Back in Time - Recalibrating Hypersensitivosaurus

SUPERsensitivosaurus.JPG

I started a Mrs Porcupine post a couple of days ago but I was just not feeling it. To be more precise, I was not feeling well. A tenacious cold was followed by a stomach flu / virus that drained my energy.

I'm slowly getting back to full health again though, and with that my inspiration is returning too. Today I decided to go for a different write up than usual.

Us creatives like to change things around ;<)

Yesterday I was cleaning up a little in my living room and I stumbled upon many pages of Hypersensitivosaurus writing - old fashioned 'hand writing' and dino sketches - that I've penned down in the last half year or so. I tend to add the date and some of it goes back all the way to January.

It was around this time that I decided to try and start a children's book instead of rewriting the 50k words of November 2019's NaNoWriMo effort into a novel.

Funny how long ago this feels. I guess the craziness in the world in the last 6 months or so plays a part in this.

I'm sure January feels like ages ago for most of you. Many of us have probably aged several years in the last half year alone.

Anyhow, this was supposed to be a fun post, kind of a free write and I was planning to share some of the pages and scribbles that I discovered yesterday.

The following was written on the 14th and 15th of January, almost 7 months ago. I tweaked a handful of words.

In the night, when his mom and siblings were asleep in their cave, he often lay awake, thoughts racing through his mind. And when he finally managed to sleep, the smallest sounds or smells would wake him up.

It didn't help that his mother snored and his siblings rolled around on their banana leave beds when they weren't grinding their teeth. Sometimes he even woke up of tiny farts, those that smelled the most - so called "silent assassins".

In moments like these, being hypersensitive was far from an advantage.

Luckily, hypersensitivity had its pluses too. Like waking up early morning, like clockwork, and being able to enjoy the sunrise, undisturbed by others. Breathing in fresh morning air, soaking up the early sunlight and enjoying the sounds of silence, as well as the sounds of nature, both flora and fauna, coming alive.

Also, if anyone was in danger - or in need of help - he would be one of the first to pick up on the signal After a quick scan for a more complete image of the situation, he would decide to call in reinforcements or deal with it himself.

This is how others got to call him: SUPER Sensitivosaurus.

Start the shift/ transformation to "SUPER" a little later.

He will discover, along the way, by trial and error ( and by meeting his teacher, the old croc ), that it's all about focusing and changing so called "weaknesses" into strengths.

The other side of the medallion / coin.

A matter of words --> repeated thoughts --> new believes!

DIFFERENT STORIES IN ONE BOOK OR A SERIES OF BOOKS WITH FEW WORDS?

And here's a zoomed out, not flipped, screenshot of the sketchy above this post.

IMG_6382.JPG

In case it's hard to read my red pencil hand writing, here's what it says:

Little Hyper changes from a hermit, an outcast, a strange plant eating carnivore, into Little Super, a hero, a life saver, a helper.

Sometimes we need to go back in time, zoom out, refocus and re-calibrate. That's exactly what I'm doing now.

Although - yesterday - I started writing a part 2 of Mrs. Porcupine ( a dino story based on my acupuncture treatment ), I felt I needed to try someting else to get back into writing mode and I feel the above is helping me with that.

I can only hope that it has been an interesting read for you too.
If not, better luck next time hahaha! ( not so evil laughter )

TO BE CONTINUED...

Sort:  

Aww hope you get well soon! D: Sorry didn't realize you started posting again :) Will check your newest post tomorrow. Cheers!

I am doing way better.

Sorry, I kind of forget about you.
It's hard to keep track of all the awesome people on here.

Thank you for getting back in touch 💚

I understand, :D have you read about NFT showroom since you've been away? ^_^

have you read about NFT showroom since you've been away?

I have!

Why are you asking me this? :<)

Have you been getting Ethereum rich by now? ;<)

You tell me 😂 https://knownorigin.io/kristyglas
Also someone bought a bunch of NFT showroom art today :D So I finally sold something there too ^_^

Awesome! I'm happy for you. Make sure to throw yourself a little celebratory party! 🍾

Thank you ^-^ Will do haha and I hope you consider tokenizing some of your work on NFT showroom, at least do one to see ;)

Not so evil laughter? A likely story XP

Aww look at him zooming along with his cute little cape XD

I'm glad someone can appreciate this caped cutie ;<)

👋 Hi @vincentnijman, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

50k words.... That sounds like a lot. How many pages would that cover I wonder

90 to 100. About 3 per day :<)

That is quite something for a book. I think it is worth the effort. Small steps every day

Try bringing 50k words down to the size of a children's book haha ;<)

I guess one of the reasons why finishing a children's book quickly for me - aside from my perfectionism ( when it comes to writing ) - is that I feel I need way more words than most books for children contain. Then again, my style probably fits older children, so that would make for more words than a young kids book.

Anyhow, we're all unique and my style is somewhere in between kids and adult writing. I will figure it out eventually. Meanwhile I keep sharing my writing, aiming to entertain my followers, while enjoying the process as much as possible.

xx

You are doing a great job Vincent, keep it going!

Thank you! It helps to have people like you around 🤗