Grow Own Food: A Jelly Grass Plant

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

C78303A307EA4A59AA5454DC975499B1.jpeg

Have you ever known plants that can produce jelly? Natural jelly produced from the leaves of the Jelly Grass Plant has a gelatin-like texture and is good for the digestive system.

In Indonesia, not all regions are familiar with this plant. Moreover, urban communities tend to look for more practical ones.

8EC50118B63146E9B2ECBDE17BDA27A2.jpeg

Since I returned to the village and no longer work in the city, little by little I have tried to grow my food. I am looking for plants that have health properties.

After successfully growing Butterfly Pea Flowers, I now try a new plant that I grow in my garden, namely the Jelly Grass Plant.

B46F75B0DF974194994B78F0CAF5C3C3.jpeg

Later when the leaves have grown wide and big, we can start harvesting them.

After the Jelly Grass leaves are harvested, you can immediately make jelly by pounding it with water until it releases mucus and then filtering it.

The water from the Jelly Grass that has been filtered is then left for several hours until it set like jelly.

After becoming jelly, we can serve it with brown sugar sauce. Chewy and sweet combination! And you can add ice cubes according to taste.

Jelly Grass 2.jpg

Jelly Grass.jpg

It's been a long time since I enjoyed the Jelly Grass which is natural from the plant. I have old photo documentation of Jelly Grass with brown sugar sauce.




6D05144470F5471EA3FB1F6C82A93D23.jpeg

Now I have to be patient to grow my Jelly Grass Plant. I bought this plant a few weeks ago, and there are already many new leaves,

351A4E8086FE44D1A3FBF5B4A84FF585.jpeg

I hope this Jelly Grass Plant will flourish and give me a pleasant harvest.

84431C89AA1046A1BE6364F58E823E4D.jpeg

Let's we see later! Until next!

Sort:  

Those flavor and texture combinations in Indonesia don't cease to surprise me. I know I wouldn't be a fan of this plant but my husband would surely love it. I will ask his mom if she ever heard of that. Thank you for sharing!

I am sure in your area also has many unique plants and has natural coloring and medical properties.

But sometimes we didn't aware of our living area. That's why for now the internet helps us to know more about something like this.

Thanks for reading, dear.

This post has been manually curated by @sayee from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.