The Most Expensive and Tasty Desserts in My Town by Nelayan Kafe

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

02177339-2A64-4987-BD27-CD43F194D1FC.jpeg


The journey of hunting delicious desserts.
Comparing Between Homemade Desserts and Cafe Desserts.


Spicy and sweet, two flavors that always occupy the biggest part of my head. When I am dizzy, I will look for spicy foods, while for my condition that is in a bad mood or in a general mood, I will look for sweet foods.

A829D15D-AFBA-4E69-97C9-27684A9F3C89.jpeg

So a few days ago after I took AL to the doctor, I decided to look for desserts downtown.



Well, you can read about me and AL going to the doctor:

image.png





About the delicious desserts in my city, I realize there are not too many choices. Unless later I go to the city of Medan with a distance of more than 20 km.

So, I immediately thought of my favorite desserts that have durian ingredients.

"Nelayan Kafe" is my choice. Even though this is a dining place that is famous for being pricey, they never disappoint. So, the price issue doesn't matter as long as the food they serve can make me happy.


Overview of "Nelayan Kafe"

2D6CA08D-DA19-470A-AC39-0AF6C206C9B6.jpeg

This dining place is famous for serving Chinese food, and the highlight of their menu are “Dimsum and Dumpling”.

"Nelayan Kafe" already has many outlets in the cities of Medan and Binjai. Usually in malls.

Like this time I went to the only "Nelayan Kafe" outlet in Binjai Supermall.




SWEET TREATS FROM ASIAN DESSERTS

40F282DB-6656-449A-AF9E-20D0AD1ED4C1.jpeg

I ordered two desserts and a glass of sweet drink at “Nelayan Kafe”.

First, let me take you to “Durian Pancakes”. The word pancake in this dessert is not about pancakes in general, which are 'flat cakes'- which are shaped like pan.

4C8A7DDA-9BE8-4555-8D28-FEA5AF5E3FC6.jpeg

Durian pancakes are sweet durian meat wrapped in a thin layer and served cold. The texture inside is very soft, and the skin texture is not felt at all.

For durian pancakes that are not of good quality, the durian will taste bad in terms of taste and aroma. Also, the layer of skin on the wrapper is easily broken, and or even thick and disturbs the filling taste of the durian at all.

The “Durian Pancakes” from "Nelayan Kafe" have the perfect taste and texture.

CAE41035-8F91-4F8B-A354-DE8BD21E789D.jpeg

C6318027-3637-44FA-9EA8-7819782CF6B9.jpeg

D51E4D78-1D2F-403E-A4AA-5D8464697714.jpeg


The skin is thin, but not easily broken. And for the taste of the durian itself, it feels good quality durian which is sweet and smells good and feels fresh.

For these two "durian Pancakes” I paid: IDR 37,000, around USD2.4. For the normal price of “Durian Pancakes” found elsewhere, it is about 2 times cheaper than those served by "Nelayan Kafe".



34354146-20D2-406A-A726-7BC164103B74.jpeg

Second, let me take you a look at the “Tako” dessert. You can also find these desserts in Malaysia and Thailand.

Actually, I also often make "Tako" at home. So, I know the comparison between homemade and cafe-made. It is very different.

7CF9EA72-B9E3-46C2-8028-9E37620FA131.jpeg

"Tako" made from rice flour and coconut milk, as well as pandan leaves. For the "Nelayan Kafe" version they created a layer on the cake with a white and green bottom.

D9F882C8-B3B6-4FA2-919B-12A654EF4EBA.jpeg


The texture of the white side on top of the dessert is very soft, while the texture of the white part under the dessert is chewy.

The topping uses pieces of jackfruit. So that adds a source of delicious fragrance to these desserts even more.

461DAD6B-FA14-4335-8967-FCE176D30400.jpeg



I had to pay for a portion of “Tako” containing 4 pieces for IDR 18,000, around USD 1.2. At the price in the cake shop is generally two times cheaper.


HOMEMADE TAKO

I'll show you my homemade Tako. In my version, I use a mixture of corn fruit, not jackfruit.

HOMEMADE TAKO.jpg


2019-10-30-00-18-35.jpg

2019-10-30-00-21-46.jpg


For my homemade version, the color looks paler. And also the texture is not as soft as the cafe version.


So it can be said that the cafe-made desserts have their own advantages and they have secret recipes that are very different from those made in common home methods.

So I feel happy to be able to taste the “Nelayan Kafe” version of the desserts whose textures really spoil my tongue. I will always come back to this place for an unforgettable sweet dessert.


Pink Lady Drink

2D6CA08D-DA19-470A-AC39-0AF6C206C9B6.jpeg

This drink is not my favorite. Delicious but too sweet. And this is not my main goal either at that time. So it doesn't matter at all.

The most important thing is that I am satisfied with the desserts I enjoy at “Nelayan Kafe”.




How about you? Have you ever tried “Durian Pancakes” and “Tako”?

02177339-2A64-4987-BD27-CD43F194D1FC.jpeg




Thank you for reading my food blog and reblog if you want my blog this time worthy of reading by others.

All pictures were taken with iPhone 11.




Best Regards,
Anggrek Lestari

image.png


With HIVE Blockchain.jpg

Who is Anggrek Lestari?

Anggrek Lestari is an Indonesian fiction writer who has published two major books. Now She is a full-time content creator. She has a goal to share food content that makes others happy and can get inspiration for foods that are easy to make and contain elements of health.
Make sure you follow her blog as well for some interesting discussions about life other than food.
If you need a copywriter for your projects, Anggrek Lestari will be ready to help you.

Contact Person: [email protected]
Discord: anggreklestari#3009

Sort:  

So tasty, i love ice somboy nelayan. You must to try :)

Really? I never thought about somboy drink. Will try for sure :)

These look so delicious and yummy both the one from restaurant and the one you made but I love the way you package and present your homemade tako. It look so inviting. Great work.

Thanks!

But yeah homemade is take time much more :)

It will definitely take much time when you try to pay attention to details but I think it's worth it since it turned out so well.

It really looks tasty 😋😋

Indeed. I want to eat them everyday lol

Whooaaa I miss the original durian pancakes and tako from Nelayan! 😍 Me and my team went to Medan on 2012 (yes it was long long time ago. Haha) and my friends took me to Jala-Jala/Nelayan and ordered some foods that they said it was very recommended. I instantly fallen in love with all the foods there, especially durian pancakes 😍😋

Yeah, original pancakes from them are always the best even so pricey 😁

I slighty interest about your Tako.

My homemade or from kafe?

your homemade. That more tantalizing!

Oh my, I really love Durian and Avocado pancakes by Nelayan Cafe :)

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @razack-pulo on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Hi @anggreklestari, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON