One step closer to a croissant

Making Even More Bread

ONE STEP CLOSER TO THE REAL THING


IMG_7446.JPG

Last week I posted about my failed attempt at making croissants. Long and short of it is that it was a failure. It didn't taste bad, but it just wasn't a croissant that I made. Well, I gave it another go , this time tweaking the recipe a little but, and adjusting the baking time and temperature a little bit.

The result was much closer to a proper croissant this time, even though it's not quite there yet. In case you are wondering, I am trying to make it from alternative ingredients; low carb, gluten-free, e.t.c. Otherwise I could just use any standard recipe from the Internet and the job would be done.

The consistency of the external part of the croissant is closer to the goal, but the innards are still a little fluffy and dense. A croissant is supposed to be flakey and dry on the inside. Oh well, will keep on trying.

IMG_6450.jpeg

IMG_6451.jpeg

IMG_6454.jpegIMG_6452.jpeg

I actually had a couple of them for breakfast with a nice chunk of cheese. It was sort of a croissant cheese sandwich made :). Back in the day, that was one of my favourite things to eat on the go - croissants with melted cheese and ham. There was a shop that sold it usually at train stations. I can't remember the name now.

IMG_7448.JPG

IMG_7449.JPG

IMG_7450.JPG

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

Hi adetorrent,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you 🙏