Le Far Breton - An Authentic Sailor's Cake from Brittany

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

Yesterday I really wanted to be by the sea, more precisely in Brittany, and I thought of several dishes and desserts from the region that could allow me to travel tastefully... In the end, the 'far breton' was chosen, especially because we had already opened a packet of prunes a few days ago !

To put it simply, it's a recipe for a prune flan, but a little more substantial than a classic flan. I followed the recipe of my traditional book which you will find below, but I have to tell you right away that 30 grams of sugar for the rest of the ingredients is good for those who don't like sugar at all, and that's sometimes the case for me, but for the others, I will use 80 grams at least. With this clarification, let's get on with the recipe !

DSC_0657.JPG

DSC_0660.JPG

You will need :

  • 6 eggs
  • 200 grams of flour
  • 30 to 80 grams of flour
  • 5 grams of salt
  • a little butter
  • 1 litre of milk
  • 100 to 200 grams of prunes
  • cold black tea
  • Optional 1 : a spoonful of ground cinnamon
  • Optional 2 : Icing sugar for the top.

DSC_0508.JPG

DSC_0509.JPG

3 hours before starting, soak your prunes in black tea.

DSC_0516.JPG

DSC_0519.JPG

DSC_0528.JPG

DSC_0529.JPG

DSC_0589.JPG

Mix the flour, salt, sugar and possibly cinnamon.

DSC_0531.JPG

DSC_0552.JPG

Heat the milk over low heat.

DSC_0583.JPG

DSC_0594.JPG

DSC_0596.JPG

DSC_0607.JPG

Add the 6 eggs to the mixture and stir well.

DSC_0558.JPG

DSC_0564.JPG

While the milk is slowly heating, generously butter your dish, preferably not too high and rather wide.

DSC_0617.JPG

Preheat the oven to 180° and cook for about an hour.

DSC_0614.JPG

Drain the tea from the prunes (you can drink it, I love it !).

DSC_0630.JPG

Place 3/4 of the prunes in the bottom of your buttered dish and keep the rest for the end.

DSC_0626.JPG

DSC_0627.JPG

Add the warm milk gradually, stirring well. You don't want it to cook the eggs too quickly !

DSC_0634.JPG

Pour the mixture into your dish and put it in the oven without delay...

DSC_0669.JPG

In the recipe it says that 15 minutes before the end you can put in the rest of the prunes, but I won't do that again. Next time I will put them in after 10/15 minutes of cooking. The crust was too firm for my taste !

DSC_0706.JPG

Enjoy warm or completely chilled with a glass of fresh cider !

Don't hesitate to ask me for more details, I hope you will like this recipe ! Thank you for your visit and for your time :)

See you soon, have a good evening,

<3

@anttn






Hier il m'a pris comme une envie d'être à la mer, plus précisément en Bretagne et j'ai alors pensé à plusieurs plats et desserts de la région qui pourraient me permettre de voyager gustativement... Finalement, c'est le 'far breton' qui a été retenu, aussi surtout parce que nous avions un paquet de pruneaux déjà ouvert depuis quelques jours !

Pour la faire simple, c'est une recette de flan au pruneau, mais tout de même un peu plus consistant qu'un flan classique. J'ai suivi la recette de mon livre traditionnel que vous trouverez ci-dessous, mais que je vous le dise tout de suite, 30 grammes de sucre pour le reste des ingrédients, c'est bon pour ceux qui n'aime pas du tout le sucre et c'est parfois mon cas, mais pour les autres, je mettrai plutôt 80 grammes au minimum. Cette précision apportée, lançons nous dans la recette..!

DSC_0657.JPG

DSC_0660.JPG

Vous aurez besoins de :

  • 6 oeufs
  • 200 grammes de farine
  • 30 à 80 grammes de farine
  • 5 grammes de sel
  • un peu de beurre
  • 1 litre de lait
  • 100 à 200 grammes de pruneaux
  • Du thé noir froid
  • Optionnel 1 : une cuillère de cannelle moulue
  • Optionnel 2 : du sucre glace pour le dessus.

DSC_0508.JPG

DSC_0509.JPG

3h avant de commencer, faites tremper vos pruneaux dans le thé noir.

DSC_0516.JPG

DSC_0519.JPG

DSC_0528.JPG

DSC_0529.JPG

DSC_0589.JPG

Mélangez la farine, le sel, le sucre et éventuellement la cannelle.

DSC_0531.JPG

DSC_0552.JPG

Mettez le lait à chauffer à feu doux.

DSC_0583.JPG

DSC_0594.JPG

DSC_0596.JPG

DSC_0607.JPG

Ajoutez les 6 oeufs au mélange et remuez bien.

DSC_0558.JPG

DSC_0564.JPG

Pendant que le lait chauffe tranquillement, beurrez généreusement votre plat, de préférence pas trop haut et plutôt large.

DSC_0617.JPG

Mettez votre four à préchauffer à 180°, la cuisson est d'environ une heure.

DSC_0614.JPG

Videz le thé des pruneaux (vous pouvez le boire, moi j'adore cela !).

DSC_0630.JPG

Déposez 3/4 des pruneaux au fond de votre plat beurré et gardez le reste pour la fin.

DSC_0626.JPG

DSC_0627.JPG

Ajoutez le lait tiède progressivement en remuant bien. Il ne faut pas qu'il cuise les oeufs trop rapidement !

DSC_0634.JPG

Versez le mélange dans votre plat et enfournez sans tarder...

DSC_0669.JPG

Dans la recette, il est indiqué que 15 minutes avant la fin, vous pouvez insérer le reste des pruneaux, mais je ne referai plus cela. La prochaine fois, je les mettrai au bout de 10/15 minutes de cuisson. Là la croûte était trop ferme à mon goût..!

DSC_0706.JPG

Dégustez tiède ou complètement refroidi avec un bon verre de cidre frais !

N'hésitez pas à me demander des précisions, j'espère que cette recette vous plaira ! Merci pour votre visite et le temps de votre lecture :)

À très vite, bonne soirée à tous,

<3

@anttn


Sort:  

It looks delicious 😋 and is quite simple to prepare. We have a similar recipe with prunes, but instead of flour we use millet porridge. Thanks for sharing!

Interesting... I'll be curious to have the name of that close recipe, might try it sometimes soon !
Thanks you for visiting :) Have a good day ✌️🌟

Hi @anttn, you can search the web for a recipe called "Baked millet porridge with prunes" (in Slovenian it's called "Prosena kaša s suhimi slivami" ). Here's a translated recipe from one Slovenian culinary site. In Slovenia, the dish is mostly prepared for breakfast or dinner. Let me know how you liked it 😉 See you around!

Thanks you !!! You just rock hehe :)
I could have find it too, but it touch me a lot more to try the one you know and like 💚 !

For sure, I will tell you when I try it ! Thanks you again, have a nice evening ✌️

My pleasure! I also like it when someone suggests a tried and tested recipe, so I don't have to go through the masses of recipes published on the internet.
Have a nice rest of the evening, too.

Bonsoir!

This sounds intriguing
Might make this myself one of these days and would probably use less egg

Merci beacoup!

It's a bit like a clafoutis indeed, and yes it's true that the recipe includes quite a lot of eggs, I told myself that too during the preparation... Let me know if you try it ;-)

Belle journée à toi ✌️

Merci, I will do that!

and I never heard of clafoutis. It sounds like a mythological creature haha!

... sounds like a mythological creature haha!

Hahah ! For some children here in France, it is also :)

Bonne soirée à toi ✌️

Haha!

Just looked it up. Looks tasty.

If it's up to the WEF, it will contain bugs instead of eggs, in the near future.

Wonder if kids would like that as much ;^)

image.png


Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquí / Find our community here
Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

Thanks you for your really appreciated support ✌️

Looks delicious and also easier recipe thanks for sharing. greetings @anttn 😊😊

It's indeed ! You're welcome, it's also possible to try it with other fruits of course !

I hope you're good dear 🤞😘

I will try with some cherries which I had dried. since you announced the contest about sleep I am getting very sleepy. I have many things to write about hope I can manage it. take care 😊😊

Mmh, I would be curious to see your version, must delicious :)

since you announced the contest about sleep I am getting very sleepy

Haha ! You won hahaha ! From what I could already read, not many have a peaceful sleep, that's kind of frightening ..!

Thanks you, I wish you a happy (and sleepy) evening dear @hindavi ✌️ 😘

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thanks you dear @sirenahippie !

I also saw your participation to the challenge, many thanks as well 😇 !
Will read that at the end of the day 😘 ✌️

Hmm, is this like clafoutis? 😍 It looks delicious!

Exactly ! But with prunes, I love it 🥰

How are you doing ? I hope the year is starting well for you 🌱🤞🏼

I like prunes, too, I must try it, but maybe on a smaller scale 😁

My year has started well, thank you, I'm doing good. I was looking at your post about sleeping, but I haven't any great insights to share, much as I would like to 😂

!CTP

Yeah, here it's for six persons, maybe a bit too much..!
That's nice :)

Oh, I'm sure you'll have some tricks or special technics, analysis to share haha 😅 !

Have nice coming days 🍀 😘

You cook something tasty as always! And it’s a good idea to decide what to cook based on where we want to go. I take this idea 😉

Hehe ! Thanks you dear ! You're welcome, can't wait to see how you'll put this idea in action :)

I hope you're doing well, have a nice evening 😘

Congratulations @anttn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 61000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal