Time to start surfing instead of swimming - still learning how to navigate the daily energy waves

IMG_9225.JPG

This is the table that I have been creating on, in the last couple of weeks or possibly months. I like it to be messy ( my art table that is ). This piece of furniture that is more than a table to me, is also in use whenever Miko and Yumi, my niece and nephew are coming over. Aged 7 and and almost 5, they love to create and I love to create with them.

At the lower left corner, there's a sneak peak at / first draft of what will be the cover of formerly @whatamidoing , now @selfhelp4trolls ' upcoming novella Confessions of the Damaged 1.1.

More on that exciting project here in Guerilla release of my first novel

Talking with him about this project, our collab and my first gig as an illustrator for someone else was just what I needed these days.

I have been kind of all over the place lately, mentally as well as physically amd often feel quite drained. It's like a year of sleep is needed.

It seems like every day is another tide ( eb or flood ). In fect it feels like it goes like this: eb, flood, eb, flood, eb, flood, etc, where eb is feeling low and flood is feeling high energy.

I guess I should learn to surf the waves a little more, instead of being in the water and letting them roll over me on half of the days.

Today, I listened to an amazing podcast, recommended by the lovely @riverflows and one message that really stood out was:

It's tiring to always try to find balance. I gave up to do so.

Or something along those lines.

I tend to think I always need to find balance but I am usually either on a high or a low and there doesn't seem to be much of a middle way haha. I should try to roll with the waves, go with the flow a little more. Or perhaps I should give up the trying all together.

Times are pretty ( energy ) heavy it seems and it doesn't help that many of us feel like we ( have to ) carry the weight of the world on our shoulders these days. In fact, it makes it very hard to focus on the things that we can do to make the world a slightly better place, by being the best version of ourselves that we can be.

I believe that was another message in that beautiful podcast by @ofsedgeandsalt that can be found here: Sarah Galving of House of Yore on the need for madness and chaos medicinein our culture. I highly recommend it.

I hope those of you who are reading this are doing well, under the circumstances. Life isn't necessarily easy but it also doesn't need to be a constant struggle ( yeah, I'm talking to myself too )

Try to keep focusing on the things that you can actually control. I have no doubt you have a unique skill set that can brighten up the world just a little.

Stay creative and keep expressing yourself. After all, expression is the opposite of depression ;<)

A big hug from Portugal,

Vincent

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Nourish and rest when you need, fly when you don't. That's what I tend to do. It's exhausting I find.. I know you and I are similar in this way.

I'm going to listen to that podcast this morning.

Big hugs xx

Nourish and rest when you need, fly when you don't. That's what I tend to do. It's exhausting I find.. I know you and I are similar in this way.

Thank you! I'm better at the flying than at the nourishing and resting part but I'm always up for improvement / leveling up.

Enjoy the podcast

Un abrazo

Focusing on the things we can't control can occupy a big portion of our mind. It is better to let it go and focus on what we can control:ourselves.

It is better to let it go and focus on what we can control:ourselves.

A lot of people can't control themselves and still they try to control others and everything around them

I get your point though.✨

 3 years ago  

Try to keep focusing on the things that you can actually control.

I need to work on this a little more myself. It seems there is so little to control these days other than one's own emotions. By the way, your table looks beautiful with the shadows cast on it like that. It is a work of art itself.

t seems there is so little to control these days other than one's own emotions.

True. And that's tough enough as it is. Do you, by any chance, also consider going on the Presence Process journey? I couldn't help but notice your comment on that post.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Oh and those shadows are cast by what I think is a Maroccan lamp. Will share a picture of it one day.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

The other day I went on an engagement and curation spree, and I must've read at least 40 posts or more. That post rings a bell, but I can't remember much else. Forgive my memory brother... !ENGAGE 25


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I get it.

It was the one by atma.love
I wrote about it in yesterday's post


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I recently heard something from someone I really appreciate, that got stuck in my mind. It was something like, "to do, what's in front of you". To think about that helps me, to not always worry about what I think that I have to do to be a better person or to make the world a better place. Just focus on what's in front of you, the most obvious thing, and that's usually the next thing to do and nothing else. And some things solve themselves in the process anyway ^^

Expression is the opposite of depression

Great thought!

I like mess when it's my mess XD

people who don't understand that people think differently get cranky at me though, keep screaming something about untidy room untidy mind or something?

Body surfing is great fun ;D

I can't maintain a state of balance either and I figure it doesn't matter as long as you deal with whatever's coming and don't take anything too personally ;D

I can't maintain a state of balance either and I figure it doesn't matter as long as you deal with whatever's coming and don't take anything too personally ;D

Wise words :<)


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io