I got that country vibe, deep in the city

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

I think it’s possible to bring the vibe of nature into the city. You might weird some people out but that’s alright. Humans and all they create are also connected to nature, no matter how far we may have strayed.

Bright sunlight brings me back into the moment and reminds me of that rhythm. The wind during a warm day does too though there isn’t enough of it. When the loud city sounds are a little more distant, they blend together and make me feel a kind of peace that people don’t associate with this kind of place.

One reason I chose this apartment is that we have a relaxing roof with a garden. Since my old roommate moved out I’ve become the official caretaker of our plants. I’ve got to become a better friend to them, almost let 2 or 3 of them die....sorry plants!

I feel like they are waiting for me up there and get excited when I give them their daily shower, as excited as a plant can get anyway. I think plants are generally too chill to call “excited” but I don’t mean excited for a human, I mean excited in the spectrum of plant emotions.

334F787B724A46B9A7047B29F045D40D.jpeg

7497917EF74549E9AC80691818E25481.jpeg

FFCD8A17ECDC4A79BB6FA3C42FB974C1.jpeg

Here’s me and the rooftop. Now the the weather isn’t blazing hot, I can take short naps up there. The train station is right next to the house so I hear trains stopping there all day. At night I can hear buskers near the station too. To be honest it’s a little bit too close for comfort but it’s all good. Too much to enjoy here that I don’t wanna complain about any of it.

Maybe someday soon I can find a place just far enough to a station where I don’t hear the trains, and just close enough to the beach that I can get there by bicycle. That’ll be nice 😃

Sort:  

The place is beautiful. I can imagine the disturbing sound of the train.

Nice selfie right there 😉🙂

 4 years ago  

I miss the rolling hills of Hong Kong but the summer is much more tolerable here! And while the city is compact, it’s more comfortable here too. My hometown is much wider but I like having other humans nearby

 4 years ago  

Wow that rooftop is pretty sweet, nice to see you chilling with the plants xxx

 4 years ago  

There are two tiny bedrooms on the rooftop. One is empty and the other tenant is in his hometown for the week. It’s public space but sometimes I feel it’s a bit invasive if I spend too much time there. Once in a while it’s perfect

Looks like a great place to vibe. I'm sure I've killed off way more plants than you in my growing journey!! You figure out what works best from mistakes. At least that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it! 😆

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @minismallholding.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

 4 years ago  

Well I learned my first lesson: don’t forget them totally!

That's a gorgeous little space :)

Plants like it when you talk to them and play them music ;D

I live near a train station so can relate to the sound of the trains blasting and carrying on, but you can turn those kind of into your soundscape as well and then it eventually becomes not too bad XD

 4 years ago  

Hope spiders like it too cause I m always talking to them “hey, you are kind of cute now that I think about it but I don’t wanna live with you buddy! Please leave!”

Didn’t know there were trains on the island!

LoL!

Screenshot_20201002_164003.png

I don't live on my island anymore, I just go back there every couple of years. There were trains a long time ago and there was a station near my parents' place as well XD I can't remember it being in use by the time I acknowledged its existence though. The trains there did use to haul passengers to work at one stage but by the time I got old enough to remember things they were just hauling phosphate.

The train station down the road from my current house (which is still on an island I guess, just orders of magnitude bigger XD) is your bog standard people train station and the trains announce when they're crossing roads and there's a few crossings.

 4 years ago  

Woaaaahhhh can we make a comic book together!?

With what time? XD