoning of our food and the poisoning of our water. Laws that allow pharmaceutical companies to have no liability over their produce.

We are what we eat, and unless we begin to take a real interest in what we are consuming, we will never get to experience the ful force of our power! The less powerful we are, the easier we cam be manipulated, so it is in our best interests, to invest in our food. To grow our own and educate ourselves on what our bodies actually need.

I remember when I stopped eating sugar, wow the withdrawals were so intense, I got really bad headaches and my heart beat was really elevated and I had real problems with my sleep. Now, if I take a little sugar, my body rejects it, as it knows what is good for it.

IMG_3071.JPG

(Energy balls, sweeten with dates and full of seeds and nuts.)

I don't give my girls sugar, but the older they get the more they are away from me and the more they are exposed to sugar. It is their choice now what they want to eat, but I really see a huge difference in their behaviour if they do eat it. They are so emotional and for a few days afterwards they have stomach aches.

So they only ever eat a little, as they know exactly the effect it has on them. Our bodies learn to cope when we overwhelm them, once again showing us how amazing they are. But we really should be honouring them, by eating foods that enrich our whole being.

(I have included pictures of some of the food that me and my girls like to eat, home made and mostly home grown.)

image.png

image.png




image.png


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Muy bueno este post! También soy vegetariano desde hace poco más de dos años, y también conllevó todo un reto, ya que nunca fui amante de los vegetales y tuve que hacer todo un cambio de hábitos para lograr transformarme al vegetarianismo. Sin lugar a dudas ha sido una de las mejores decisiones de mi vida. Mi salud ha mejorado en muchos aspectos y la paz que siento al contribuir con la preservación del planeta y los animales, no tiene precio. Saludos! 🙏

I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow, and you have been selected to be the recipient of this week's beneficiary.

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @minismallholding) - join our community here.

Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

Another thoughtful post. Though I rarely (never) comment, I always appreciate your work.

Congrats for encouraging people to live a healthy lifestyle!

I agree :) My next priority is re-doing my kitchen, so that along with loving cooking (and eating) I will have a place where I love to cook and enjoy being.