Poached Pears in Red Wine with Orange Syrup and Coconut Cream: especially for Naturalmedicine plant based Cooking Challenge

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

D7AF6CB8-0CED-4366-98A6-44DE8C237A36.jpeg

No fancy banners this week, just the very gorgeous Red Wine Poached Pears with Orange syrup and Coconut Cream.

For the Healthy Plant Based Cooking Challenge I chose to use pears and orange as my 2 ingredients from the sweet options listed in the challenge post. Thank you to @lotusshares for this yummy challenge.

Here’s how I made it:

A46CEE7B-B5B1-4809-8101-0DB902FADD25.jpeg

POACHED PEARS
3 cups red wine
3/4 cup sugar
2 whole star anise
2 cinnamon sticks
1 split vanilla bean or 1 tspn Vanilla essence
6 small pears or 4 medium pears

722290EA-A15B-4CE6-85EC-3E600D413D4E.jpeg

RED WINE & ORANGE SYRUP
½ cup sugar
The rest of the reduced wine from pears
Half orange juice squeezed

0700341A-F0A3-44FA-943B-B94C3BC8C59B.jpeg

EXTRAS
Coconut cream to serve

METHOD
Place the wine, sugar, star anise, cinnamon and vanilla in a medium sized pot and bring the mixture to the boil.

0E24DD56-51C0-4154-BF2A-415A1BECA8B4.jpeg

Peal the pears leaving the storks attached.

EF57C475-449A-4545-B780-4C9513B2DB36.jpeg

Once brought to the boil, lower the heat of the liquid and add the pears.

1DBCCA7E-AE13-4C38-9EBC-BA179D75A340.jpeg

Boil on medium heat for 45mins to an hour depending on how firm your pears are. They should become soft but hold their shape. My pears were quite small and firm and were ready in 40 minutes.

EBC1AB66-7C74-4F32-8F9B-504CE0E04BA4.jpeg

0281F533-4284-461B-A3B7-02EA994E3971.jpeg

Once the pears are cooked remove them from the pot and use the rest of the liquid to make the orange syrup.

6FE59648-F3E7-4C00-965B-323222E2E88E.jpeg

In the same pot add more sugar and squeeze half a fresh orange juice into the boiled wine.

3B9F3349-80FE-43A9-8DEC-EED230DA6353.jpeg

Boil on medium to high heat until it becomes sticky and syrupy. It will continue to thicken as it cools. Pour the syrup into a small serving jug.

C0B3F1F9-EF72-4EE2-95EE-79437297F7ED.jpeg

Serve the pears with a dollop of Coconut cream and a drizzle of Orange syrup for a gorgeous plant based dessert. No one said we couldn’t use wine!!! 🍷

25B829A7-4DC3-4286-9751-B17964CDC9A0.jpeg

The alternative serving suggestion is mascarpone cheese swirled over the hot pears. It’s all just too yummy.

Sort:  

I bet that smells amazing!

My whole house smells incredible right now! And we of course had to sample it before dinner. So we will have round 2 of pears a little later tonight.

PS! I’m running the Eggciting easter custard contest on foodies open until Thursday evening! You should enter! I’d love to see what you could create. Here’s the link: https://hive.blog/hive-120586/@zo3d/foodies-first-eggciting-custard-contest

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
 3 years ago  

Drooling right now! Poached pears really are a dream, especially with that orange sauce. 🤤

Posted using Dapplr

My husband and I just finished the last 4 pears and it was delicious!!! I’ll be making this again real soon. Maybe with creme fraishe or I need to whip up the coconut cream a bit.

PS! I’m running the Eggciting easter custard contest on foodies open until Thursday evening! You should enter! I’d love to see what you could create. I’m sure it would be a healthy option! Here’s the link: https://hive.blog/hive-120586/@zo3d/foodies-first-eggciting-custard-contest

 3 years ago  

This is a dish I've eaten a handful of times but never attempted to make myself. I'm liking the spice blend and I can imagine the flavor. The color is beautiful!!!

Thanks for sharing.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thanks! It was so so good! All gone by now 🤪. I think diet just crashed head first into pot of pears.

Now this is a dessert that I've never attempted but after seeing it now with your step by step, I simply have to make it, looove the gorgeous colour and those flavours! Yummm!

Oh you have to! It’s really not that difficult at all. And for a big group you can do a pear each and just use a much bigger pot etc. We’ve had it at Christmas time quite a few times.

I can't say I've ever had poached pears before but these look absolutely delicious. I like the spices you use and I feel they will definitely compliment the flavour of the fruit. Great post, thank you for sharing. 🤗🙏💚

Thanks! You’ll have to try them. They are so tasty. My husband and I finished the last of it last night. No left overs with these around.

PS! I’m running the Eggciting easter custard contest on foodies open until Thursday evening! You should enter! I’d love to see what you could create. Here’s the link: https://hive.blog/hive-120586/@zo3d/foodies-first-eggciting-custard-contest

I just realized that I have never had poached pears. This is almost a crime considering I grew up in the Niagara fruit belt where there were pears everywhere.
I feel like I can smell this. It's the perfect desert for someone who doesn't eat very sweet desserts. And yes I grew up in wine country as well so....yeah it will be on my list of deserts. This looks lovely!

Wine and pears??? I would be in heaven! You can leave out the second amount of sugar if you don’t want it too sweet and just add the orange as usual. Then allow it to boil down a little further. It is just as amazing and not as sugary.

PS. I’m Running an Eggciting Custard contest on foodies!!! It ends on Thursday. You should enter!! I’d love to see what you can create. Here’s the link: https://hive.blog/hive-120586/@zo3d/foodies-first-eggciting-custard-contest

 3 years ago  

I hope it's vegan wine haha...I have SO many pears...I might have to make it on the weekend!!!

This is a very nice and looks like delicious!!